Shadow- increased insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Hi!

Shadow is still high. Increased his dose to 2 units this evening. Shadow is acting ravenous...

Anyone know where the cheapest place to buy alpha track 2 test strips is?

Thanks!
 
Our shopping partner, American Diabetes Wholesale has them for 200/$187.96; 100/$97.98; 50/$49.99 If you use the link at the top of the page, a tiny amount goes to the FDMB board to help support it.

For the cost of one box of Alphatrak 2 test strips, you could go to Walmart, buy the Reliion Confirm meter ($14.98) and 100 test strips ($35.88). Or buy the Relion Prime meter ($16.24) and 200 test strips ($36). A lot more test strips and a new backup meter for about the same price as a single box of 50 Alphatrak 2 test strips.
 
I got a better idea. Ditch the AT and buy a cheaper meter like the relion micro or confirm from walmart. Keep the AT as a back up.

Are you going to post on tight regulation board or do you prefer to stay here? You are certainly welcome to stay here but TR has way more experinced dosers who can advise on when and how to change dose. i.e. here is their protocol which has been tested and has a lot of success..

"General" Guidelines:
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.


Wendy
 
Shadow's mom Jen had posted over on the Lantus Tight Regulation board on Friday, 5/10. Both Sienne and Gabby, and Jill & Alex are helping her. They are trying to fast track Shadow's insulin dose back up.

See here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95098

Bottom line seems to be a need to get some more test numbers so we can see what is going on.

How is Shadow doing on the new food, the Wellness wet food?

As Wendy says, there are more experienced members over on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum. On the other hand, it can be very busy over there and you need to decide if you are ready to follow the Tight Regulation protocol. It can be very fast paced and overwhelming but will get you very good advice there. There is also the option to use the SLGS or Start Low, Go Slow protocol. I think Shadow needs quicker dosing changes and do not think that is the best option.

The decision is up to you. Stay here on Feline Health for a bit longer or move to one of the insulin support group forums. Either way, you will get good advice. If we do not know an answer to your question, we will post over in TR to ask for someone to come over here to Feline Health to advise you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top