Shaikha 6/14 - need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Today she had fasting bloodwork. The clinic was busy and I wasn't able to get her home until +13 after her last feeding and shot. Despite that, it provided some interesting data because by then she was only up to 260, so she actually got long duration though I've no idea what the nadir was since it occurred after I went to bed. I did shoot her one hour early again, so that may be why. I've got a horrid cold and was pretty ill last night (fever, chills) so I had to go to bed early. How do you suggest I handle shots the rest of the day, since she's off schedule now?

6/13 PMPS = 294, gave 0.6U (shot about 1 hour early)
6/14 numbers:
+9 =202
AMPS = 260, gave 0.7U (this was a late shot due to fasting blood work; at +13 after last shot)
+5 = 87
PMPS = 250, gave 0.7U (this was actually at +9 after the other shot; spacing out things a little to see if I can get her back on schedule)
+3.5 = 143
+8.5 = 311
+12 = 299

NOTE: Yesterday was b.i.d. given the blood tests in the AM. I couldn't figure out how to work in three shots and I was also interested to see how she did with more time between shots. She definitely needs insulin every 8 hours from what I see above. I increased her dose a little to compensate for fewer shots and got a green. She was higher in the second period but she also was getting less insulin in total. We will return to t.i.d. tomorrow.
 
kse said:
Any news on the anemia from the bloodwork?

Hope you feel better!

Just posted a separate thread about that. She's hanging in there at around 20%. Unfortunately some liver enzymes are elevated, which isn't good news. This is likely why she's not eating all her food. The anemia panels will take a few days to get back.
 
When I get off schedule I try and get back in 1/2 hour increments but pzi is very forgiving so what works for you. Poor babies, you and Shaikha :) take care both of you .....
 
Did you get the schedule worked out? I'm pretty tired so am not even trying to get my mind around it! Sorry you are sick, what a pain. Hope you are feeling better soon!
 
Yes, I think I did. She'll go a little longer tonight than usual after her last dose, but it will work out. Am going to test her BG now and will head off to bed again. Should have been in there an hour ago the way I've been feeling today, but I also took a few naps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top