Shadow 2/28 AMPS 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadow12345

Member Since 2014
Good Evening!!!

Yesterdays Condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114567

AMPS 345

PMPS 409

Shadow is very hungry today. She ate all her food this morning, and I tried a foodsicles. She loved them! Shadow's food dispenser should be in this weekend! Excited to try it! I'll be sure to get some tests in tonight!

Have a good night!!!

Question.... I started Shadow on Zobaline. Over the past 5 days, she got it 4 times. She seems to be very very very hungry lately. I don't know if it is due to the Zobaline, her numbers being a level lower, or just a little phase. I am nervous to continue the zobaline today. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you!! :?: :?: :?:
 
Hi Andrea,

I think Shadow needs a bit more insulin. Looks like that fat 1.0 isn't going to get her into green numbers, so it's time! Looks like this dose is only getting her into 200's most of the time for a nadir. our goal is nadirs under 100.

I'd go on back to the 1.25u. it's common to need to go up and down in the dose, so don't be discouraged by that.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

great news that she'll eat the foodsicles! that's so nice to have that option. now the question is, will she let them thaw first or does she eat them frozen!? :lol:
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
Hi Andrea,

I think Shadow needs a bit more insulin. Looks like that fat 1.0 isn't going to get her into green numbers, so it's time! Looks like this dose is only getting her into 200's most of the time for a nadir. our goal is nadirs under 100.

I'd go on back to the 1.25u. it's common to need to go up and down in the dose, so don't be discouraged by that.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

Hello!! Thanks for stopping by! Okay I will increase the dosage tomorrow! I always get the amount of days confused! Thanks for the help

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

great news that she'll eat the foodsicles! that's so nice to have that option. now the question is, will she let them thaw first or does she eat them frozen!? :lol:
 
[quote="]

great news that she'll eat the foodsicles! that's so nice to have that option. now the question is, will she let them thaw first or does she eat them frozen!? :lol:[/quote][/quote]


GOOD question!!!!! I will investigate this!! :razz:
 
Well, I don't know if it helps you any, but Chyna loooooves the frozen catsicles and if hungry (or bored?) will lick them to death frozen or no :lol: . Thank god for autofeeders ;-) I know for methylcobalamin they pee out any excess the body doesn't use, as per several vets I talked to :-D . Vitamin B is apparently an appetite stimulant from an article I read but unregulated cats are hungrier too. Hope you are having a nice night!
 
the zobaline can really improve things if shadow's having neuropathy or leg weakness. i wouldn't stop it. i gave it to punkin, although he didn't have neuropathy he did stop jumping up. it didn't make much difference that i could tell, but it didn't hurt anything. he was always hungry because of the acromegaly, so i wouldn't have noticed if it affected his appetite.

i think the good outweighs any potential increase in appetite.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top