wombat88
Active Member
Shaikha is having a tough time. I lowered her dose in an effort to reset things, thinking she may be getting too much insulin. She did okay initially, but started rising and is up to reds and blacks today. I did increase her dose a tiny amount last night because she was so flat. I'm not sure what is going on with her, but I think the 0.5U dose will work better than the lower one. She's still got some sort of flareup going on I think. I wasn't able to give SQ fluids each day because I discovered on Friday that the fluid bags I got from my vet didn't have a drip chamber and I didn't have a sterile large syringe to use. I had one SQ dose left so I gave it to her after the black reading at +2.5 this AM. She has dropped a little, but we'll see how it goes. She feels warm to me, but I haven't taken her temp. If her BG stays high that's next on the agenda. Ideas? She's on the last of the ABs and will likely finish them today. I really don't know what to do on dose with her. One day she's great, the next not so good. Could it be that her dose is actually too low?
7/23 PMPS = 336, gave 0.5U
7/24 AMPS = 447, gave 0.5U
+2.75 = 506 (gave 100ml. SQ fluids)
+4 = 476
+5.5 = 475
+7.5 = 414
+8 = 437
MDPS = 516, gave 0.6U (given food & insulin at +8.5)
+2 = 368 (also tested ketones - 0.0 so negative -- whew!)
+4 = 371
+5.5 = 358
+7 =332
PMPS =366, gave 0.7U (increased again; plan to hold here until I can see how she does in AM)
7/23 PMPS = 336, gave 0.5U
7/24 AMPS = 447, gave 0.5U
+2.75 = 506 (gave 100ml. SQ fluids)
+4 = 476
+5.5 = 475
+7.5 = 414
+8 = 437
MDPS = 516, gave 0.6U (given food & insulin at +8.5)
+2 = 368 (also tested ketones - 0.0 so negative -- whew!)
+4 = 371
+5.5 = 358
+7 =332
PMPS =366, gave 0.7U (increased again; plan to hold here until I can see how she does in AM)