wombat88
Member Since 2010
I gave her shot an hour early yesterday, but PMPS was still higher than I'd like to see despite the higher dose. No interim readings taken. Though she's come down a little from the blacks she was getting, she's still in the 400s the past few days AM & PM PS (was >600 on Sunday). We increased her dose Sunday PM from 1.5 to 1.8. Am suspecting we'll eventually need to bump her back up to the 2 units I'd been giving previously. My friend came over last night and got trained on how to do blood tests on cat ears. Her father is diabetic, so she's familiar with the condition at least. She's going to email me daily with readings and I'll also give her the web address here so she can post if she gets stuck, and of course she's also got my vet to consult with. Am guessing she'll need to bump up the dose though after I leave since it has only been a few days on the higher dose. I leave Thursday, so Wednesday will be my last chance to do any type of mid-day tests.
She seems to be feeling much improved. I'm still giving fluids, but have been able to back off the buprenex. I think the antibiotics have also done the trick. Her stools are still less firm than they should be and one looked suspicious to me this AM. Will take her to the vet one more time for more blood tests tomorrow. He said he'd like to do more tests if she's still not 100% or if her anemia is not better, and I think that's a good idea. That's one of my biggest concerns right now, actually. I'd like to see her PCV (red cell count) get a healthy way above 20%.
+11 = 343
AMPS = 417, gave 1.8U
+3 = 210
+6 = 345 (well UGH! That's not good. This is several days in a row she isn't budging much from higher numbers)
+9.75 = 523 (double UGH -- back to blacks!)
PMPS = 562
She seems to be feeling much improved. I'm still giving fluids, but have been able to back off the buprenex. I think the antibiotics have also done the trick. Her stools are still less firm than they should be and one looked suspicious to me this AM. Will take her to the vet one more time for more blood tests tomorrow. He said he'd like to do more tests if she's still not 100% or if her anemia is not better, and I think that's a good idea. That's one of my biggest concerns right now, actually. I'd like to see her PCV (red cell count) get a healthy way above 20%.
+11 = 343
AMPS = 417, gave 1.8U
+3 = 210
+6 = 345 (well UGH! That's not good. This is several days in a row she isn't budging much from higher numbers)
+9.75 = 523 (double UGH -- back to blacks!)
PMPS = 562