wombat88
Active Member
I leave tomorrow for my trip, so here are the last numbers for a little while. If she's having trouble, I've given my friend instructions how to get here and told her to just post Shaikha's name and say that she needs help. Of course, for emergencies, it is the vet, but she may need some tips on getting blood, dosing, etc.
I increased Shaikha to two units this morning per my vet's instructions. He was concerned about how high her numbers have been, plus how much she is ramping up. He would love to change her to another insulin right away, but with my trip that's not happening. He said even if we can get her into the 300s AM & PM at this point, he'd be happy. He doesn't think the PZI will control her given the patterns we are seeing and I'm afraid I agree. She was at 523 this AM and three hours later was at 340. At +9 she was at 460. Not great numbers, but yesterday wasn't too good either. We are keeping her on an antibiotic for now because in the past that has helped when her pancreatitis was really bad (she tends to spike fevers) so hopefully that will keep her relatively well for the next ten days or so. There was some good news today at least -- her belly seems less firm (lots of bloating previously) and her PCV was actually higher, around 22%. So at least her anemia isn't getting worse.
+11 = 487
AMPS = 523
+3 = 340
+9 = 460
PMPS = 586
+4.5 = 221
PS: My friend will email me daily with her numbers, so I'll try to keep the spreadsheet updated at least. If you see anything amiss, PM me and I'll get an email.
I increased Shaikha to two units this morning per my vet's instructions. He was concerned about how high her numbers have been, plus how much she is ramping up. He would love to change her to another insulin right away, but with my trip that's not happening. He said even if we can get her into the 300s AM & PM at this point, he'd be happy. He doesn't think the PZI will control her given the patterns we are seeing and I'm afraid I agree. She was at 523 this AM and three hours later was at 340. At +9 she was at 460. Not great numbers, but yesterday wasn't too good either. We are keeping her on an antibiotic for now because in the past that has helped when her pancreatitis was really bad (she tends to spike fevers) so hopefully that will keep her relatively well for the next ten days or so. There was some good news today at least -- her belly seems less firm (lots of bloating previously) and her PCV was actually higher, around 22%. So at least her anemia isn't getting worse.
+11 = 487
AMPS = 523
+3 = 340
+9 = 460
PMPS = 586
+4.5 = 221
PS: My friend will email me daily with her numbers, so I'll try to keep the spreadsheet updated at least. If you see anything amiss, PM me and I'll get an email.