Shaak AMPS 398, Feb. 6, 2016

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it her usual food? Or have you tried something new? It is important for her to get the shot, even if later than usual.

This sounds ridiculous, but try feeding her in your hand. Sometimes that gets them started eating again.
 
Is it her usual food? Or have you tried something new? It is important for her to get the shot, even if later than usual.

This sounds ridiculous, but try feeding her in your hand. Sometimes that gets them started eating again.

I have done this many times, it really does work!
 
I am so sorry ya'll, Shaak ate a little later than normal and we gave her her shot.
+1 220
+2 192
+3 280
+4 290
+6 340

her first number seems to waver a bit, I think that might be because I am not accurate enough on what time I give her the shot after she eats each day. sometimes 1 hour, sometimes 45 minutes. I can't make the syringes early and leave them in the fridge can I? It just always takes me a different amount of time to draw up shot. Once the insulin has been rolled in my hands to mix and if I loaded it into the syringe and laid it in the fridge how long would I be able to use it until it was no good anymore ?

It has been another really hectic day. I really need to win the lottery so I can get my son his own car and insurance.
 
I believe you can predraw syringes of N insulin and I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong but I have predrawn Novolin R. You could do it so you have the next day's syringes drawn.

She's taking some big drops between AMPS and +1. Do you think she would also eat at AMPS? Maybe split the food so she eats half of her morning portion before AMPS and the other half at AMPS? I wonder if that would help the +1 not drop so much?
 
I could try that. So give her half of her food before she gets her AMPS and the other half after the AMPS. I think she will do that. I will do that tonight.
 
Yes, yu can pre-fill n and R insulin. For N you should store on their sides since you have to mix the insulin the the syringe before injecting
 
So I can fill the next days insulin the day before.

I will gently roll vial between my hands to mix insulin, then fill syringe, next, I will store on their side in the fridge. Do I need to roll the syringe between my hand to make sure it is mixed in the syringe or do I not have to worry about mixing it once it in the syringe? I was afraid of bubbles if I rolled the syringe in my hands.
 
Next question, on the Data compiled by Lisa A. Pierson, DVM - September 2012, it lists only seven flavors total of classic and only two of them are not seafood, Shaak does not like seafood, can she have some of the other flavors of the classic series (12 flavors) that are listed on the fancy feast website? Such as

tender liver and chicken feast
tender beef feast
tender beef and liver feast
or should she only eat the meat two listed in the data

chopped grilled feast
chicken feast

 
If they don't have carb looking in ingredients yes. And while not 100% accurate here is a calculator you can use to find carbs on any food. (there is an app as well but I don't have the link to that)

http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html
Please do not use this calculator. You absolutely cannot calculate any where near accurately the %calories from carbs from guaranteed analysis. I've looked at that calculator and there is no way I'd go that route.

Next question, on the Data compiled by Lisa A. Pierson, DVM - September 2012, it lists only seven flavors total of classic and only two of them are not seafood, Shaak does not like seafood, can she have some of the other flavors of the classic series (12 flavors) that are listed on the fancy feast website? Such as

I think you could look at Dr. Lisa's sheet and pick any FF food that has less than 10% calories from carbs. I mentioned the classic the other day because I knew positively that those were low carb but it looks like there might be some others like all the "Tender" feasts....none of which have any fish in the title (read the cans, though). I also don't know if those are pate or flaked.

So I can fill the next days insulin the day before.

I will gently roll vial between my hands to mix insulin, then fill syringe, next, I will store on their side in the fridge. Do I need to roll the syringe between my hand to make sure it is mixed in the syringe or do I not have to worry about mixing it once it in the syringe? I was afraid of bubbles if I rolled the syringe in my hands.

Yes you can pre fill the next day's syringes. I don't know if you have to roll the syringes right before you use them or not. She's getting such a low dose right now and I'd be afraid that in the rolling, I'd accidentally squeeze some out by inadvertently touching the plunger but I don't know for certain.

Also remember that as you might switch to lower carb dry food or canned food, you will have to watch her very carefully. Take a peek at Scooter's SS. Select the 2013-2014 tab at the top and then scroll down to 2/18/2014. That was Scooter's last kibble and it was all wet food from there. He was on Lantus but look how the change dropped his numbers very fast.
 
Last edited:
Please do not use this calculator. You absolutely cannot calculate any where near accurately the %calories from carbs from guaranteed analysis. I've looked at that calculator and there is no way I'd go that route.



I think you could look at Dr. Lisa's sheet and pick any FF food that has less than 10% calories from carbs. I mentioned the classic the other day because I knew positively that those were low carb but it looks like there might be some others like all the "Tender" feasts....none of which have any fish in the title (read the cans, though). I also don't know if those are pate or flaked.



Yes you can pre fill the next day's syringes. I don't know if you have to roll the syringes right before you use them or not. She's getting such a low dose right now and I'd be afraid that in the rolling, I'd accidentally squeeze some out by inadvertently touching the plunger but I don't know for certain.

Also remember that as you might switch to lower carb dry food or canned food, you will have to watch her very carefully. Take a peek at Scooter's SS. Select the 2013-2014 tab at the top and then scroll down to 2/18/2014. That was Scooter's last kibble and it was all wet food from there. He was on Lantus but look how the change dropped his numbers very fast.

I'm sorry I refuse to feed FF with shrimp in it. My cats prefer an off brand food. I use the calculator to check to see if it looks to be ok along with checking the ingredients. I'm not looking for perfect.
 
I'm sorry I refuse to feed FF with shrimp in it. My cats prefer an off brand food. I use the calculator to check to see if it looks to be ok along with checking the ingredients. I'm not looking for perfect.
No need to apologize...I never allow fish of any kind.

The better way to calculate the % calories from carbs for a food which is not on Dr. Lisa's charts is to call the company and get the "as-fed" typical nutrient analysis. IMHO, I would not feed my cats a food where the company did not willingly provide me with this info as well as full disclosure on what's in the food. Once you have the as-feds, just follow Janet's instructions in the second question of the linked document. She even has the calculator done which is super easy to use.

When my Gracie was dx, none of the foods I was feeding were on Janet and Binkys food charts so I called about five pet food companies and got the as-feds and calculated the % calories of the macronutrients as well as the mg P/100 kcal (which is also on Janet's calculator). It took a little bit of time...no more than half a day and yes I was working full time and just learning about FD.
 
Others have said that the Petsmarts generic that I feed will not release those numbers. Of course I could call myself and try but again I look at ingredients and use this calculator. It appears to be lower carb and if it's 5% vs. 2% it doesn't bother me that much. I I kind of hit back because at times I feel that the "list" is held as a holy grail and it bothers me.
 
Others have said that the Petsmarts generic that I feed will not release those numbers. Of course I could call myself and try but again I look at ingredients and use this calculator. It appears to be lower carb and if it's 5% vs. 2% it doesn't bother me that much. I I kind of hit back because at times I feel that the "list" is held as a holy grail and it bothers me.
I don't believe the list is a holy grail and I'm sure Dr. Lisa never intended it to be that way either. It just saves a lot of time and work especially for new members that have been feeding high carb food. And also, I can attest that when I had a CKD cat, her phosphorus tables were a Godsend.

A company that won't disclose those numbers or ingredients is hiding something from you. Many companies will say their food is made in the USA and it likely is but the minerals are sourced from China. And China was responsible for making products put in pet food that resulted in many, many pet deaths. Any company selling pet food should release to you the nutrient analysis as determined by scientific testing as well as all ingredients and the country of origin. You might want to check out Truth About Pet Food.

So very sorry, Cathie, to hijack Shaak's thread.
 
Tonight I had to have my son help me with filling the syringes ( we loaded one for now and two for tomorrow), I had filled the previous four myself, tonight I was shaking too much to do it, do not know why, even right now hard to type, just a little shaky, maybe too much coffee earlier. Shaak gets her shot in 5 minutes.
 
Tonight I had to have my son help me with filling the syringes ( we loaded one for now and two for tomorrow), I had filled the previous four myself, tonight I was shaking too much to do it, do not know why, even right now hard to type, just a little shaky, maybe too much coffee earlier. Shaak gets her shot in 5 minutes.
You've had a really stressful week and I'm sure you are tired.

Good to see no big drop. I think if you want to test at +3, that's fine. That will just tell us if feeding later might push her onset a bit or if feeding before her shot and preshot will slow the drop.

We should check with @Sue and Oliver (GA) as to when you should think about increasing the dose and how much. Especially now that you have tomorrow's dose already drawn ;);):p
 
Hmm. I think she needs more insulin unless you are going to try and change the food really soon.

But I'd like Sue to weigh in so just plan on shooting the 1u in the morning.

Night, Cathie!
 
okay, I think I would like to change her food before upping her insulin. I like the food idea much more, I was planning on starting it Wednesday but I can try to go ahead and manage it tomorrow, start mixing it in with her evening meal and see how it goes.
 
I think you should go ahead and try as soon as you have time to get food in the next day or so. I don't want to leave her at high numbers long...it can cause insulin resistance and then it takes even more insulin to get the numbers down.

It definitely can wait...I would never suggest you go out tonight unless it was an emergency and this is absolutely not.

She could be bouncing a bit but she's coming down and then popping right back up. If she is bouncing, we should see it clear tomorrow.

Have a restful night.
 
You too....
image.gif
image.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top