Shaikha 6/15 return to t.i.d. + midcycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Yesterday Shaikha has a weird schedule. I couldn't figure out how to give three shots with her fasting tests in the AM so I only did two. I increased the dose slightly to compensate but she started out higher as a result of more time between shots and less insulin over the day in total. I'm trying a slightly higher dose to see how she does with that. I did 0.7U yesterday AM and got a green at +5. Will see how that works today, but she may be off a little due to the schedule change yesterday.

6/14 PMPS = 250, gave 0.7U
+3.5 = 143
+8.5 = 311
6/15 numbers:
AMPS = 299, gave 0.7U (this was given at +12 after the PM shot yesterday)
+5 = 126
MDPS = 174, gave 0.7U
+5.5 = 153 (gave a snack to try to get more weight on her)
PMPS = 210, gave 0.7U
 
Yea for a green. I hope she'll start feeling better and be back on schedule soon. I sounds like she did ok with the schedule change, she's a very resiliant girl.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
I'm sure you will have everything back under control soon, you are doing such a great job. Is she feeling ok today?

She's doing okay, but her appetite isn't so great. She acts enthusiastic about the food and then picks at it. To my chagrin, I weighed her and she's down to 7.2 lb. from her normal weight of 8lb. She's eaten a little less the past few days, but I've been careful to try to get most of the food into her, so I don't think it is food alone that has caused the weight loss. She seems to be drinking less, so that may be part of it. My vet wants me to do subQ fluids just to be safe, and I think that's a wise idea because both pancreatitis and liver disease require good hydration. She doesn't feel dehydrated, but we don't need that on top of everything else. I let her have a snack today in between meals and will try to measure out food carefully to ensure she truly is eating what I need her to. So far I've been able to get her to eat the rest by hand feeding or putting it in her mouth directly. She's nauseated I can tell but the food is staying down at least. I switched to anzemet today and hope that will kick in and make her appetite a little stronger. If not, I'll break out my food processor and syringes. We started some more meds today and hopefully will have results back from the anemia panel tomorrow or Friday so we know a bit more.
 
Well one bit of good news. I gave her the PM meal and she gobbled it all down. I mean she joined the clean your plate club. :RAHCAT I haven't seen her eat like this in at least a week. Maybe the anzemet is kicking in. She wasn't as enthusiastic about the earlier meal, but she did eat it all with encouragement. This was a new can of food, so maybe it smelled good or something. Whatever it was, I'll take it! No encouragement needed. She had her head in the bowl and kept at it until it was clean. Go Shaikha!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top