Shadow AMPS 365 5.5 units (first time) AM+6 212 +8 249 PMPS 238

Christina Marie

Member Since 2020
I did a curve on Shadow yesterday at 5.25 units (Lantus) and he was purple all the way through. This morning for his AM, I went ahead and moved him to 5.5 units and his +6 had dropped by 153 points from his AMPS. Does it look safe to go ahead and give him his 5.5 units for the PM and just keep an eye on his numbers, or is the rapid decrease in his numbers a sign I should hold back a little?
 
Between your +6 to PMPS Shadow has been pretty flat. I don't know if he will go lower or not. There is wiggle room in his numbers, though.
Do you have enough test strips, some MC/HC food, karo or honey just in case Shadow was to dive lower? Are you going to be around to test?
 
Between your +6 to PMPS Shadow has been pretty flat. I don't know if he will go lower or not. There is wiggle room in his numbers, though.
Do you have enough test strips, some MC/HC food, karo or honey just in case Shadow was to dive lower? Are you going to be around to test?

Yes I will be available to test and keep watch. I have gravy lovers on hand and a bottle of honey as well. This is exciting, but nerve wrecking at the same time! We've never seen numbers this low for this long. I also put in a call to his vet and she seemed surprised, but happy to hear such a small dose change affected him. She advised to go ahead with the new dose and to also keep an eye on his numbers today and have everything on hand in case of a hypo event
 
I just saw that you shot 5.5u on your SS. That's great!!!
You could start by getting a +1 and a +2 to see whether it looks like Shadow is going to continue going down. Is Shadow okay with the BG testing?
Post your numbers here if you need help. If Shadow does come down to lower numbers, you'll want to keep him surfing there as long as possible. We can help with that.
I see Shadow was dx'd in April, but your SS only has recent data. So apologies if you already know how to handle lower numbers!
 
What jumps out for me on your SS is that doses that look to be ineffective are being held for longer than necessary. How are you deciding on doses for Shadow? It's the first time I've seen one of your threads and looked at your SS. I mean no offense.:) I'm merely curious.
 
What jumps out for me on your SS is that doses that look to be ineffective are being held for longer than necessary. How are you deciding on doses for Shadow? It's the first time I've seen one of your threads and looked at your SS. I mean no offense.:) I'm merely curious.

I just started home testing a couple of months ago. Shadow and I are still working out the kinks, but it's going okay. He's thankfully very patient with me. Before then, we had been going to the vet and having his numbers tested there and getting new dosing every 2-3 weeks. When I told the vet that I was planning to start home testing, she said that was great and hasn't scheduled any other appointments for numbers or dosing since. That's about the time my spread sheet starts. She didn't give us any formal advice on how to proceed, so I've just been going off of the board here and the Feline Diabetes Facebook page for advice. I was scared to change his doses myself and I guess for a while I was waiting for the all clear to move him up again, so I'm working on that aspect. His vet did suggest that since I'm changing his dosages, she'd prefer to see me hold the dose for 7-10 days before I decide to move him up again
 
It's very positive that your vet supports home testing. It can be challenging at first but it gets easier the more you do it. The blood will start to flow more easily too with more pokes: new capillaries will grow. Let us know if you need any tips to make home testing easier. Here is some info on that: home testing tips and tricks.

I know it's a huge leap of faith to change doses yourself with advice from the board. It took me a couple of months of struggling on my own before I could bring myself to stick with the board. The people here helped me get Butters tightly regulated two months after that, though! Check out her spreadsheet. Just ignore her numbers from mid-October onwards.:rolleyes: She got a pretty bad flare of pancreatitis that is still in play.
Consider choosing a dosing method: SLGS or TR, and letting the board help you try to regulate Shadow. I wish I had done it sooner with Butters.

Maybe start by trying SLGS, because you have to hold the dose for 7 days, then do a curve and adjust the dose. Just a thought for you. It seems like it would fit within what your vet wants you to do.
 
Hello and welcome from me too.

When a kitty gets over 5 units total dose, we move to 0.5 unit increases, instead of 0.25 units at a time. If you think about the increase as a percent of overall dose, the 0.25 unit increases at this point are hardly any change. If you were seeing greens you might do lower increases, but I'd go straight to 6 units on your next dose increase.

Another thing to consider, Shadow has been in higher numbers for quite a while, his body will have gotten used to them. Sometimes it takes faster increases to break his body out of his affection for so much pink. My girl was one who liked the higher doses/higher numbers too at the beginning. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top