Shaikha 7/31 TID - running fever :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
This morning when I got up to give her rising number test she greeted me at the door and then followed me to the kitchen looking for food. This was a definite change in her behavior the past few days when she was not interested in food at all. She also felt less warm to me when I tested her. Of course, she also threw me a curve in that her +7 was 334 and her PS was 257... I waited and retested a few times and she seemed to be surfing the mid-200s so I decided to go ahead and give her a reduced dose. She may have bounced a little last night or the +7 reading may have been off, but she's been so high the past few days I'd like to get her down into more reasonable territory and I didn't want to delay her shot any longer (she's really off schedule).

She ate canned this morning with a little urging, so I cut her back to 0.8U from the 1U she was getting yesterday. We'll see how that goes, but since she was showing a bit more duration and seemed to be feeling better I thought cutting dose was safer. We'll increase a little if she doesn't show a decent pattern this cycle but hopefully she is needing less insulin assuming whatever was bugging her the past few days is passing. She sure likes to throw curveballs! I still plan to take her to the vet tomorrow regardless. Something is going on with her that is making her so variable, so I can only guess an infection of some sort. Better safe than sorry. It may just be lots of inflammation creating issues, but I'd still feel better with her being seen. We need more bupe anyway. Hoping for a better day today!

7/30 PMPS = 324, gave 1U
+7 = 334
+8 = 257

7/31 AMPS = 242/252, gave 0.8U (shot about 45 min after normal time after retesting twice)
+2 = 232
+4 = 236
+6 = 231
+7 =251
MDPS = 263, gave 0.9U (increased dose as this one didn't seem to be making her go anywhere; ate some but not much -- even didn't want dry food)
+2 = 280
+4.5 = 249
+7 = 211
PMPS = 226, gave 0.8U
+7 =
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

Glad she seems to be feeling better!
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

What a releif that she is acting and feeling better and eating her canned food. Lets hope it was just a small bump in the road and she will get back on track.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

Well, I probably spoke too soon. She started off okay, but the lower insulin dose definitely was not the way to go. Though she didn't zoom, we also got no curve whatsoever. I took her temp and it was high normal (0.1 degree below a fever). What worries me is that her belly seems distended a little and she's still uncomfortable with it being touched. I'm hoping it is nothing but I'm worrying a little about nasty things like lymphoma. She ate a tiny bit of canned food, but not too much. I'd added water, but much more than usual so it was pretty liquid. Thinking that was why she was refusing it, I gave her some dry food. She seemed eager to eat at first, but again didn't eat too much. She got enough in to manage the insulin, but she's definitely going to the vet tomorrow. The lack of eating has happened with past flareups or fevers, but this pattern seems different.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

I am sorry that she did not continue to feel better.
Probably a good think to take her to the vet
just to make sure everything is ok

I will be thinking of you both tomorrow!

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

Sorry to hear she isn't feeling well. Hopefully, it is just a flare up.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

Sorry to hear she's not feeling much better, hopefully you will get some answers at the vet.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/31 TID - feeling better?

Thinking of you and Shaikha and hope she will show some improvement and the vet can get to the bottom of it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top