wombat88
Active Member
I've no idea what happened last night, but woke up to find her purring and fine. Was I surprised to find her at only 95 at +8 after her PM dose! I don't know if I gave too much accidentally, didn't mix it up so she got too many granules in the shot, or what. I sort of doubt her diabetes has decided to go away, but it was a surprise given her history, but that's my girl -- she's full of those! I obviously didn't give insulin, but was then trying to decide what to do. I kept testing, wanting to see how long she could go before she started going up. She was up to 172 at +10 after her PM dose and at 214 at +11. I debated about giving insulin then or just waiting and trying b.i.d. today, but settled on waiting until close to when her normal mid-day dose would be in case this was a fluke. She was up to 298 by then (still not bad, about +15 after her last dose!) despite her having food after her first test of the day. Maybe it is the phosphorus binder? :roll:
Sorry I posted so late today. I'd typed this up earlier and when I went to submit I was asked to log in again and the whole post was gone. I usually try to remember to copy it before submitting since that has happened before, but forgot this time. At any rate, here are her numbers for today. The only real change last night was that her appetite wasn't that great, so she ate a smaller meal than normal. I don't know if that played a role or not. Maybe her pancreas just decided to give me a break after yesterday's news at the vet. I don't really think she's grown out of t.i.d. yet and this may just be a fluke or just an error on my part, but maybe she is getting closer if this keeps up. She's only had one of the new antibiotics, but she did have the old and new ones yesterday, but they wouldn't have worked that quickly to clear her infection. I'll take the green though. That was a surprise!
6/8 PMPS = 307, gave 0.9U (did shoot one hour early, but she was rising so I figured it would be okay, though I know this also acts like a dose increase when you do that)
6/9 numbers:
AMPS = 95, no insulin (I retested and it was 97, so the reading was correct); gave food as normal
+2 (+10 after PM dose) = 172
+3 (+11 after PM dose) = 214
MDPS = 298, gave 0.6U (this was at +15 after her PM dose; gave reduced dose just in case)
+3.5 = 261
+6 = 299
PMPS = 350, gave 0.9U
Sorry I posted so late today. I'd typed this up earlier and when I went to submit I was asked to log in again and the whole post was gone. I usually try to remember to copy it before submitting since that has happened before, but forgot this time. At any rate, here are her numbers for today. The only real change last night was that her appetite wasn't that great, so she ate a smaller meal than normal. I don't know if that played a role or not. Maybe her pancreas just decided to give me a break after yesterday's news at the vet. I don't really think she's grown out of t.i.d. yet and this may just be a fluke or just an error on my part, but maybe she is getting closer if this keeps up. She's only had one of the new antibiotics, but she did have the old and new ones yesterday, but they wouldn't have worked that quickly to clear her infection. I'll take the green though. That was a surprise!
6/8 PMPS = 307, gave 0.9U (did shoot one hour early, but she was rising so I figured it would be okay, though I know this also acts like a dose increase when you do that)
6/9 numbers:
AMPS = 95, no insulin (I retested and it was 97, so the reading was correct); gave food as normal
+2 (+10 after PM dose) = 172
+3 (+11 after PM dose) = 214
MDPS = 298, gave 0.6U (this was at +15 after her PM dose; gave reduced dose just in case)
+3.5 = 261
+6 = 299
PMPS = 350, gave 0.9U