Shaikha 6/5 t.i.d. + midcycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
She had a pretty good day yesterday on the lower dose, but started zooming at the end of the day. She did the same thing actually the last four days. Any thoughts on that? She's got a UTI, so that will also throw numbers off, or maybe it is a full moon. :mrgreen:

6/4 PMPS = 365, gave 0.8U
6/5 numbers:
AMPS = 240, gave 0.6U
+3.5 = 122
MDPS= 296, gave 0.7U (tried a "fat" 0.6 to see if controls her numbers better this PM)
+4 = 181
PMPS = 340, gave 0.8U (blech!)
 
Hmmm.

Is her eating pattern the same on all 3 cycles? Or anything else that might explain a late afternoon spike - bird sits outside the window every day around that time, or whatnot?

It's possible she is zooming a little on better #s, and maybe the lower 100s are just enough to cause some zoom. I'm not sure the data supports that theory - if you see zoom after this AM cycle, that might support that.

For yesterday's mid-day cycle, the early nadir and then higher #s look to me like momentum wearing off at the lower dose - lost a little ground on the 1st cycle at 0.6, and then more on cycle 2. That doesn't explain the higher PMPSs on the other days though. It's possible of course that there are different reasons on different days.

If you don't see greens this cycle, you might try 0.7 and see if that evens things out a little bit. Overall though, it looks like you are doing an awesome job keeping things in a good place!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Hmmm.

Is her eating pattern the same on all 3 cycles? Or anything else that might explain a late afternoon spike - bird sits outside the window every day around that time, or whatnot?

It's possible she is zooming a little on better #s, and maybe the lower 100s are just enough to cause some zoom. I'm not sure the data supports that theory - if you see zoom after this AM cycle, that might support that.

For yesterday's mid-day cycle, the early nadir and then higher #s look to me like momentum wearing off at the lower dose - lost a little ground on the 1st cycle at 0.6, and then more on cycle 2. That doesn't explain the higher PMPSs on the other days though. It's possible of course that there are different reasons on different days.

If you don't see greens this cycle, you might try 0.7 and see if that evens things out a little bit. Overall though, it looks like you are doing an awesome job keeping things in a good place!

Thanks, Joanna & Robin. No difference in behavior or food patterns. She's a pretty complacent cat. She mostly sits in the kitchen on the chair I sit on to test her glucose (closer to food that way), or she'll lie on the floor of the office if I'm in there. She isn't super-active, though she will lie down and play quietly with toys at times. She's never been a "chase through the house" type of cat. Always very measured, very timid in her actions.

I was wondering about the lower doses wearing off quickly too. She tends to early nadir anyway, but these are very fast. I've been told by other people whose cats had pancreatitis that theirs do the same too, though so maybe that plays a role. She's zoomed up so much in the PM the last two nights that I shot a half hour early, which combined with a higher dose seems to have resulted in better numbers by AM, so the dose may actually need to come up a smidge. I've not seen greens and have done quite a few tests, so I'm pretty sure I'm catching the nadir.

Will see how she is at MDPS and decide on a dose then. Nudging her up a tad probably won't hurt if I go slowly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top