Sept 29 Felix AMBG=91 (n.s.), +13=111, +14=127, +18=249 (shot)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
Dagnabit, I made the mistake of breaking the Test-Feed-Shoot rule. Felix has been so high in the mornings, and it's so much easier to test him when he's eating, so I had his food dish there and the insulin drawn up while I was arranging his testing stuff ... so he started eating. I thought the first test of 92 might be wrong, so I repoked him and got another test the next minute, which was 90. Meanwhile, he was very hungry and still eating.

He was hungry earlier, too, and since it was a little more than two hours before his insulin time, I got up and gave him a little food and then went back to bed. So my other mistake was not grabbing a test then before stumbling back to bed. :banghead:

I haven't shot, and he already has two meals on board--the first EVO dry and the other EVO dry mixed with Friskies pate. Do I understand right that although the first meal was two full hours before shot time, it may've had more of an effect on his AMBG since it was dry food?

These are such beautiful numbers, but I don't feel confident shooting them. I have seen "shoot low to stay low," but I don't know if that ever applies to wonky lows. I would rather shoot midcycle and then adjust from there than not shoot at all until PM when he may be over 600--unless messing with his schedule would just make more of a mess. For example, would it make sense to shoot at +6 (depending on his bg) and then not again until tomorrow morning, so two 18-hour cycles? Or I could adjust back more gradually, although 15 minutes per cycle could have us off the regular schedule for quite a while.

I have to go out for awhile (picking up foster kittens who were spayed/neutered yesterday from the vet), but then I'll be around and can monitor Felix.
 
You can just shoot tonight at the preferred time. Or do 2 18 hour cycles. There are mixed opinions about doing 18 hour cycles. Hoping someone will chime in about that.

Since you did not shoot this morning, you know that Felix's number will go up. Give him and yourself a break from testing.
 
I am glad that you retested that 92. Good instincts, and lovely green. :D

Shoot low to stay low applies to numbers above 90 for people following SLGS. Especially since he was DKA, you want to get used to shooting lower and not skipping, especially if you can monitor. Try to get a ketone test in today.

You have shot in the 150's before, think about how low you would be comfortable shooting next. If you can't stall waiting for him to rise for some reason, like this morning, a reduced shot is an option.
 
I shot a 65 this morning. Was terrified but for some reason when angel is that low preshot she never goes lower after the shot (not saying this will be the same for your kitty) :)
 
You can just shoot tonight at the preferred time. Or do 2 18 hour cycles. There are mixed opinions about doing 18 hour cycles. Hoping someone will chime in about that.

Assuming he's continued to rise, I'm inclined to do the +6 (that is, + 18, in a little over an hour from now). I've tried to find more discussion of the reasons for the mixed opinions, but I'm not finding much about it. :bookworm:
 
Last edited:
You have shot in the 150's before, think about how low you would be comfortable shooting next. If you can't stall waiting for him to rise for some reason, like this morning, a reduced shot is an option.

:D

So there's not a difference between shooting a green that shows up where reds and blacks usually are versus shooting a green that shows up where blues and greens usually are? I would like to shoot that low but wasn't sure I ought to yet while he's so unpredictable to me. Regarding doing a reduced shot--while researching this today, I learned what BCS means! :bookworm:
 
I shot a 65 this morning. Was terrified but for some reason when angel is that low preshot she never goes lower after the shot (not saying this will be the same for your kitty) :)
Wow, good for you! And you were right about Angel--it didn't send her heading further down. That's the kind of thing I need to learn about Felix, and I won't learn until I try it.
 
So there's not a difference between shooting a green that shows up where reds and blacks usually are versus shooting a green that shows up where blues and greens usually are? I would like to shoot that low but wasn't sure I ought to yet while he's so unpredictable to me.
We have a saying here - shoot low to stay low. Normally the cycle where you shoot low is very flat. For example, I loved giving Neko insulin in the 80's (I followed TR) cause it usually meant she wouldn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. Whereas if she started really high, it was a guessing game what could happen. However, it is scary shooting your first green. Which is why one option is to slowly shoot lower and lower, and gain confidence and data about what happens when you do.
 
That's good to know about the cycle likely to be flat after a low shoot. I kind of wish I'd shot two or three hours late instead of six hours late; he'd have been more in my comfort zone then. But at least the 18 hour cycles will get us back on schedule more quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top