Sep 27. MEME PMPS(AT) 152, +3 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

rawia

Member Since 2017
Is it supose to drop that much in two hours :arghh:, looks like i have to monitor her again and pray to stay flat in this range and not dropping more.
 
It looks like you are looking for a hand with this..
Let me see who’s on board..
What are MEMEs numbers now? Did she get some Karo?
 
Number goes up with some food and Karo.


We just reduced her dose today from 0.5 to 0.25

Is that normal to happen?:(
 
It is normal for the food and Karo to bring the numbers up. The Karo ( or honey will work too) brings them up quickly but wears off faster than the food or gravy. So you need to test more to make sure the numbers stay up. It’s the sugar in the Karo and the carbs in the food that raise the BG numbers. Karo usually wears off in about 30 minutes so that’s a good time to get another test since she bumped up nicely.

Even tho you reduced the dose, at first for a few cycles the depot or “storage bin” of insulin in MEMEs body is still full. Each cycle at the lower dose drains it a bit. It helps to think of that to understand why a reduced dose doesn’t do what we would think it would right away..Much of this makes more sense as you live it with MEME and watch others go thru it...:bookworm: I read tons of others’ condos and that helped me understand this stuff better:bighug:
 
I can stay up if you need some company..just let me know!
Number staying up? It’s been about a half hour since the test and the bump w Karo if I’m counting properly, right?
 
We just reduced her dose today from 0.5 to 0.25

Is that normal to happen?
Do you mean for her to drop after a reduced dose? Yes. As Leslie explained, she still has a little extra insulin in the depot. That will continue for up to six cycles.

It looks like Meme doesn't want so much insulin after all. The nice thing about the feline pancreas is that it can heal when it has insulin added for support. That could be what is happening with Meme. Also, your switch to all wet, low carb food could be helping her numbers come down. We really can't say for sure, but you have to be guided by what her numbers are telling you.

She dropped pretty early in the cycle, so please keep checking to see if she stays up once the karo wears off.
 
+7 160


Thank you for staying around, i fall to sleep because i was awake yesterday having same problem with her :oops::oops:.

I should be awake to test her an hour ago but thanks he BG going up.
 
She just through up all the food but she looks fine.

Hope the next cycle is not like that one :rolleyes:.
 
I do not know what my vet is going to say when she knows that i adjusted the dose without consulting her.

The first word they say: do not adjust the dose by your self :cool:
 
Hmmm... well, I think if your vet sees the numbers you've been getting on an ever-smaller dose, that might help! I'm sure she would prefer to be involved in the decisions, but I think you've got a good case that the decisions have been good ones, at least.

Hope the conversation goes well!
 
All of you helped me a lot l, i never thought that i am going to see these nice numbers that soon as my vet always said " it is too early " :(

Thank you for always being around and advice.
 
Glad others were around as I was fast asleep on the other end of the world. Tricia and Leslie explained the depot and why she went a bit low again tonight. Looks like she's ready to surf now and hope you are sleeping.

With my vet, we got to the point where she would ask and I'd just say "Doodles is doing great" and left it at that. Here is a copy of the Roomp & Rand study which TR is based on if you want to share the information with your vet.
 

Attachments

That would be great i will discuss it with her tomorrow when i go.

Last time i convinced her to use syringe instead of Lantus Pen, because the pen only increase one unit at a time. Tomorrow i will share with her the TR protocol.
 
Last time i convinced her to use syringe instead of Lantus Pen, because the pen only increase one unit at a time. Tomorrow i will share with her the TR protocol
There's one difference. You are using the AT meter and the protocol was written with a human meter. The only difference is you take reductions at 68 and those using human meters take them at 50. Hopefully it's a non issue but good to have published data to back it up.
 
Just like to make it understood for me, why she is moving down or up in big diffrence.

When i vew members SS they change dose from time to time but kitty stay flat and has small diffrence from hour to hour.

Is it ok for her to jump like that up and down every time we make changes!!

I know you said before it is normal but it is lower dose, she supose to be moving much slower.
 
Honestly, right now some of the downward movement could be more Meme's pancreas than the shot. Not sure that helps in trying to figure out the patterns... I just wouldn't stress yourself out too much trying to make firm connections between the doses and specific BG movements-- there's always a lot going on (the depot, bounces, etc.), and if you have a pancreas that is starting to come to life, that's one more additional factor. Meme is taking the lead in this dance!
 
It really wasn't that big of a drop over 3 hours and looks like Meme's onset is +2. You may want to religiously get at +2 and feed a little LC food. We call that
Feeding the Curve . Please always remember ECID (every cat is different) and insulin is a hormone not a drug....many factors cause different things within each cat. It also doesn't matter the size of the dose because every cat needs what they need.

Probably not the answer you were hoping for. Try to focus on the fact the meme is coming down the dosing scale, asking for less insulin, follow the protocol as you have and all paws crossed she won't need insulin much longer.
 
Cats unpredictable :cat:

I know but i was trying to educate mysilf to understand how curve and insulin really work to have infi from your experience.

But it just what it is, what ever her body ask i will do it and just pray.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top