Shaikha 5/4 AM & PM PS - last post for a while

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
I leave tomorrow for my trip, so here are the last numbers for a little while. If she's having trouble, I've given my friend instructions how to get here and told her to just post Shaikha's name and say that she needs help. Of course, for emergencies, it is the vet, but she may need some tips on getting blood, dosing, etc.

I increased Shaikha to two units this morning per my vet's instructions. He was concerned about how high her numbers have been, plus how much she is ramping up. He would love to change her to another insulin right away, but with my trip that's not happening. He said even if we can get her into the 300s AM & PM at this point, he'd be happy. He doesn't think the PZI will control her given the patterns we are seeing and I'm afraid I agree. She was at 523 this AM and three hours later was at 340. At +9 she was at 460. Not great numbers, but yesterday wasn't too good either. We are keeping her on an antibiotic for now because in the past that has helped when her pancreatitis was really bad (she tends to spike fevers) so hopefully that will keep her relatively well for the next ten days or so. There was some good news today at least -- her belly seems less firm (lots of bloating previously) and her PCV was actually higher, around 22%. So at least her anemia isn't getting worse.

+11 = 487
AMPS = 523
+3 = 340
+9 = 460
PMPS = 586
+4.5 = 221

PS: My friend will email me daily with her numbers, so I'll try to keep the spreadsheet updated at least. If you see anything amiss, PM me and I'll get an email.
 
HAve a safe trip, and try not to worry too much
I know how hard that is ..
I am sorry that Shaika's numbers are not what they should be
but hang in there, and we will keep our fingers and paws crossed for you both

Denise and Shakes
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Best of luck on your trip and cat sitter. You really are dealing with a difficult situation - IBD, pancreatitis and diabetes. Wondered if you had seen this post by a vet tech who posts on the site: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,342228

Thanks, Sue. We're actually doing most of that or have done it. She takes prednisolone (and gets a bad flareup if we stop, not to mention diarrhea), she eats hypoallergenic food, etc. We tried leukeran after consulting with TAMU, but it caused what seems to be a permanent decrease in her red, white, and platelet counts so we had to stop it. She gets B12 shots weekly because of malabsorption. Her liver is fine, thankfully, at least so far.
 
Yes, wishing safe travels for you and good #'s for Shaikha. I had to leave on a trip soon after my cat Max was diagnosed and it was so hard to leave him. I left copious instructions for my brothers, who were helping take care of him. ;-) Sounds like you've got a good friend taking care of Shaikha.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top