wombat88
Active Member
Shaikha was >600 at +10 from her PM shot yesterday (which I think was a fur shot now), so I fed her and gave her insulin early. Readings today should bear that in mind.
AMPS = >600 (see above, gave 1U -- I wasn't sure what to do since it was early, & thought going lower might help if she was being overdosed to now)
+4 = 384
PMPS = 412 (done at 15.5 hours after AM insulin; food 3 hours prior, fed her again after PMPS) - gave 1U
+3 = (didn't take - got home a little later than planned and dead tired)
My plan is the above. The PM shot will be about 3 hours late (yes, I know), but I don't want my husband giving insulin without testing. I will have him feed her when he gets home from work, and then will feed her more and give her the PM shot after testing about three hours later when I get home. Bad schedule today, I know.
The question is... if she's still really high, should I stick to the same low dose, or go up a little? I'm not sure how quickly to make changes. She was getting 2U each shot, but with yesterday's high numbers I wasn't sure what to do. It was suggested that perhaps she was getting overdosed. I know the drop from 2U to 1U is a large one, but I was hoping less insulin might help calm things down?
I've never had this happen before. Vetsulin was much easier to use, or maybe she's just going through a rough patch with her pancreas. Suggestions?
AMPS = >600 (see above, gave 1U -- I wasn't sure what to do since it was early, & thought going lower might help if she was being overdosed to now)
+4 = 384
PMPS = 412 (done at 15.5 hours after AM insulin; food 3 hours prior, fed her again after PMPS) - gave 1U
+3 = (didn't take - got home a little later than planned and dead tired)
My plan is the above. The PM shot will be about 3 hours late (yes, I know), but I don't want my husband giving insulin without testing. I will have him feed her when he gets home from work, and then will feed her more and give her the PM shot after testing about three hours later when I get home. Bad schedule today, I know.
The question is... if she's still really high, should I stick to the same low dose, or go up a little? I'm not sure how quickly to make changes. She was getting 2U each shot, but with yesterday's high numbers I wasn't sure what to do. It was suggested that perhaps she was getting overdosed. I know the drop from 2U to 1U is a large one, but I was hoping less insulin might help calm things down?
I've never had this happen before. Vetsulin was much easier to use, or maybe she's just going through a rough patch with her pancreas. Suggestions?