Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12 386

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadow12345

Member Since 2014
Good morning

Shadow AMPS 401,
+ 2 313
+2.5 256
+3 230
+3.5 234
+7 172
+ 12 386

PMPS 386
+376
+4.5 273
+6 201
+ 7 149
+ 8.5 106
+9 106
+9.5 99
+10 83
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313

Postby julie & punkin (ga) » Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:16 pm

as Chris said, the important thing on the dose is to be consistent from one time to the next. some people draw up a sample dose in a used syringe using colored water (or tea, coffee, flat colored pop) and keep it on the counter to compare it to.

i think it was a good call to increase the dose. not sure what time you shoot in the morning before you leave, but if you have time to get a +2 before you go to work, that can be very helpful. generally in an "active" lantus cycle the +2 is around the same as the preshot. From the New to the Group yellow starred sticky:

Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.


Conversely, if Shadow's +2 is significantly lower than the preshot that can mean that she's headed for a significantly lower dip. Your best tool for handling the cycle is food (carbs) . So when you leave tomorrow, leave out plenty of food and water available to her, even if it's more than she'd normally eat. Many cats will go eat if they feel their blood sugar dropping.

Shadow's numbers were 91 lower than here AMPS, I am a littler nervous. I am waiting about 30 minutes to test her again before I have to leave for work. I have prepared food and H20 to leave out. She has been asking for food very often this A.M so I think she is trying to bring her levels back up on her own UpDATE: + 2.5 She dropped to 256 another 57 in 30 minutes. I am worried now because I have to leave for work, however she is showing me that she is going to eat when she feels low. She's been eating alot!
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313

Good luck with the dosecrease, and I hope that it helps to bring down those #s for you very soon. At least she's coming down nicely so far. Excellent!!!! Try and have a good day, and please stay safe and warm. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313

That is a pretty good drop - great idea to test again to see where she might going. Leaving food out is perfect. You're right - she's probably feeling the drop and is trying to slow it. They are smart that way!

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313

Good plan re. leaving food out.

You may want to think about a timed feeder. That way, you'll be sure there's food out when you're not home. I have a 2-compartment feeder that's pretty low tech. There are 5 compartment ones that are more elaborate.
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313

Sienne and Gabby said:
Good plan re. leaving food out.

You may want to think about a timed feeder. That way, you'll be sure there's food out when you're not home. I have a 2-compartment feeder that's pretty low tech. There are 5 compartment ones that are more elaborate.

will look into that today. thanks Any suggestions for low price places to look?
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234

Good morning Andrea!

Just a reminder to post the link to the prior days condo in your current one.

Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113489

As for low price places to look for an auto feeder, I'm afraid you're pretty much stuck with wherever you can find them, like PetsMart or PetCo..Unfortunately, I've never seen one at WalMart. You could also shop online, but you'd have to wait for delivery.

The other option is making foodsicles....mix a can of food with water, put into an ice cube tray and freeze. Most cats won't eat what they can't smell, so when you first put them out, they shouldn't want them, but as they melt, they smell like food again so it's a way to leave food out for "Later"

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172

any help for tonight's plan would be appreciated! with her .35 increase shadows condo today has been pretty low for her

thank you
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172

Amazon was the best price I found. I'd just search on-line. You never know who's running a sale.

Nice looking +7, BTW.
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172

any help for tonight's plan would be appreciated! with her .35 increase shadows condo today has been pretty low for her

I think you meant .25 but that's ok....This would be a good time for you to get a +11 or +11.5....then when it's PMPS time and you test, you'll know for sure if she's going up or coming down. It also gives us time to help you if it's a lower number so we can be here to guide you.

If it's under 150 at PMPS time but going UP from +11/11.5, I'd go ahead and shoot the 1.25 again and then get a +1 and +2...as well as asking for help so we can make sure someone is here to watch you tonight.

If it's under 150 at PMPS time but going down from +11/11.5, then STALL, don't feed, and post to ask for help. Edit your subject line in the first post of today and add something like "Stalling, need help"
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172

NICE! those blues and yellows on shadow's spreadsheet are a welcome sight! :mrgreen:

1.25u is shadow's new dose. tonight's plan is pretty much the same plan for the next few days unless shadow tells us differently by dropping lower than 50 OR throwing a preshot number you're not comfortable shooting... for any number of reasons.

we shoot preshot numbers 50 and over in this group (50 is our NO shoot number), but if the preshot number is less than 150 please post and ask for help until you have data to support shooting preshot numbers over 50 on your own. until then others will guide you based on your availability to monitor and whether you have the necessary supplies on hand to steer the curve (high carb food, syrup/karo, and plenty of test strips).

i'm a huge fan of getting +10s or +11s when a caregiver is unsure/nervous about shooting. the +10s or +11s will give you a good idea of where kitty is coming from at shot time. they'll not only tell you if kitty's on the rise or descent, but they'll give you a rough idea of the rate of the rise or descent. they'll also show you if kitty is one of those who will often dip at the end of a cycle... a dip which is never lower than that cycle's nadir. lantus is famous for that late cycle dip. once you know if your cat experiences this dip at the end of the cycle... you'll know you won't be shooting a dropping number and can ignore it.


if shadow is true to form tonight... she'll begin to bounce before this cycle is over and you won't have any questions about shooting 1.25u again tonight. i think it'll probably take a little more juice to get her flattened out, but that'll come in due time. let's give the insulin she's getting more time to work before we start thinking about more juice. :mrgreen:

you're both doing great!!!
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172

Woot! Woot!
Shadow is already singing some blues!
jazz_cat_by_if_not_for_gravity-d5p80qv.jpg
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

Shadow was 386 at +12

We were late getting home :sad:

I think safe to say to shoot the 1.25

Just wanted advice,I think I know this is normal activity while we are trying to regulate. I just have seeingher numbers all over the place!!!!
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

Yes, if Shadow's PMPS is 386, shoot the same 1.25 tonight

Get a +2 if you can. It can tell you a lot about where Shadow's blood glucose will be going overnight
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

Chris & China said:
Yes, if Shadow's PMPS is 386, shoot the same 1.25 tonight

Get a +2 if you can. It can tell you a lot about where Shadow's blood glucose will be going overnight


okay. will get a +2 and a few throught the night as I won't be able to sleep!! ahhh
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

I have a feeling I'll be here with you!! I shot a 51 tonight! (yes, you'll get to the point where you'll shoot low numbers too)

We often have at least 1 or 2 people having PJ parties....I'll bring the ~O) ~O)
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

Great to see those blue numbers in Shadow's cycle today. She's responding nicely!

We had a 5 compartment feeder and I really liked it - http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Electronic-Pet-Feeder/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 I picked it up at our local Petco. There were times when i had to go to work and I put food in all 4 of the covered compartments if punkin looked like he was headed to low numbers, and set it to begin opening at +2 and open every 1/2 hr to feed him. If we were worried about him, either my husband or i came home during the day to check him and sometimes even refill the feeder and reset more times.

whatever feeder you get, you want to be able to set the times that you want. I don't remember if it was Suzanne (Cobb) or Rebekah (Ole) that got one that didn't let her set times that she wanted.
 
Re: Shadow AMPS 401 +2 313 +2.5 256 + 3 230 +234 +7 172 + 12

Thanks for stopping by our condo today;Julie & Pumkin, Chris & China, Rhiannon & Shadow, Jill & Ale, Sandy & Black Kitty, Sienne & Gabby, Amy & TrixieCat, Angela & Blackie & 3 Others.


Shadow and I have been up for a bit. Her numbers are staying around 106, cautious to see where they go from here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top