SusanandOwen
Member Since 2013
I have posted here a few times about my cat Mac, whose BG is routinely right around 200, plus or minus about 10-15 pts. We were hoping that his numbers would come down some after his dental procedure (3 weeks ago) and being put back on a stricter low carb diet ... but that hasn't happened.
At his follow up appointment, the vet was really pleased with Mac's overall condition. He had gained back the pound he had lost when we tried putting him back on the strictly low carb food (which he pretty much refuses to eat,) his mouth looked great and he seemed happy & healthy in every way. However, the vet still feels that Mac would benefit from being put on insulin. The vet said, "why not let him enjoy the foods he likes (FF marinated morsels, mostly, along with the zero carb dry which he picks at throughout the day) and just give him the shots," likening it to a guy being told he can't have a beer or food he enjoys."
This vet uses ProZinc and suggested that 1u BID would be a "very conservative" dose.
I expressed my concern(s) that due to my work schedule, it would be very difficult for me to keep him on a 12 hour dosing schedule, although I think we could get close enough to manage. However, there is *no way* that I will be able to routinely monitor him at other times to assess his response to the insulin during the day. And since he routinely stays right at that "no shoot/shoot with caution" BG number, I really worry about a hypo, even on just 1u.
The vet - who is a feline specialist with almost 20 years of experience, and who I believe is very competent - said that he does not advocate testing at the time of insulin administration (because it won't take effect for hours) and wouldn't worry about routinely testing during the day. He did say he felt there was value in trying to determine the nadir, but that at 1u he would have no concern about causing a hypo.
Vet also quoted the approach used at UCSF Medical Center's diabetes program which has an extremely rigid protocol for (human) insulin therapy - which is extremely successful. Yes, it's in humans, I know, but I am in the medical field myself and I would agree that they are one of the top programs.
So ... sorry for the novel... but if you had to choose one approach or the other for your cat... what would you do?
A. Put the cat on insulin (1u BID, Prozinc) as suggested by the vet (with either zero testing, or only AMPS/PMPS) ... even though the cat's BG is going to be ~200 at those times.
OR
B. Choose not to put the cat on insulin, and monitor weight/appetite/5Ps
For the sake of this discussion, please assume that getting someone to come in during the day to do the monitoring is not an option at this time.
Thanks in advance for any thoughts you are willing to share.
At his follow up appointment, the vet was really pleased with Mac's overall condition. He had gained back the pound he had lost when we tried putting him back on the strictly low carb food (which he pretty much refuses to eat,) his mouth looked great and he seemed happy & healthy in every way. However, the vet still feels that Mac would benefit from being put on insulin. The vet said, "why not let him enjoy the foods he likes (FF marinated morsels, mostly, along with the zero carb dry which he picks at throughout the day) and just give him the shots," likening it to a guy being told he can't have a beer or food he enjoys."
This vet uses ProZinc and suggested that 1u BID would be a "very conservative" dose.
I expressed my concern(s) that due to my work schedule, it would be very difficult for me to keep him on a 12 hour dosing schedule, although I think we could get close enough to manage. However, there is *no way* that I will be able to routinely monitor him at other times to assess his response to the insulin during the day. And since he routinely stays right at that "no shoot/shoot with caution" BG number, I really worry about a hypo, even on just 1u.
The vet - who is a feline specialist with almost 20 years of experience, and who I believe is very competent - said that he does not advocate testing at the time of insulin administration (because it won't take effect for hours) and wouldn't worry about routinely testing during the day. He did say he felt there was value in trying to determine the nadir, but that at 1u he would have no concern about causing a hypo.
Vet also quoted the approach used at UCSF Medical Center's diabetes program which has an extremely rigid protocol for (human) insulin therapy - which is extremely successful. Yes, it's in humans, I know, but I am in the medical field myself and I would agree that they are one of the top programs.
So ... sorry for the novel... but if you had to choose one approach or the other for your cat... what would you do?
A. Put the cat on insulin (1u BID, Prozinc) as suggested by the vet (with either zero testing, or only AMPS/PMPS) ... even though the cat's BG is going to be ~200 at those times.
OR
B. Choose not to put the cat on insulin, and monitor weight/appetite/5Ps
For the sake of this discussion, please assume that getting someone to come in during the day to do the monitoring is not an option at this time.
Thanks in advance for any thoughts you are willing to share.