wombat88
Member Since 2010
This morning when I got up to give her rising number test she greeted me at the door and then followed me to the kitchen looking for food. This was a definite change in her behavior the past few days when she was not interested in food at all. She also felt less warm to me when I tested her. Of course, she also threw me a curve in that her +7 was 334 and her PS was 257... I waited and retested a few times and she seemed to be surfing the mid-200s so I decided to go ahead and give her a reduced dose. She may have bounced a little last night or the +7 reading may have been off, but she's been so high the past few days I'd like to get her down into more reasonable territory and I didn't want to delay her shot any longer (she's really off schedule).
She ate canned this morning with a little urging, so I cut her back to 0.8U from the 1U she was getting yesterday. We'll see how that goes, but since she was showing a bit more duration and seemed to be feeling better I thought cutting dose was safer. We'll increase a little if she doesn't show a decent pattern this cycle but hopefully she is needing less insulin assuming whatever was bugging her the past few days is passing. She sure likes to throw curveballs! I still plan to take her to the vet tomorrow regardless. Something is going on with her that is making her so variable, so I can only guess an infection of some sort. Better safe than sorry. It may just be lots of inflammation creating issues, but I'd still feel better with her being seen. We need more bupe anyway. Hoping for a better day today!
7/30 PMPS = 324, gave 1U
+7 = 334
+8 = 257
7/31 AMPS = 242/252, gave 0.8U (shot about 45 min after normal time after retesting twice)
+2 = 232
+4 = 236
+6 = 231
+7 =251
MDPS = 263, gave 0.9U (increased dose as this one didn't seem to be making her go anywhere; ate some but not much -- even didn't want dry food)
+2 = 280
+4.5 = 249
+7 = 211
PMPS = 226, gave 0.8U
+7 =
She ate canned this morning with a little urging, so I cut her back to 0.8U from the 1U she was getting yesterday. We'll see how that goes, but since she was showing a bit more duration and seemed to be feeling better I thought cutting dose was safer. We'll increase a little if she doesn't show a decent pattern this cycle but hopefully she is needing less insulin assuming whatever was bugging her the past few days is passing. She sure likes to throw curveballs! I still plan to take her to the vet tomorrow regardless. Something is going on with her that is making her so variable, so I can only guess an infection of some sort. Better safe than sorry. It may just be lots of inflammation creating issues, but I'd still feel better with her being seen. We need more bupe anyway. Hoping for a better day today!
7/30 PMPS = 324, gave 1U
+7 = 334
+8 = 257
7/31 AMPS = 242/252, gave 0.8U (shot about 45 min after normal time after retesting twice)
+2 = 232
+4 = 236
+6 = 231
+7 =251
MDPS = 263, gave 0.9U (increased dose as this one didn't seem to be making her go anywhere; ate some but not much -- even didn't want dry food)
+2 = 280
+4.5 = 249
+7 = 211
PMPS = 226, gave 0.8U
+7 =