Re: Shadow AMPS 401 + 2 313
Postby julie & punkin (ga) » Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:16 pm
as Chris said, the important thing on the dose is to be consistent from one time to the next. some people draw up a sample dose in a used syringe using colored water (or tea, coffee, flat colored pop) and keep it on the counter to compare it to.
i think it was a good call to increase the dose. not sure what time you shoot in the morning before you leave, but if you have time to get a +2 before you go to work, that can be very helpful. generally in an "active" lantus cycle the +2 is around the same as the preshot. From the New to the Group yellow starred sticky:
Example of an active Lantus cycle:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
Conversely, if Shadow's +2 is significantly lower than the preshot that can mean that she's headed for a significantly lower dip. Your best tool for handling the cycle is food (carbs) . So when you leave tomorrow, leave out plenty of food and water available to her, even if it's more than she'd normally eat. Many cats will go eat if they feel their blood sugar dropping.
Shadow's numbers were 91 lower than here AMPS, I am a littler nervous. I am waiting about 30 minutes to test her again before I have to leave for work. I have prepared food and H20 to leave out. She has been asking for food very often this A.M so I think she is trying to bring her levels back up on her own UpDATE: + 2.5 She dropped to 256 another 57 in 30 minutes. I am worried now because I have to leave for work, however she is showing me that she is going to eat when she feels low. She's been eating alot!