Shaikha 7/10 Day 2 of BID

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Day two of BID.... At least her AMPS wasn't as high as last night, but on 0.4U she's definitely higher and not sinking as low as on 0.5U. Will see how low her nadir is, but I'm guessing we will not see greens today on this dose and the higher PS numbers. Am doing a partial curve today to try to figure out how low she's getting on a lower dose and when. Yesterday at +5.5 she was at 97 on a PS of 222 and 0.5U. Today only 182 at the same time on a PS of 290 but 0.4U. If her nadir isn't so great I may have to consider bumping her back up, or should I wait it out even if she's pretty flat today?

7/9 PMPS = 327, gave 0.4U
7/10 numbers
AMPS = 290, gave 0.4U
+5.5 = 182
+7.5 = 215 (ugh -- it will be a long next 4.5 hours!)
PMPS = 247, gave "fat" 0.4U (much better than I expected, but talk about a flat day)
+2 = 217
 
I'm not sure why she bounced like that yesterday - she has seen greens before and not bounced, so I'm not convinced she is in liver training. If it were me, I would probably be shooting a skinny 0.5/fat 0.4 and seeing how she does on that. She's kind of a puzzle why some days/cycles she seems to zoom, but other days she gets good duration, no liver training in sight, etc. If it weren't for the end of the cycle yesterday I would stay with 0.5 really, but it makes me wonder if she is super-sensitive to drops or something.
 
I'm not sure what is going on with her either, unless her pancreas decided already the honeymoon is over and it is time to act up again. I was out this morning so didn't test that early, so she either nadired very early today or the dose just wasn't enough. I'm guessing the latter since she's already rising. She's still doing better than she had been in terms of where she's at at +8 after her last dose, but she'll definitely be high by her PM dose tonight. I do think that 0.4U is not enough for her. She's on a much lower dose total per day than she was getting before, so I may need to return to 0.5U and ride out the swings, if any. She's already got a lot of change going from TID to BID, plus the much lower dose since only four days ago she got 2.5U of insulin throughout the day, and now she's gotten only 0.9U in the past 24 hours. Her body may not know what to think at this point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top