wombat88
Active Member
Shaikha starts t.i.d. dosing of insulin today. She was up to 529 last night, and at +8.5 this AM was up to 447 already. We gave her a slightly lower insulin dose last night given how unpredictable her numbers were yesterday, but obviously the insulin dose didn't last long given her numbers this AM. The plan is 1 unit every 8 hours. Will see how it goes. My vet wants me to do frequent testing today to try to nail down the nadirs so we can tweak dosing if needed. He doesn't want to start too high as we aren't sure what the cumulative effect will be of the more frequent doses. Am hoping for good things, though I know it will take time.
AMPS = morning pre-shot, MDPS = mid-day pre-shot, PMPS = late PM pre-shot
5/26 PMPS = 529, gave 1.4U
+8.5 = 443
5/27 numbers:
AMPS = 428, gave 1U
+2 = 255
+4 = 81
+5 = 75
+6.5 = 114
MDPS= 179, gave 0.4U
+2 = 240
+3 = 166
+4 = 139 (fed after)
+5.5 = 197
+7 = 273
PMPS = 252, gave 0.7U

AMPS = morning pre-shot, MDPS = mid-day pre-shot, PMPS = late PM pre-shot
5/26 PMPS = 529, gave 1.4U
+8.5 = 443
5/27 numbers:
AMPS = 428, gave 1U
+2 = 255
+4 = 81
+5 = 75
+6.5 = 114
MDPS= 179, gave 0.4U
+2 = 240
+3 = 166
+4 = 139 (fed after)
+5.5 = 197
+7 = 273
PMPS = 252, gave 0.7U