Shaikha 6/12 AMPS = 147!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
After yesterday's AM bounce and a flatter afternoon, this girl definitely has me guessing as to what to do. It could be that her infection is subsiding so I need to adjust dose a little. I gave her slightly less insulin last night but she was only at 147 when I tested her this AM. I waited 1/2 hour and she was up to 158, so I gave her food and then a smaller dose of insulin. We'll see how it goes, but we'll likely we doing some adjusting for the next day or so until she settles out some. Appetite is a bit down, but with encouragement or hand-feeding I've been able to get her to eat enough. I am sure that is the anemia. She reminds me a little too much of my GA Tabriz the way she's acting. I do plan to call our vet tomorrow to discuss what is going on and try to come up with a plan of action. If her PCV is too low this week we may be looking at a blood transfusion being necessary until we can get tests back regarding regeneration. Aranesp, if that's what she'll need, takes a while to kick in so she may need some temporary help to get her over the hump. Other than that she's acting fine. I also plan to ask my vet if we should retest for blood parasites like hemobart again just to cover all the bases and about doing some tests on blood cell morphology.

6/11 PMPS = 229, gave 0.8U (decided to go down a little just in case a low number overnight triggered yesterday AM's bounce)
6/12 numbers:
AMPS = 147/158, gave 0.6U (tried a much lower amount; may need to tweak doses as her infection clears up)
+5 = 102
+7 = 142
MDPS=149, gave 0.6U (I'm not believing these numbers! Wish we had a green, but not bad overall!)
+3 = 181 (suspect a bounce coming on...)
+7 = 321 (yep!)
PMPS = 321, gave 0.6U (shot about 45 min. early; had to get to bed)
 
That is great her numbers are coming down
and she is very lucky to have you!

when I read your threads they tend to confuse me!
you are so knowledable which makes her so very lucky!

enjoy the lower numbers!

Denise andShakes
 
dmartini4 said:
That is great her numbers are coming down and she is very lucky to have you! when I read your threads they tend to confuse me! you are so knowledable which makes her so very lucky! enjoy the lower numbers! Denise andShakes

I don't mean to confuse. If there is anything I say that doesn't make sense, I'm happy to explain it as best I can. :smile:

I'm happy to see her numbers coming down too! This bounce hasn't been as bad as the others so hopefully this means she's getting more used to low vs. high numbers. That would be a good trend!
 
Thanks, its ok, it is easy to confuse me!
I will keep everything crossed for low numbers for everyone!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Wow, great #s today, yippee!!!!

I've been absolutely amazed. She must be over her infection. That's got to be it. If that's the case, then this is really showing what t.i.d. might be capable of getting her to, and possibly a light at the end of the tunnel for possible b.i.d. if I can get decent duration without numbers going wild. She tends to zoom so much though, that I'm a bit scared of how she'd do with a longer period between doses. IF we could tweak the doses correctly, and IF I can keep her well... Not sure we'll get there with this girl.
 
Ditto...yay for great #'s today...really great. So glad Shaikha is feeling a little better. Paws crossed she continues since it sounds like you have some other concerns with her. Keep on keepin' on.
 
What great numbers!!
hopefully you will be able to go back to b.i.d. but she is responding so well to the t.i.d.! Payne has an early nadir, which is why it works for her. Yes, it seems she is getting over the infection, good job!

Nancy and Payne
 
Well, we've got another bounce, I guess. She was rising AM before I shot and she definitely nadired early as is pretty normal for her. I may go ahead and shoot her now since she's up to 321 already at +7. I'll go with a lower dose again, but am really, really beat tonight. We got off track with dosing times the past week or so so I've had to stay up much later than usual to get her last dose in the past few nights and I'd love to switch back to an hour earlier if I could. I know that would count as a dose increase so I'll stick with the lower dose I've shot all day today. She may actually not be over the bounce she had on 6/11 since the other cycles were odd after that -- either flat or unusually low. We'll see how she's doing in the AM. Off to give her some dinner and meds before I fall asleep over my keyboard. I think I'm coming down with my husband's cold, so I need get some rest anyway. .zzzzzzz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top