Sept 16 Felix AMPS=65, +1.5=71, +3=49, +3.5=60, +5=80, PMPS=161; question about civvie urinalysis

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
prior post Sept 14

Felix's reduction is holding so far! He's getting his shots a little early to get back on schedule since our stall a couple days ago, and he tends to be sensitive to that, so that may be a factor in the low numbers. He's cheerful today, napping near me.

My 16-year-old civvie Whiskey had a urinalysis on Wednesday as part of a general senior exam. The next day, she was hanging out under the couch and eating less, and I was unsure if it was physical or psychological from the stressful vet visit. Since Friday, she's eaten better and is more sociable again, but she's been in the litter box more often, squatting but not necessarily peeing. I'm not even sure whether they did a cysto or expressed her bladder--could either of those cause discomfort that makes her feel like she has to go?

I haven't seen her in the box as much today, but I wish she could tell me how she feels! The vet office was closed Friday for continuing ed., so I haven't called them yet about it. Also wary of having them say to bring her in for a urinalysis, since she just had one that was fine on Wednesday.
 
Hi Susan, Glad that Felix is holding the reduction, but sorry to hear about Whisky. I don't know the answer to your question about whether the cysto or expression of her bladder could have caused an issue. It is weird that her problem started after the visit.
 
Fairly nice cycle for Felix today.:D

Whisk still doesn't seem to be going into the box as much, so I hope that means she's more comfortable. I can't find anything about it online, but it does seem possible that a needle into the bladder wall might make it feel sensitive or irritated in a way that could be perceived as pressure or an urge--?? I don't have the lab results themselves yet to see the details, but her vet did call on Thursday with a general interpretation. He said she does have early kidney disease, but that for 16 years old she looks pretty good and he's happy with her results. He didn't mention the urinalysis specifically.
 
Back
Top