wombat88
Member Since 2010
After yesterday's AM bounce and a flatter afternoon, this girl definitely has me guessing as to what to do. It could be that her infection is subsiding so I need to adjust dose a little. I gave her slightly less insulin last night but she was only at 147 when I tested her this AM. I waited 1/2 hour and she was up to 158, so I gave her food and then a smaller dose of insulin. We'll see how it goes, but we'll likely we doing some adjusting for the next day or so until she settles out some. Appetite is a bit down, but with encouragement or hand-feeding I've been able to get her to eat enough. I am sure that is the anemia. She reminds me a little too much of my GA Tabriz the way she's acting. I do plan to call our vet tomorrow to discuss what is going on and try to come up with a plan of action. If her PCV is too low this week we may be looking at a blood transfusion being necessary until we can get tests back regarding regeneration. Aranesp, if that's what she'll need, takes a while to kick in so she may need some temporary help to get her over the hump. Other than that she's acting fine. I also plan to ask my vet if we should retest for blood parasites like hemobart again just to cover all the bases and about doing some tests on blood cell morphology.
6/11 PMPS = 229, gave 0.8U (decided to go down a little just in case a low number overnight triggered yesterday AM's bounce)
6/12 numbers:
AMPS = 147/158, gave 0.6U (tried a much lower amount; may need to tweak doses as her infection clears up)
+5 = 102
+7 = 142
MDPS=149, gave 0.6U (I'm not believing these numbers! Wish we had a green, but not bad overall!)
+3 = 181 (suspect a bounce coming on...)
+7 = 321 (yep!)
PMPS = 321, gave 0.6U (shot about 45 min. early; had to get to bed)
6/11 PMPS = 229, gave 0.8U (decided to go down a little just in case a low number overnight triggered yesterday AM's bounce)
6/12 numbers:
AMPS = 147/158, gave 0.6U (tried a much lower amount; may need to tweak doses as her infection clears up)
+5 = 102
+7 = 142
MDPS=149, gave 0.6U (I'm not believing these numbers! Wish we had a green, but not bad overall!)
+3 = 181 (suspect a bounce coming on...)
+7 = 321 (yep!)
PMPS = 321, gave 0.6U (shot about 45 min. early; had to get to bed)