Shaikha 7/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
We are back on TID. She was a little high last night but I increased her insulin and we had better numbers this AM. Will continue to ramp up if I think it is warranted. I feel better about this already. She soaked up all the subQ fluid I'd given her by this morning so I need to keep on top of that. She doesn't feel dehydrated but she's acting like she needs more. Am hoping her kidney function tests come out okay.

7/12 numbers:
PMPS = 387, gave 0.6U
+7 = 272

7/13 numbers:
AMPS = 288, gave 0.6U (given at +7.5 after PM insulin trying to get her back on a normal TID schedule)
no midcycles (see below)
MDPS = 383, gave 0.7U (this was at +10 after AM insulin, so 2 hours late due to car being in the shop)
+3 = 279
+5 = 342 (ick!)
+7 = 354 (I think; had to use a different meter because my other gave me readings of 257, 516, and 349! The latter was on a different ear and maybe fresher blood)
PMPS =
 
I think she's going to be okay. She definitely is using up insulin fast though. I was two hours late on the mid-day shot because my car got stuck at the shop longer than expected, so by the time I got home she was really high. Definitely 8 hours is a good place to reshoot with her at least most times. Not sure how to explain what was happening with her the past week but I think she'll settle back into TID quickly.
 
Well, this isn't shaping up to be a good cycle, but given that I shot two hours early and she's still trying to get used to TID again, I'm not surprised. I'm going to have to shoot her early tonight since I have to get back on a schedule, but will try a slightly lower dose given that. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. Unfortunately, the car still isn't fixed, but they need to get parts so I should have a more predictable schedule tomorrow. Will try to get more midcycle data because I'm interested in seeing where on earth her nadir is now and how low it really went. I will try to stick to 0.7U tomorrow unless her numbers in the AM are really off. Otherwise I may drop down a little. I may let her run a little higher while she adjusts vs. risking shooting too much and having her zoom. I do think she needs a higher dose, but this is a big change in amounts recently so she likely will need time to settle in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top