Shaikha 7/30 TID - not well again today

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Shaikha definitely is not feeling well. She is not acting interested in food and when I do try to feed her, she walks away. I had to assist feed her last night and again this morning. She got canned both times, but I may have to try giving dry if this continues to ensure she gets enough calories in and that we don't develop food aversions to one of the two canned foods she can eat without getting GI issues. I'm sure it is the pancreatitis, but she's been higher glucose-wise so I'm worried we may be developing an infection on top of it all. I've not taken her to the vet because I figured we could handle it here, but if this continues she'll go in first thing on Monday. Am not seeing evidence of a UTI, but that's a definite possibility, or just a general problem from the pancreatitis as she often gets an increase in white counts when it is bad, or perhaps her liver is upset again. She's getting all the usual supports (anti-nausea meds, flagyl, fluids) so I'm hoping this is a short term problem. She can be so variable in terms of how she feels day to day during flareups. Will muddle through.

7/29 PMPS = 291, gave 0.7U (had to assist feed canned; did not eat full ration as was really fighting it)

7/30 AMPS = 354, gave 0.8U (assist fed canned again, increased dose due to flat and rising cycles)
+4.5 = 293 (ugh -- looks bad again)
MDPS = 390, gave 1.0U (bumped up dose as seems to need more plus she is refusing to eat anything but dry food) :shock:
+2 = 394
+5 = 233 (yeah! A lower yellow -- at least a better nadir than previously)
PMPS = 324, gave 1.0 U (got her to eat canned mixed with extra water, but it was a struggle)
+7 =
 
Wendy, she is such a complex kitty .... I think you do really well with her. Is she still on 5mg. pred? that doesn't help her appetite? When she is having a flare-up does the vet say you can increase just a little? Pred. is the secret for Payne but her #'s are off now so I'm going to add some R for awhile. Thank God she doesn't go low! Good luck!
 
kse said:
Hope she starts feeling better.

Me too. I did test for ketones again -- negative, thank goodness. That's one problem I definitely do not want!! Off to order more strips, though.
 
So Sorry she is not feeling well again!
you are a great moomy and she is so lucky to have you!
stay strong!

denise and SHakes
 
Nancy and Payne said:
Wendy, she is such a complex kitty .... I think you do really well with her. Is she still on 5mg. pred? that doesn't help her appetite? When she is having a flare-up does the vet say you can increase just a little? Pred. is the secret for Payne but her #'s are off now so I'm going to add some R for awhile. Thank God she doesn't go low! Good luck!

We try not to go beyond 5mg. She was on 10mg when first diagnosed but only for a little while. Her problem is that she's had GI bleeds before, so I'm a little scared to give her more. Pred does help her appetite, but remember we are also dealing with liver complications in addition to IBD, so she's got a triple whammy. Often when her pancreas flares up the others follow. She's got softer stools now in addition to the rest. If that continues I may have to increase her flagyl, though I don't like to do that either since it can cause neurological problems at higher doses with prolonged use. Pred does help keep the inflammation down but it doesn't really prevent the flareups, just reduces their number and severity.

Hope you can get Miss Payne under control! R too? Is she running really high? What do you think set her off?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top