Shaikha 4/25 AM & PM PS

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Shaikha was >600 at +10 from her PM shot yesterday (which I think was a fur shot now), so I fed her and gave her insulin early. Readings today should bear that in mind.

AMPS = >600 (see above, gave 1U -- I wasn't sure what to do since it was early, & thought going lower might help if she was being overdosed to now)
+4 = 384
PMPS = 412 (done at 15.5 hours after AM insulin; food 3 hours prior, fed her again after PMPS) - gave 1U
+3 = (didn't take - got home a little later than planned and dead tired)

My plan is the above. The PM shot will be about 3 hours late (yes, I know), but I don't want my husband giving insulin without testing. I will have him feed her when he gets home from work, and then will feed her more and give her the PM shot after testing about three hours later when I get home. Bad schedule today, I know.

The question is... if she's still really high, should I stick to the same low dose, or go up a little? I'm not sure how quickly to make changes. She was getting 2U each shot, but with yesterday's high numbers I wasn't sure what to do. It was suggested that perhaps she was getting overdosed. I know the drop from 2U to 1U is a large one, but I was hoping less insulin might help calm things down?

I've never had this happen before. Vetsulin was much easier to use, or maybe she's just going through a rough patch with her pancreas. Suggestions?
 
Haven't done it yet. Am at work and won't get home until late PM. My husband was feeding her some dinner at 6pm, and I'll do a PMPS about three hours after that along with giving her more food. I'll edit my post when that happens.

Wendy
 
Wendy Dear I think we should expect it to be high as my math says she is getting this pmps at +15? Is that correct?
Yes, is my thought....let's stay with this dose so we can have time to see what it does on a normal day. We don't always get the perfect response right away even in the best of scenario's....and Shaikha bless her heart may have a lot of bouncing to over come...
 
lori and tom said:
Wendy Dear I think we should expect it to be high as my math says she is getting this pmps at +15? Is that correct?
Yes, is my thought....let's stay with this dose so we can have time to see what it does on a normal day. We don't always get the perfect response right away even in the best of scenario's....and Shaikha bless her heart may have a lot of bouncing to over come...

Yes, it will be at +15 most likely, depending on how fast I get home. She will have had some food three hours prior, but this is the best I can do today unless I want to shoot blindly, and I know that is frowned upon (for good reason). ;-)
 
wombat88 said:
I've never had this happen before. Vetsulin was much easier to use, or maybe she's just going through a rough patch with her pancreas. Suggestions?

We switched from Vetsulin also, and it took me a while to get used to PZI. The action is delayed, and it can be really hard to predict the nadirs. Vetsulin I could set my clock by, and you definitely can't do that with PZI. Once you get used to it though, it can work really well, and is less scary than Vetsulin in a way. It'll come together, just keep plugging away!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
wombat88 said:
We switched from Vetsulin also, and it took me a while to get used to PZI. The action is delayed, and it can be really hard to predict the nadirs. Vetsulin I could set my clock by, and you definitely can't do that with PZI. Once you get used to it though, it can work really well, and is less scary than Vetsulin in a way. It'll come together, just keep plugging away!

I'm glad to hear (sort of) that it eventually comes together. Am posting her levels now. I was dead tired last night and logging on was the last thing on my mind after taking care of her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top