Shadow- Hypo again- Hypo resolved... now bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Had a thread going this morning... AMPS 93- waited 30 minutes- 6:30 BG was 94- fed and gave decreased dose of 2units (was at 2.5)

+2- 66, +3 42- gave 1 can with karo. What is going on?

Our first dose of 2.5 was 6/8 AM dose- husband forgot and gave 2.75 units 6/8 PM dose. This morning I gave just the 2.5 units because he was lower than normal. What dose will I give tonight? Going to get ready to go test him again....
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Here's the link to your First Condo Today.

Easy now. You don't really want to give a whole can of food at once, because you may need him to eat again.
Did he eat the whole can?
I would test again 20 minutes after he ate.
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Remember to breathe. :-D It looks like Shadow is needing less insulin, so that's good. Test again in 30 mins. If he's below 50, give two drops of karo and 1 teaspoon of food. Don't overfeed him as you want him to keep eating. Does he have a good appetite?
Liz
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Yes, I gave him the whole can and he ate it. He would eat 100 cans if I let him. I'm not all that worried about getting him to eat- although now that I said that....

Going to test now
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

BG-77. Will test again in 30?

Ideas on what I should do about dosing tonight, or wait and see where he's at?

Thanks
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

BG-77. Will test again in 30?

Ideas on what I should do about dosing tonight, or wait and see where he's at?

Thanks
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

I just added the link to your first condo today, to my first response in this condo, so we can keep everything together as much as possible. In the future, try to do one condo per day and just Edit the first Subject Line as you go throughout the day. That way people trying to help you, don't have to not know what went on earlier today, or have to go searching for any other condos.

Dosing Question: Most of these numbers today are from the depot built up from that 2.75 dose. Insulin depots take a while to drain, just like they take a while to fill up. I would think the new reduced dose of 2.50 would be okay for tonight, but let's see what others have to say.

And yes, test again in 30 minutes. Do you have any medium carb food, like Fancy Feast Medleys or the Fancy Feast Roasted flavors?
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

First, do no over-feed. When you're managing the curve, you want to give food in the amount of 1 - 2 teaspoons of HC. Feeding an entire can of food can cause Shadow to throw up. In addition, if he eats that amount now, he may not want to eat in 30 min. So, dole out the food in small quantities. You can always add more (a drop or two) of Karo or other HC.

For the future, please keep one condo only. You can change the subject line to reflect that you need help. That way, everything is in one place.

Is Shadow demonstrating symptoms of hypoglycemia? If not this is simply low numbers.

I agree with Dyana regarding dose.

You may want to bookmark or print out these instructions on how to manage low numbers.
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

He's rising from the Karo/food combination. Hopefully, someone will answer your dosing question for you. Nice job! Hope you're having a good day, and welcome to the board. :-D
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Have you gotten any more tests, yet?
The karo can wear off pretty quickly, so please keep up the good work and keep testing.
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

I would probably just give some low carb food when I see a number in the 60s on J.D.

Here's what I do:
50s or higher = low carb
40 to 50 = maybe add some med carb, depending upon how fast he's diving, and how soon after the shot was given.
under 40 = a bit of HC
under 30 = karo with HC

That's just me, and I'm sure you're worried about the lower numbers that you're not used to seeing. 60 is a nice normal pancreas healing number, that you want to see.

You're doing a good job. Test again in 30?
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Yes, will be testing in 15 minutes. The reason I did karo is because my husband is home right now and he's not always as diligent in testing and watching for symptoms.
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Gabby doesn't tolerate the gluten that's in gravy-type HC food. I give her a teaspoon or two of LC and 2 - 3 drops of Karo. When you are seeing in posts about a teaspoon or two of HC, it's referring to gravy or other HC food -- not Karo (or honey, maple syrup, etc.) In other words, 2 tsp. of Karo is a lot.
 
Re: Shadow- Hypo again!

Hi Jan

You're doing great! While numbers like this tend to worry all new members at first, soon you will be comfortable with them. It's a learning curve and we are here to help.

I posted some info on Tashie's condo about feeding lower numbers and maybe it would also help you.

The other day, we fed Tashie HC at 54 @+3.5. Usually we say, feed LC unless they are below 50. But....there are exceptions:

  • a fast drop to a lower number
  • a new kitty with little data and a nervous caregiver
  • a low number really early in the cycle

Take a look at Gabbys SS. Gabby generally has an early nadir and likes to drop early and fast. You can see how Sienne uses HC with her to slow her down.

The goal in a newly dx cat (dx less than one year) is NOT to prevent a reduction; it's to keep them safe and try to minimize the bounce that comes with a really fast and steep drop.

If you get a 54 midcycle from a glide down, you would use LC food. You will also learn what Tashie reacts to best. For instance, I used alot of HC gravy, food, karo when Gracie was newly dx and on Lantus. But then I figured out she responded really great to 10% food. I never use HC or gravy and restrict the use of karo to really really low numbers (20s/low 30s) when I want her up fast. ECID...learn what Tashie responds to and use what she needs.

If you get a 54 late cycle, you might not need to feed OR a tiny bit (1 tsp) of LC might work beautifully. So consider:

1. How fast is she dropping
2. Where is the number in the cycle
3. How does she respond

And lastly....feed the 40s. If you get a 40s number at PS, do not feed, retest in 15 mins. If she is not above 50, feed 1 small tsp LC and retest in 20 mins. In the meantime, you will be posting and asking for help :-D

I think managing any curve with food becomes an art. The tricky part is learning how your cat responds to food. As you feel more comfortable with low numbers, then you can develop a "chart" like Dyana has. She knows JD well and knows when to feed what. We also have figured out the same with Gracie and Sienne has with Gabby. It just takes time and patience to see how they respond and to learn what they need.

Hang in there....we are here to help you and it's great that Shadow is responding to insulin and giving you some lovely green numbers.

oh....and when his number is up and you have a second and don't mind, could you please update your subject line so people don't get worried he is having a hypo. Thank you!

Hopefully what you fed will bring him up a bit and let him have a nice, flat green cycle.
 
Sorry the posts have been sporadic the last few hours. I had to go out for a few errands. Husband was in charge. I mentioned that is why I had him feed and give Karo at the 60- I probably wouldn't have, but would have checked again in 20 minutes. My husband isn't as diligent and often "forgets" to test in the exact time frame...

So now we're +8 and 312. Tonight I'll plan on the 2.5units.

I'll remember to post only one "condo" in the future- sorry.

Marje- thanks for the info- I am learning Shadow. We'll get better at the whole thing =)

Sienne- Thanks for pointing out the issue of vomiting if I feed too much- didn't think of that, just fed. Will remember this in the future.

Thanks everyone.
 
No worries, Jan. The knee jerk response is to do something to raise the numbers. This process really does get easier.

One additional housekeeping detail. When someone is negotiating low numbers, members here keep an eye on the condo to make sure you have the information and support your need to keep your kitty safe and you sane. It helps us enormously if you can keep your subject line up to day with your current test data. It saves us having to open your condo and sort through all of the posts, Instead, we can see what's going on with the numbers from the subject line.
 
Thanks for checking in Wendy. I think we're doing really good. Shadow is acting great- we're at 2.5units. Bounced a little after his low the other day, but not as bad as I've seen.

Just updated another post that I had made a week or so ago. The vet really wants to go to once a day dosing... I think we should stay where we're at and just keep chipping away at the dose as needed. The other part of me thinks maybe I should just do it to please her- she wants to try it for a week. So, I do it for a week and then go back to what we're currently doing. I feel bad that I keep telling her no to her plans...

Any advice?
 
Shadowboy said:
Thanks for checking in Wendy. I think we're doing really good. Shadow is acting great- we're at 2.5units. Bounced a little after his low the other day, but not as bad as I've seen.

Just updated another post that I had made a week or so ago. The vet really wants to go to once a day dosing... I think we should stay where we're at and just keep chipping away at the dose as needed. The other part of me thinks maybe I should just do it to please her- she wants to try it for a week. So, I do it for a week and then go back to what we're currently doing. I feel bad that I keep telling her no to her plans...

Any advice?
Lantus is best dosed twice a day, per feline diabetes expert Dr Rand of the University of Queensland. The tight regulation protocol is based on her work with the Diabetes Katzen online forum.
It does not last 24 hours in the cat due to the cat's faster metabolism than the dog.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top