Shaikha 7/26 TID - not very well!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
I increased her dose again last night because it seemed she was rising again and was pretty flat in her last two cycles. Based on her AMPS this morning that looks like it was a good idea. I think we'll likely have to incresae dose again once or twice during this pancreastitis flareup, but we'll see how today goes. I'm trying to stay ahead of it so it doesn't get out of control. No ketones, thank goodness, despite it all. The fluids seem to have helped, as has the bupe of course. Here's hoping for a good day!

7/25 PMPS = 401, gave 0.8U (too flat this cycle and rising, so increased dose again)
+7 = 272

7/26 AMPS = 284
+3 = 139
+7 = 135
MDPS = 113, no shot! (did feed her, however, though she didn't eat it all despite acting hungry)
+1 = 161 (food spike)
+3 = 137
+6 = 197
+7 = 206
PMPS = 248, gave 0.7U (fed, but really was not hungry at all; reduce dose a little to compensate for earlier pattern and less food)
+7 =
 
Re: Shaikha 7/26 TID

Wendy--- do you use a compounded bupe?

If so, what is your dose?
 
Re: Shaikha 7/26 TID

kse said:
Wendy--- do you use a compounded bupe? If so, what is your dose?

No, we don't use compounded anything here. I just use the regular vials he gets of buprenorphine. Dose is 0.1ml BID of the clear stuff given sublingually. Works great! I don't think it really has any taste as neither Shaikha or Tabriz reacted to it. They get so little as it is.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/26 TID

Very nice AMPS for Shaikha today; big improvement over last few days.
Increasing the dose a little seems to have helped.
Wishing you and Shaikha a good day!
 
Re: Shaikha 7/26 TID

I think that being proactive when you suspect a flareup of CP makes all the difference .... you have guided her really nice through all of this. Me not so well with Payne .... I thought she was flaring so I increased her insulin but it seems she is fine and we are rebounding just a little. :roll:

If only there were a "sweet spot" for every day for complex kitties ...... but alas, it is not so!

I think you are doing so well with Shaikha! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
We had an extended period of blues today and I had to skip her mid-day shot because she was falling, but I do not think she's doing well at all since this afternoon. She didn't eat everything at lunch and had to be coaxed a lot to get most of it down. At dinner she barely ate at all, so I had to assist feed but she really resisted so I think she's feeling pretty badly. I've only seen her act that way a few times and it was before she started vomiting. So far she's kept things down but I didn't want to push too much in case she was really nauseous. I gave more bupe and increased her anzemet dose to try to help. I even opened a can of no-grain Fancy Feast, something I try not to do because it can cause GI issues, but she nibbled at it and walked away so there's definitely something wrong. The litterbox also had a slightly soft stool (before the Fancy Feast) -- another not so good sign. We'll see how she's doing in the AM but if she's still off I'll get her seen by the vet. We finished the ABs on Monday, but if this is pancreatitis, in her case she often spikes a fever and her white cell counts rise if the flareup is bad and I think this one may be shaping up to be. She just looks sick to me and is acting pretty lethargic. Am hoping she'll feel better in the AM and that this is just a temporary period of yuckiness. :-| And yes, I did test for ketones -- 0.0 on the meter. Will continue to test daily while she's like this though, just in case.
 
I am so sorry she is not feeling well..
I hope it is not a flare up and that she is feeling better today!

Denise
and
shakes
 
:cry:
Bummed Shaikha is feeling yukky. Sending healing vibes for a better appetite and no pain.
All the best to ya both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top