? Sept 21,2023-Lucy-BG 77 help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok then I think it is safe for you to go to bed. But I would give her some of the high carb canned food before you go to bed.
For the AMPS...that is the morning preshot, I would see what the BG is....are you going to be able to monitor the morning cycle?
I would post and ask for help if you are unsure and i would go down to 1 unit until we can gather more data.
If you need help with the next shot you can tag @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom by putting @ and then start to type their name and a box will come up and you choose the name
 
Ok then I think it is safe for you to go to bed. But I would give her some of the high carb canned food before you go to bed.
For the AMPS...that is the morning preshot, I would see what the BG is....are you going to be able to monitor the morning cycle?
I would post and ask for help if you are unsure and i would go down to 1 unit until we can gather more data.
If you need help with the next shot you can tag @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom by putting @ and then start to type their name and a box will come up and you choose the name

OK I will do that and yes I can monitor her tomorrow. Thank you so much.
 
PMPS 77 ate small meal
+2 79 ate teaspoon kidney canned
+3.5 93 ate teaspoon food
+4.5 74 fed
+5.5 81 fed
+6.5 83 has not had any high carb food for 1 hour 50 mins
 
@tiffmaxee @Bandit’s Mom
Hello I am wondering when I should plan to give my Lucy her shot this morning. I have normally been giving it within the half hour after she eats and then she even eats a little more after I’ve given it to her. I’ve read that you’re supposed to get them the shot two hours after they eat? What should I do? Thank you so much she’s eating right now.
 
Hi Margie. I’m still around but not for long…past my bedtime.
Have you taken the AMPS yet? That is the am preshot BG. If you have not taken the preshot BG yet, take it now.
So the routine is test, feed and the shoot in that order one after the other.
The 2 hour thing is not feeding for the 2 hours before you take the preshot BG so it is not food influenced.
Let us know what the preshot is
 
OK got it so first thing in the morning test her before I feed her after she’s eaten give her the shot.
She has eaten a little more than a quarter of her wet food but I will test her now. I’m still not sure what the two hours means. I’m sorry thank you.
 
We suggest not feeding any food for the before you take the preshot BGs each cycle, so that the BGs will not be food influenced.
Does that make sense?
 
OK got it so first thing in the morning test her before I feed her after she’s eaten give her the shot.
She has eaten a little more than a quarter of her wet food but I will test her now. I’m still not sure what the two hours means. I’m sorry thank you.
 
Yes, I got it no food before the shot but I didn’t know what to do this morning so I just did what I normally do. I just tested her and her AMPS is 82 so far she’s only eaten about less than half of what she’ll eat for breakfast.
 
OK I just reread what you said
make sure that she has not eaten for the two hours prior to when I take the pre-shot. That’s the two hours I got it thank you.
thank you for helping me when it’s way past your bedtime!
At 82 should I even be thinking of giving her her shot this morning?
 
No, they said that was one good thing she did not have any key tones
Ok that is good. At the moment she is in normal numbers but she did have 1 unit last night (and she would have the depot still influencing theBGs) but we had to feed her high carb food to keep her up in safe numbers.
Here is what I would do.
I would skip the morning dose and try and feed her low carb food as much as possible today…although we don’t want to give her a tummy upset by switching the food too quickly so I’ll leave that up to you as to how much of the low carb you give. Try and make sure she eats well either way.
And if you could get a +2 and a +5 and a +7 and +9 today so we can see how she goes without insulin.
Do you think you could do that?
 
Ok that is good. At the moment she is in normal numbers but she did have 1 unit last night (and she would have the depot still influencing theBGs) but we had to feed her high carb food to keep her up in safe numbers.
Here is what I would do.
I would skip the morning dose and try and feed her low carb food as much as possible today…although we don’t want to give her a tummy upset by switching the food too quickly so I’ll leave that up to you as to how much of the low carb you give. Try and make sure she eats well either way.
And if you could get a +2 and a +5 and a +7 and +9 today so we can see how she goes without insulin.
Do you think you could do that?

Thank you so much. My heart is filled with so much gratitude, so much gratitude.
I can absolutely do that today - sweet dreams.
 
Hi Margie,

I just checked in to see how everything went last night - amazing job getting Lucy through the night. I won’t give advice because I’m not experienced enough. But I did want to send you encouragement and a Whoo hoo!! You’re a great cat-mom.
 
Hi Margie,

I just checked in to see how everything went last night - amazing job getting Lucy through the night. I won’t give advice because I’m not experienced enough. But I did want to send you encouragement and a Whoo hoo!! You’re a great cat-mom.

thank you so much for checking in. I really appreciate this community. It brings tears to my eyes because I would be so lost right now without of you.:bighug:
 
Hi. I’m in California too. Not close to you though. My vet had me use needles to test and I git blood right from the beginning. I used terumo 25 gauge as they are very sharp. You can get a box of 100 From Cal Vet Supply and order online without an RX. Alternatively you can get different lancets.

I am glad you found us because your vet does not know how to handle feline diabetes. We can help you and then you can teach your vet. It happens all the time but some know less than others.
 
Hi. I’m in California too. Not close to you though. My vet had me use needles to test and I git blood right from the beginning. I used terumo 25 gauge as they are very sharp. You can get a box of 100 From Cal Vet Supply and order online without an RX. Alternatively you can get different lancets.

I am glad you found us because your vet does not know how to handle feline diabetes. We can help you and then you can teach your vet. It happens all the time but some know less than others.

Thank you so much. Right now I have Relion 26 gauge and I’m just using the lancets by hand.
I just tested her so this is +2 and she’s 82.
I will test her again at +5. I already feel like I’m learning I understand what this means!
I have basically just dived into the testing she does not like it. It hurts her. I’ve hit her vein at least three times. :-( I am just gonna keep going though and hope that I get better and hope that she gets better with it as well.
 
Still in normal numbers :D If I were you I would look at the food lists and get sone low carb food for her and see what she likes. Pates are usually low in carbs. The sooner she gets off KD the better. You don’t start it because of sone protein in urine. Do you have a copy of her latest labs? If not ask your vet to email to you and we can take a look to see if anything else is off. I think you can stop testing but get a test about 30 minutes before shot time and again at PMPS. Then the dose can be decided. Sound okay?
 
Last edited:
And the restrictive diet was to help her lose weight
The shelter I worked at many years ago did an experiment with the R/D food. They had a room full of fatty cats - one of who I later adopted to be Neko's buddy. Anyway, the room was limited to just the R/D wet and dry food for a couple months. They all gained weight. :banghead: It wasn't until my guy got on the lower carb food that he started to shed weight.
 
I did just purchase her some Tiki Cat Silver Chicken that she was eating before (started K/D on 4/4/23 - due to small # of protein in urine but no other indication of kidney disease even thought it might be lab error - but one of my other cats was on K/D and so out of abundance of caution started her on it). I will transition her slowly but as quickly as possible, her tummy is sensitive to change. Bandit's Mom asked that I check additionally at +7 and +9 so I have set my alarms. I also purchased Tiki Cat Dry for seniors and am waiting to find out the carb content, but right now using it as a treat for testing (she likes it) and to help with the transition off the Hills Dry (to make sure she is eating).
What does that mean, "Trent tge does can be decided?" Thank you I am learning :-)
 
The shelter I worked at many years ago did an experiment with the R/D food. They had a room full of fatty cats - one of who I later adopted to be Neko's buddy. Anyway, the room was limited to just the R/D wet and dry food for a couple months. They all gained weight. :banghead: It wasn't until my guy got on the lower carb food that he started to shed weight.

Oh My Goodness!! I ended up on this forum because I had tried to take Lucy off the Dry and just increase her wet food, (***Note I was not informed at all about diet, carbs, hypo hyper glycemia - My vet just said we would rather see it high because low can be dangerous) in any event by the 4th day I came home to find her looking like her eyes were glazed/white (?) It looked like she could not see, I started giving her wet food and some dry food she ate, threw up and ate some more her eyes cleared - all happened in about 15-20 minutes -SO Scary! I started reading on the catinfo.org site and realized I could have killed her. I was dissuaded to home test by my vet as it was "really difficult" I started watching videos of people testing, and started gathering my supplies. I just tested her for the first time on 9/20, I am not great at it, but Lucy is a really good girl and she is being very patient with me. My hope is that with a new diet she might not need the insulin? As there is the possibility that her diabetes was brought on by a steroid shot on 03/01 (Sx by 4/4 and Dx on 4/12).
 
Still in normal numbers :D If I were you I would look at the food lists and get sone low carb food for her and see what she likes. Pates are usually low in carbs. The sooner she gets off KD the better. You don’t start it because of sone protein in urine. Do you have a copy of her latest labs? If not ask your vet to email to you and we can take a look to see if anything else is off. I think you can stop testing but get a test about 30 minutes before shot time and again at PMPS. Then the dose can be decided. Sound okay?
Sorry I didn't answer everything - no current labs she has not been back to the vet since they did her bloodwork in April
 
Let’s see April ones. I want to see if any basis for kidney food although it’s not generally given until stage 3 or 4.
 
AMPS 82 (no shot given)
was fed small amount between AMPS and +2
+2 82
+5 91
+7 can't get a reading - poked her 3 times - 2 of the times I received an Error 4 blood to thick or insufficient volume (no Neosporin on today) and the one time I did have enough blood I had not inserted the strip all the way so it would not read - Error 1 - she is very upset with me - is she ever going to stop flinching in pain when I do this?
+9
 
There was just a trace of protein in her urine and it could have disappeared if tested again. Her other kidney markers, creatinine and BUN are good. The fructosamine shows she’s did have diabetes as does the glucose in her urine. No reason for a kidney diet seen by me.
 
Sorry about the typos. I’m known for them but even harder on my phone with internet off and on today.
 
Sorry about the typos. I’m known for them but even harder on my phone with internet off and on today.
Thank you so much for taking the time to look that over if there were typos, I didn’t see them:-)Thank you again I’m off to go get Gauge 30 lancets.
 
I got them, still flinched but maybe it was not as bad for her...
AMPS 82 (no shot given)
was fed small amount between AMPS and +2
+2 82
+5 91 (5 pcs Tiki dry at test)
ate small amount Tiki wet
+7 unable to obtain (5 pcs Tiki dry at test)
ate tsp Tiki wet
+9 90 - no food for 2 hours prior to this test (5 pcs Tiki dry at test)
@tiffmaxee as you recommended I will test her 30-mins before shot and then again at PMPS - if she needs it??? I normally feed her dinner in one hour
thank you
 
You want to pick up food 2 hours before shot so BG is not food influenced. Do you have any freeze dried 200% protein treats to give after pokes? If not just give bare minimum after you test.
 
OK so it’s always two hours no food before the shot -got it. I do have some freeze dried chicken treats called pure bites however, they were not doing the trick to keep her in place so I could test her. I’ll try again. Thank you :)
 
It’s not forever you need to pull food. Just until you know his much it raised her BG. I think it’s also a good idea to hold it 2 hours when she’s been lower than usual like today. But if you need food to test it’s better to test than not test.
 
It’s not forever you need to pull food. Just until you know his much it raised her BG. I think it’s also a good idea to hold it 2 hours when she’s been lower than usual like today. But if you need food to test it’s better to test than not test.

Thank you so much :-)
 
AMPS 82 (no shot given)
was fed small amount between AMPS and +2
+2 82
+5 91 (5 pcs Tiki dry at test)
ate small amount Tiki wet
+7 unable to obtain (5 pcs Tiki dry at test)
ate tsp Tiki wet
+9 90 - no food for 2 hours prior to this test (5 pcs Tikidry at test)
ate her wet food, approximately 1/2 can which included the new tiki cat, making up a quarter of that with her K/d wet
Two hours later, with no food in between her number is 85
+12 85
I shouldn’t give her her evening insulin should I?
 
No insulin as her bg is under 90.

ok got it.

I’m so glad you started home testing as she was on too much insulin. :banghead::D
I know :nailbiting: oh my gosh my poor baby. Can she eat some of her food now I don’t know if she will but she hasn’t eaten that much today in comparison to what she would normally eat. Do I test her again? What do I do now? She seems to be pretty fine. I mean all day behaviorally she wasn’t really playful, but she went to all her favorite spots and she’s grooming, the only thing that has been very different is her appetite over the last six days now. But she does eat. She is interested in food just not eating like she was, if you can let me know next steps thank you thank you thank you. !!!!
 
If you want to shoot late if she comes up you would stall without food. But that would mean her next shot would be no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. Not having a spreadsheet with past cycles makes me feel you should just skip tonight. Get a before bed test and then a test before her normal shot time. Then post for dosing advice. What time do you shoot?

And yes please feed her.

Her BG is still in normal range which is 50-100.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top