Otto AMPS 437 Need help :(
Hello! Otto has had a whirlwind. See last post for details. He had significant issues with high sugar. His internal med has increased dose using data from his libre sensor, he’s now on 17 units of Lantus twice daily. I recognize she was aggressive, but with his DKA and persistently high numbers we decided that was best. Of note, I switched his food last week to tiki cat aloha friends.
Today, had hypo event. Sugar was 48 and 50, he was a little wobbly but otherwise no other symptoms. Gave high carb wet food and improved to 100s. Sugar is now at 80 1 hour before shot. I’m so scared to give him full 17 units, does anyone have ideas for dosing? Emergency vet said half dose but even that scares me since he’s on so much!
We were going to test for IAA/acro at his next appointment, but haven’t done that yet. I’m wondering if perhaps he had IAA and it’s breaking? Or maybe just the food change? Any help is appreciated!!
Hello! Otto has had a whirlwind. See last post for details. He had significant issues with high sugar. His internal med has increased dose using data from his libre sensor, he’s now on 17 units of Lantus twice daily. I recognize she was aggressive, but with his DKA and persistently high numbers we decided that was best. Of note, I switched his food last week to tiki cat aloha friends.
Today, had hypo event. Sugar was 48 and 50, he was a little wobbly but otherwise no other symptoms. Gave high carb wet food and improved to 100s. Sugar is now at 80 1 hour before shot. I’m so scared to give him full 17 units, does anyone have ideas for dosing? Emergency vet said half dose but even that scares me since he’s on so much!
We were going to test for IAA/acro at his next appointment, but haven’t done that yet. I’m wondering if perhaps he had IAA and it’s breaking? Or maybe just the food change? Any help is appreciated!!