"What? You didn't shoot 5, tell me you didn't shoot 5 you shot 4.25, not 5 not 4.5 but 4.25 remember I was tempted to have you do 4.5 and in the end told you to just make it a NICE FULL 4.25 to which you replied What's the difference ?
If you were trying to communicate "frantic" with that sentence, you succeeded! OMG, not funny but it did make me laugh.
Alright, so we'll call it a 4.5 both this morning
and last night?
Much of the time, a new dose doesn't necessarily show up as being very different on the very first cycle. Now, if the difference was huge, like 4u vs. 5u, that's a 25% increase, so you would be more likely to see evidence in that cycle's numbers. But the increase last night, of probably a little less than .25u (given how hard it is to eyeball that in a u40 syringe, you may or not see an effect right away. But now it's been two cycles at that dose, so maybe this cycle is the "payoff" you were hoping to see.
The thing is, a cat is never going to act the same way for two cycles, not exactly the same anyway. It can be a day vs. night thing. You can have the same preshot numbers, and shoot the same exact dose, and the curves and numbers won't match. And some cats take two, three, or more cycles to "settle" into a dose. What I would do is ignore last night's numbers (although that +10 does make we wonder what that was all about), and look at today as what you might expect on a 4.5, or a fat 4.25, whatever you want to call it. And what I see looks really nice.
The "problem" it has put in front of you is that it gave you a low (very nice low) PMPS tonight, so now you have to figure out what to do with it.
The number appears to be rising, which is what you want. Tonight's dose really depends on how far up he goes. Since you have fed him, you'd expect him to climb. Today's dose should be just about worn out, so it won't be insulin keeping his BG down between now and +12.
Let's wait until an hour from now to see how much he goes up. That will be right about the time the food should be showing up in his BG number. But I'm inclined to think that you'll basically be shooting at a low yellow number (figuring his natural rise, minus the food he just ate), so I'm thinking the dose will need to be somewhat less than anything starting with a "4".
I am hoping one of the other folks who have been advising on dose will be here by then too, so you'll get different opinions. What do you think makes sense?
Carl