Shaak, can someone reassure me 85 at 2.5 is okay

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I am about, not sure how much help I will be though! toughie
one question how is Shaak, is she now fully recovered not on any antibiotic?
Is she eating?
 
she is not on any antibiotic, she just ate about half her food,( I have begun to learn she grazes for about an hour at her morning meal )and she just started zobaline 2 days ago.
 
looks like she has eaten, so I would skip. You are likely to get a higher than usual pmps but stick with the 0.5/0.25 dose. This is very encouraging, Cathie, but I know it messes up things. We'll get her on track.

Next time, give her a tiny snack and retest in 20 minutes. She will be unhappy, but if she rises enough, you can shoot.

Usually with N, you could shoot later and the insulin would be gone by +8, but that has not been her pattern.
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
since I just typed this out can you evaluate my logic?

Here is what I'm looking at:

On 2/20 you shot 0.25 into AMPS of 211
on 2/22 you shot 0.3 into a PMPS of 212

Those PS readings are within 25 points of todays

She stayed over 170 on those cycles
 
My thought is that, if she was reacting in a normal pattern to N, we would see a fast drop, then a fast rise and the insulin would be done by +8. But she doesn't react that way. Her cycles are surfs and the insulin lasts over 12 hours. So my gut says her pancreas is helping. If that is true (who knows?) it makes things very unpredictable.

Cathie, you could definitely give 0.25 minus a drop or two. But I would be prepared to monitor and be ready to bring her up if needed. I tend to give conservative advice; it's not my cat. But she is your cat, Cathie. You hold the syringe. You know how to deal with low numbers.

One way you could test the pancreas theory is to test, feed and then test 30 minutes later. If the number falls rather than rises, her pancreas is likely helping out.
 
My thought is that, if she was reacting in a normal pattern to N, we would see a fast drop, then a fast rise and the insulin would be done by +8. But she doesn't react that way. Her cycles are surfs and the insulin lasts over 12 hours. So my gut says her pancreas is helping. If that is true (who knows?) it makes things very unpredictable.
thanks Sue, that makes sense.
 
It's been 30 minutes, I think I will test again right now and see where we are, however, based on what my day looks like I don't feel comfortable shooting, I just don't want to see a fall I can't get in front of.
 
I think for new kitties the no-shoot is 200 and it's not advised to shoot under 150 at all
Not really correct. You shoot under 150, Andy ;) She's got plenty of data to shoot under 150. It's more about availability and ability to test at this point for Cathie.

her normal drop is anywhere from 50-75 each +1 and +2 so normally she would drop from 185 to 85-60 at +2 if that is how it follows the usual curve.
excellent that you know her patterns!

"normal" drop is dependent on the dose given for that cycle, no?
"No" is the correct answer! For example, at the same dose, absorption can vary by up to 50% so you don't always get the same response with the same dose.

One way you could test the pancreas theory is to test, feed and then test 30 minutes later. If the number falls rather than rises, her pancreas is likely helping out.
It actually takes longer than that...at least 3 hours. So, if you didn't give insulin, you would test and feed and then test 3-4 hours later and if the number was lower, then the pancreas is likely working.


@Marje and Gracie @Sue and Oliver (GA)been an unexciting day, however Shaak's PMPS was no worse for having not had a shot. I just gave her the 0.5 u.
Not bad at all!!!

@Sue and Oliver (GA) I'm thinking if Cathie has a day when she can be at home to test, that it might be a good idea to try 0.5u + 1 or 2 drops to see if we can get her into green on just a wee bit more insulin. If Cathie does it during the day when she can be home, it would be a good test to see if just a little more insulin will get her into some healing numbers.

What would you think about that, Cathie?
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) I'm thinking if Cathie has a day when she can be at home to test, that it might be a good idea to try 0.5u + 1 or 2 drops to see if we can get her into green on just a wee bit more insulin. If Cathie does it during the day when she can be home, it would be a good test to see if just a little more insulin will get her into some healing numbers.

What would you think about that, Cathie?[/QUOTE]

yes, however, she is in the green now. Yay!
 
I just gave her some LC and then tested her right after, she was still licking bowl, she has gone up to 100. would the food do that that fast?

oh +3 100
If you fed and tested at the same time no.But if you fed and it's been a little while since yes it could be ECID as to how soon you would see a little food spike.
I 've just seen Marje has posted as I was writing
to get them to come down, just mention an increase!
Works every time with George (hoping he doesn't read this, anti jinx)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top