? Shaak, AMPS 293, Feb. 17, 2016

Status
Not open for further replies.
What are you thinking? The color is nice for a change from the pinks, but the number isn't a whole lot lower. The last two pmps shots were in a similar range and 0.25 didn't do much. If you increase, plan to catch an early number to see how things are going?
 
+5 179

I am going to miss +6 and +7 due to my Doctor appointment in Oro Valley, unfortunately I have four Dr.'s that I see monthly so I am going back and forth plenty between that and Braiden and Kirby's school.
 
Hi Cathie:)

I would think Shaak's ok while you go out this afternoon...looks like she's pretty flat right now.

I wouldn't fret about the vet too much!
 
What especially are you worried about at the vet? I agree with Andy. She looks good for a few hours.

As far as the vet - maybe practice what you plan to say. If challenged about your testing maybe something like "If I wasn't testing, I would have missed the very low preshot on 2/12. She could have died if I gave the usual dose. I feel like I can keep her safe testing." If challenged about the dose changes, tell him/her that you want to be conservative so she stays safe. It doesn't seem like a vet could argue with an owner who wants to keep her kitty safe. If you think they will argue about diet, maybe print off or refer them to Dr. Lisa's site (www.catinfo.org). She is a vet so they might respect her opinion.

My theory is that 90% of the stuff we worry about doesn't happen. Having some answers for questions that might come up should make you feel confident, and you may not need them. Remember, you love her more than anyone else and you are her best advocate.
 
I have a problem, our room mate is sick, he is 66 yrs old and has been feeling bad for a couple of days, he has fallen three times today and I am watching him like a hawk, I have suggested we go to the emergency room, he won't. If I can't rouse him or he passes out I will be calling an ambulance, however no matter what I will have to go to the hospital as we are the only people in his life he has in town. So, do I give Shaak a shot and risk not being able to be here on the off chance I have to go to the hosptial tonight or do I skip the shot?

@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Andy & Pimp
 
No, he can say he will watch her and he would mean well but he would never pay attention and there is no way he would ever take her BG. He is a great kid in most ways, but he has never been a kid for having pets, he lived with his dad for most of the last 18 years and they did not have pets, except for a dog that was around occasionally. I will give her the 0.25, I think that is what I should do, I just can't risk it.
 
For the record, Cathie, I don't think .25 is a BAD idea, and Sue has a much better understanding of your insulin than I do. Whatever you end up choosing is the right decision...the "gut feeling" is one of the best tools in FD. I'm kicking myself for not listening to mine last night.

Prayers for your roomie and :bighug: for you
 
I am praying he will be. At the moment he is afraid to move at all, so he is just lying vert still, I keep telling him we should just go ahead and go to ER now, he has full VA benefits so not like it would be any problem for him to be there. He is just very stubborn.
 
+4.25 205


so far all is still quiet, Room mate went to restroom and said he still felt bad but not bad enough to do anything about it. I sure hope he knows what he is doing. He is leaning to the right when he walks, which makes me think of stroke. I don't know though, I may just be making a big deal out of nothing.
 
might be a drop or just meter variance.

for a given BG the meter can measure 20% either way.

eg if Shaak's actual BG was 100 the same meter could read that as high as 120 or as low as 80. ( I hope I have got that and explained that right)

Although looking at her ss she does appear to be trending down with that 192, looking at this mornings cycle and 2/13 am cycle though you can see that she trends down until +5 then she starts to go up, nice to see that blue on the reduced dose:cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top