Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462 +4 341 +5 367 +6 458

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536

don't beat yourself up, brad. it takes a while to get into the routine.

we're talking about whether shadow should have another increase tonight if he doesn't show a little action today. check back here before you shoot tonight, ok?
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536

Hey Brad, It really does get easier. Shadow will be in better numbers soon. It takes a while for his body to get adjusted.
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536

We have all slept through alarms, it's okay. I get used to my cell phone alarms, and often wake up at 5:00am to alarms going off that were set to go off at 2:00am :roll: It's difficult to re-set our lives, but we find a way.
I have a separate plug in alarm that is across the room (so I actually have to get up to turn it off), that I have set to go off for AMPS and PMPS times (along with cell phone alarms for set for those times as well). The two alarms together usually save me at shot times.

I also have a system, where in the morning at AMPS, I take out 2 syringes and put them on the counter. I use the one for his morning shot, and then lay it next to the unused syringe. That way if I go back to sleep right away, and then wake up and can't remember or wonder if I gave his morning shot or not, I can go look at the counter, and if there are two syringes laid out (one used of course), then I gave the shot. At night, I use the second syringe and then throw them both away.
That way, if for some reason, I can't remember whether I gave his PMPS shot, all I have to do is check the counter, and if the syringes are gone, then I know I gave the shot. It's an older person's trick. You probably don't need that :lol:

Hopefully, the new dose will help his numbers, today. We did an increase last night, and I too am hoping for some better numbers from my cat, today.

If he is still in high numbers tonight, and you are able to monitor him, then you will probably be able to shoot early, at +11.
Please test at +10 and/or +11, post that number in your first Subject Line for this condo, and add something like "Shoot now?" to it, and we'll let you know if it is safe to give the shot early, tonight. We don't want to get in the habit of this, as Lantus and Levemir does work best on a steady 12 hour schedule, but there are always exceptions.

Hope you enjoy your day, and Shadow decides that he wants to show you those 200s :-D
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303

@julie

Yeah I know it does but I just feel bad when I do not keep up with his diabetes correctly.

I will check back before shot time for sure and see what you all have to say. Thank you!

@Ella

Thanks for the confidence. I am glad he seems to be feeling a little better since switching him to levemir and his box isn't quite as bad either so I think something is working, even if the numbers havent dropped too much. But I will definitely hang in here!

@Dyana

Yeah but this is two times now in a week! It's just dissapointing is all. I just need to figure something out -- I guess putting the alarm all the way across the room will work. I do have my phone set with an alarm and it makes me do math problems to dismiss the alarm.. Apparently I can do math in my sleep becuase I certainly do not remember turning it off lol.

Yeah i'm not quite old enough to use that trick.. yet. But perhaps later on in life if I happen to be blessed with another diabetic cat I will remember it!

It seems the new dose did a little something today. Got his lowest number so far! 303. Not exactly the 200s I was hoping for, but it will have to do. I will most likely test him at +10 and +11 I should be home.

Hope you all have a wonderful day! Thanks for all the help and support.
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303

Actually, you might want to try to get some more tests in today, this cycle. Often, Levemir will have the onset at +4 and the nadir around +8, so you may just get your wish and see some of those yellows at +5 or +6. Fingers crosses and all.
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303

Brad:

I'm with Julie and Dyana that he needs more insulin. So let's see how this cycle plays out as they suggested and then we can decide if he needs a .25u or .5u increase. One of
us will get back to you before your shot time tonight, ok?

So far, I like what I'm seeing today!!! Almost yellow....go Shadow!
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: brad...
I have four alarms set in different locations...
and STILL slept thru a shot time or two!

celi & binks

cat_late_work.jpg
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303

Brad...we'd like you to take Shadows dose up by .25u tonight so his new dose will be 1.75u. Ok? Please post a PMPS and then you're ok till +4. Thanks Brad....you're doing really good with your kitty!
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303 +10.5 443 DOSE SUGGESTION?

Hey guys,

I was unable to get more shots today so I'm sorry for that... Busy day. Weekends are always hectic for me.

I tested him at +10.5 and he was 443. Dose suggestion anyone? Currently at 1.5u.
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303 +10.5 443 DOSE SUGGESTION?

just want to make sure you saw marjorie's post - you guys posted at the same time. go ahead and increase by .25u to 1.75u for tonight's dose. then we'll have you stay with this at least 4 cycles, keeping track of the mid-cycle tests just like you've been doing. hopefully the entire range will drop a little bit.

:-D
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 AMPS 536 +4 303 +10.5 443 DOSE SUGGESTION?

hmm How do i measure .75?

I ordered more needles and i thought they said 1/2 unit increments but they weren't.. Can anyone link me to some needles online that I can purchase that are in increments of .5?

THanks!

Edit: PMPS 462
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462

Brad...

If you have a Walmart nearby, you can get Relion syringes with half unit markings. Those of us who use other syringes like Monojects, order from American Diabetes Wholesale: ADW. The Monojects are just an example but I believe they also carry BD which you can search on their website.

I'll have to find the .75u picture and send it to you....I can't access it from my iPad but I'll get it to you.
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462

Here's the .75u; you are shooting 1.75u but this should help (just click on the image to enlarge it):
 

Attachments

  • 3quartersunit.jpg
    3quartersunit.jpg
    5.4 KB · Views: 338
Re: Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462

hi brad. don't beat yourself up over late shots. we all do the best we can do. i've been dancing this dance with alex on and off for several years now. if i can shoot within a half hour on either side of shot time i feel like i'm doing good. :mrgreen:

marje mentioned ReliOn Insulin Syringes from WalMart. here's the info if you have a wallyworld close by:

Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
Gauge: 31
Length: 8 mm (5/16")
Number on the box: 81131-0311-78

they come 100 to a box and they're around $13.00.

good luck with the increased dose!
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462

@marjorie

I'll have to find the .75u picture and send it to you....I can't access it from my iPad but I'll get it to you.[/quote]
I went to our local walmart and they told me they only had one type of u100 and they were not .5's. i ended up buying 10 and they were a quarter a piece. and the needle looks a lot larger than the Humulin-N u100 ones that I got from the vet. I will order some from the american diabetes website -- thank you!

Thanks for the image too.

@ Jill

I try not to but it's just frustrating! My work schedule always has me messed up and I work odd hours sometimes pulling 20+ hour days so it's just tough to stay on schedules sometimes.

Thanks for the syringe info but like I said the walmart here only had one type and they weren't exactly what I was looking for. I will order some from the american diabetes website though.

Thanks for all the help everyone! I will be testing shadow in about 13 mins for his +4 as I gave it to him 30 mins late.

I also picked up another 100 test strips today since I'm almost already out of the 50 pack! So that should last another week or 2. Picked him up some more fancy feast as well, different flavors this time and I was sure to check the carb content on the chart.

edit: tested and he was 341
 
Re: Shadow 3/24 PMPS 462 +4 341 +5 367

Just to let you know, when I first went to WalMart to get syringes they said they didn't have the syringes with half unit marks, and I said "yes you do". They went and checked and they did. Here is the link to the ReliOn syringes you can get from WalMart WalMart ReliOn syringes. I used to have to call them a day in advance and they would order them and have them in stock for me to pick up the next day.

You ask for what Jill said:
Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
Gauge: 31
Length: 8 mm (5/16")
Number on the box: 81131-0311-78

Good luck with the dose crease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top