Shaikha 6/9 - AMPS = 95!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
I've no idea what happened last night, but woke up to find her purring and fine. Was I surprised to find her at only 95 at +8 after her PM dose! I don't know if I gave too much accidentally, didn't mix it up so she got too many granules in the shot, or what. I sort of doubt her diabetes has decided to go away, but it was a surprise given her history, but that's my girl -- she's full of those! I obviously didn't give insulin, but was then trying to decide what to do. I kept testing, wanting to see how long she could go before she started going up. She was up to 172 at +10 after her PM dose and at 214 at +11. I debated about giving insulin then or just waiting and trying b.i.d. today, but settled on waiting until close to when her normal mid-day dose would be in case this was a fluke. She was up to 298 by then (still not bad, about +15 after her last dose!) despite her having food after her first test of the day. Maybe it is the phosphorus binder? :roll:

Sorry I posted so late today. I'd typed this up earlier and when I went to submit I was asked to log in again and the whole post was gone. I usually try to remember to copy it before submitting since that has happened before, but forgot this time. At any rate, here are her numbers for today. The only real change last night was that her appetite wasn't that great, so she ate a smaller meal than normal. I don't know if that played a role or not. Maybe her pancreas just decided to give me a break after yesterday's news at the vet. I don't really think she's grown out of t.i.d. yet and this may just be a fluke or just an error on my part, but maybe she is getting closer if this keeps up. She's only had one of the new antibiotics, but she did have the old and new ones yesterday, but they wouldn't have worked that quickly to clear her infection. I'll take the green though. That was a surprise!

6/8 PMPS = 307, gave 0.9U (did shoot one hour early, but she was rising so I figured it would be okay, though I know this also acts like a dose increase when you do that)
6/9 numbers:
AMPS = 95, no insulin (I retested and it was 97, so the reading was correct); gave food as normal
+2 (+10 after PM dose) = 172
+3 (+11 after PM dose) = 214
MDPS = 298, gave 0.6U (this was at +15 after her PM dose; gave reduced dose just in case)
+3.5 = 261
+6 = 299
PMPS = 350, gave 0.9U
 
Looks Great Wendy!!!

Whatever the reason, I hope it continues! Much better news today.

I am happy for you and Shaikha!
 
Wow, that sounds like you both had a decent day!
glad to see decent numbers for you

hang in there
Denise and Shakes
 
I think you hit the nail on the head, early shot = dose increase, so now you know how a little extra insulin works for her and should help you choose future doses and a good guage for judging current doses.

She does keep you on your toes. You and Shaikha are doing the Cha Cha dance.
 
Rob & Harley said:
I think you hit the nail on the head, early shot = dose increase, so now you know how a little extra insulin works for her and should help you choose future doses and a good guage for judging current doses. She does keep you on your toes. You and Shaikha are doing the Cha Cha dance.

With not getting the mid-day dose on time it ended up putting the PM shot very late, and I could not keep my eyes open at all. I didn't trust myself to wake up to an alarm, so I decided to shoot early. So far she seems to be reacting to the mid-day dose just fine.
 
I don't blame you for shooting early, I can't trust myself to wake up to an alarm at an odd time either. She'll be just fine. We work it out any way we can.
 
Well, I probably should have gone with the normal dose because it looks like the lower dose didn't get her down much at all. At least I know now that the reason for the low numbers this AM was shooting early vs. the dose. Or maybe I know that 0.6 is too little. ;-) At any rate, she'll definitely get more insulin at the PMPS. Will probably go back with 0.9U since that worked pretty well for her. She does seem to be feeling perkier today, so I'm hoping between the other antibiotic and the new one this UTI is finally getting touched. Her appetite is better too. I know she'll be glad to see it go, as will I. Poor thing. I know how badly I feel with one.
 
Data gathering.

Her whole cat report sounds great being perkier, eating better, I sure hope the AB's get rid of the infection soon.
 
She was up to 350 tonight, so I gave her 0.9U as planned. I figured she'd be higher. We'll see what the morning brings. It may take her a little while to settle out after being off today a bit on schedule.
 
Woohoo!!!! I have found that shooting earlier like that can make a monster difference. Not much difference between say a +11 and a +12, but when you starting getting earlier than +9 it's night & day. I've shot a couple times at +6 and :o nailbite_smile :shock: .

So I'm wondering if maybe she would like 1u on the +8s then? I don't have her SS open, but if you aren't seeing green nadirs I might consider trying it if you can be around to monitor (and are prepared for maybe a TID graduate!!!!). But she is doing great so if you want to continue with what you are doing now and not stress about going for more greens I think that is fine too. Just choices that are all good, YAY! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top