Shaikha 7/12 - BID experiment is over!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Hopefully today will be better! I plan to see how she reacts to insulin again today and tomorrow. If I'm not happy with her patterns, I'll likely return to TID dosing later this week. We'll see! Will try to do 1-2 midcycles until I can nail down what is happening. We at least got a blue last night, though not a great one. She was definitely rising this AM so no long duration this time.

7/11 numbers:
PMPS = 272, gave 0.5U (given at +13 after AM insulin as falling at +12)
+4 = 185

7/12 number:
AMPS = 299, gave 0.5U (given at +11 after PM insulin; I realize this acts as a dose increase...)
+7.5 = 283
+8 = 310
(this is where I decided that BID was not going to work for her, so I decided to simply return to TID)
MDPS = 310 (see above), gave 0.5U
+3 = 249
+5 = 200
PMPS = 387, gave 0.6U (will see how this works for AM dose; she'll get some overlap with TID but will increase again if she keeps being flat and then zooming)
 
Re: Shaikha 7/12 - trying BID again

My best, whatever happens! but she had great numbers on t.i.d. but I totally understand wanting to go back to b.i.d. trust me, I do!! (which is why Payne is on vacation with us, well one reason :)
 
Re: Shaikha 7/12 - trying BID again

Nancy and Payne said:
My best, whatever happens! but she had great numbers on t.i.d. but I totally understand wanting to go back to b.i.d. trust me, I do!! (which is why Payne is on vacation with us, well one reason :)

Well, I gave up on BID. I got home and she was acting super-hungry so I decided to test her and she was already about at her AMPS level. Only half hour later she was up above 300 again. That was with a dose increase (in the the form of an early shot) this morning. It may just be that she wasn't getting enough insulin, but I really think she just can't handle twice daily dosing. She is so inconsistent as it is. So, we'll see how she does this afternoon. I'll retest her at +3 and +5 (and more if I think needed) to see how she reacts, but I was getting better results I think with TID. I'm going to see if I can hold her at 0.5U three times per day, but obviously will tweak it up if she's still not getting much of a curve. I really think she needs the overlap the 8 hour dosing schedule was giving her.
 
Ha! Well it appears her nadir during the mid-day cycle wasn't that low and in three hours by PMPS she had zoomed from 200 to 387. I was still giving her 0.5U which even with TID is still much less insulin than she was getting before and she's had several days now of what I'm now guessing as "way too little" so I increased her PM dose by 0.1U. That gives her 1.6U for the day vs. the 0.8-1U she was getting the past few. I've still got room to increase if I need to as she was getting 2.4U per day prior to the BID change.

We'll see how she's in the AM on the 0.6U. If she's still not reacting as I need to I'll increase again by mid-cycle to 0.7U. I can't track as closely in the AM but can monitor more in the PM so if I dose increase again I want to be here so I can get more readings.

I do think this will work better. I'm already feeling more relaxed because her patterns were making me very nervous! Maybe I am a TID gal at heart as Joanna suggested. I just don't want to get her back into the bad types of cycles she had before TID. Yuck. Don't want to go there again!

She's definitely more hungry and it seems to me a little more thirsty than usual, which worries me a little. She's eating a normal amount now thanks to anzemet, which is good because she's lost about half a pound but I'm definitely putting her on daily subQ now. She was on EOD but I don't think that was working. She will go back in on Friday for a mini-test to check liver and kidney function. Other than that she seems like she feels okay, which is good. Hopefully we can keep her myriad of conditions in check and prevent another flareup of pancreatitis. The fact that she seems more nauseated, enough to require a stronger drug, is concerning me so we'll see how she checks out later this week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top