Seeing BLUE - OMG

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK after a very odd night of Pink flat numbers - increased his dose EVER so slightly really a FAT 4.25 rather than a real 4.50 as far as my old eyes can tell on the syringe and than he didn't get tested really again till +8 and he's at 176! He's typically lowest at +7 so I wonder where that was? He was sleeping but upon being tested woke up and wanted food so he's getting a 1/2 can - I won't be home for another couple of hours - kind of concerned but thinking he won't go lower than this... Thoughts???
 
Chuckled when I saw your subject line.
Blue is a pretty color!
Don't think he'll drop more, so you're ok. The snack will keep him from going lower. I'm guessing he was a greener shade of blue at +6 too!
Good the "hear" the smile on your face,
carl
 
Thanks Carl. Can't believe I can access this forum on my iPhone. Who knew. I'm at the people doctor so won't be checking him for a bit
 
ha, I regularly access and post on my droid. Thank goodness for "pinch/zoom"! :smile:

looking forward to seeing Robbie's next chapter this evening.

Carl
 
Here we are at +10 and he's at 198 JUST keeping himself in the blue - but of course with the differential he could very well be low yellows again but after last night I'm just so happy to not see pink.

Here is the PROBLEM now ... my husband says to me when he tested and got the 176 "could this be from the 5 I shot last night, NO I mean the 4.5?" I said "What? You didn't shoot 5, tell me you didn't shoot 5 you shot 4.25, not 5 not 4.5 but 4.25 remember I was tempted to have you do 4.5 and in the end told you to just make it a NICE FULL 4.25 to which you replied What's the difference ?" He was quiet (I will add here that my dear husband has a short term memory issue from a brain injury he suffered in a riding accident 30 years ago) than said "Did I shoot 4.5 or 5?" This was followed by a long list of expletives I won't type here. So we carefully went over the conversation, trying to get his brain to remember- I reminded him he WROTE down 4.25 on the notepad but in the end he is convinced he shot 4.5. I seriously don't think he shot 5 cause that's just WAAY different from anything we'd discussed and I MARKED the needle before I left for work at what I consider 4.25 and when we'd talked I told him to just make sure he was on the FULL side of the tiny line I'd marked. So IF Robbie got 4.5 last night it didn't kick in as he was in the mid to high 300's all night, until +10 when it seemed to kick in a bit maybe? I will add he was ridiculously hungry last night - and ate more "snacks" than normal as my husband gets crazed by his antics and his crying (and I was at work till after 10pm). So this morning I did shoot basically 4.50 - just a HAIR under the midway mark between 4 and 5 JUST a hair more than I'd been doing but not QUITE committed to 4.5.

Question- his PMPS is coming up in about an hour and 20 minutes and at +10 he was 198 and I had to feed him dinner so he got about 3/4 of a can of FF Cod and shrimp with an oz or so of water mixed in - which he GOBBLED up like a starving boy. What do I shoot? If he's under 300 or less? Clearly we don't want to do 4.25 unless he zips back up to 360+ and if he does how much of that is food since he had his dinner only 2 hours before his shot time?
Right Now he's alert, not looking for more food which last night right after he ate he wanted more, he's contemplating going back into the dog bed - oh, wait he's prying open the cabinet door - I have not seen him do that in a month :-D He's feeling BETTER that tells me. Damn I was SO despondent last night - ANY IDEAS what happened here? I need some more experienced minds thinking on this. Or does this sh*t just tend to happen? thanks as always - hoping for a better night tonight.
 
"What? You didn't shoot 5, tell me you didn't shoot 5 you shot 4.25, not 5 not 4.5 but 4.25 remember I was tempted to have you do 4.5 and in the end told you to just make it a NICE FULL 4.25 to which you replied What's the difference ?
If you were trying to communicate "frantic" with that sentence, you succeeded! OMG, not funny but it did make me laugh.
Alright, so we'll call it a 4.5 both this morning and last night?
Much of the time, a new dose doesn't necessarily show up as being very different on the very first cycle. Now, if the difference was huge, like 4u vs. 5u, that's a 25% increase, so you would be more likely to see evidence in that cycle's numbers. But the increase last night, of probably a little less than .25u (given how hard it is to eyeball that in a u40 syringe, you may or not see an effect right away. But now it's been two cycles at that dose, so maybe this cycle is the "payoff" you were hoping to see.
The thing is, a cat is never going to act the same way for two cycles, not exactly the same anyway. It can be a day vs. night thing. You can have the same preshot numbers, and shoot the same exact dose, and the curves and numbers won't match. And some cats take two, three, or more cycles to "settle" into a dose. What I would do is ignore last night's numbers (although that +10 does make we wonder what that was all about), and look at today as what you might expect on a 4.5, or a fat 4.25, whatever you want to call it. And what I see looks really nice.
The "problem" it has put in front of you is that it gave you a low (very nice low) PMPS tonight, so now you have to figure out what to do with it.
The number appears to be rising, which is what you want. Tonight's dose really depends on how far up he goes. Since you have fed him, you'd expect him to climb. Today's dose should be just about worn out, so it won't be insulin keeping his BG down between now and +12.
Let's wait until an hour from now to see how much he goes up. That will be right about the time the food should be showing up in his BG number. But I'm inclined to think that you'll basically be shooting at a low yellow number (figuring his natural rise, minus the food he just ate), so I'm thinking the dose will need to be somewhat less than anything starting with a "4".
I am hoping one of the other folks who have been advising on dose will be here by then too, so you'll get different opinions. What do you think makes sense?

Carl
 
Yes, I was frantic - I'm so happy my husband is able to help with this now but he's not really THAT comfortable with it, has a hard time doing the ear prick and test and I occasionally find a kind of blood "bump" on Robbie's ear after DAvid has tested and probably not put pressure on his ear. So having him give his shots makes me nervous but it can't be helped if I"m 25 minutes away at work and he's home. So - yes, we should probably call last night and this morning 4.5.
What do I think? I think I want divine intervention here! I'm GUESSING - depending on his numbers maybe 3.5 and I watch him like a hawk tonight? I would like more eyes on this (no offense as you are our hero here Carl) and I guess we have to see how high he goes up - the food he got was the FF Cod and shrimp which I believe is like 0% Carb and low Calorie and it was mixed with water and only about 3/4 of a can. He's sleeping soundly now.
 
OK where is ANYONE - Carl you out there? He's 266 at PMPS (actualy 15 minutes past that as I got a phone call from our tenant and was busy) I am clueless what to shoot. Going to go look at his ss for some inspiration.
 
Yes, the seafood FF's tend to be 0% or maybe 1% carbs.
I would like more eyes on this (no offense as you are our hero here Carl) and I guess we have to see how high he goes up

I've become comfortable giving dosing advice, it wasn't always that way. But I absolutely like to see multiple people's input, especially on a confusing "case" like Robbie's.
C'mon, Peers, ...review! :-D

Carl
 
now I'm thinking 3.00 or 3.50 - closest I can find is a 299 early on and I shot a 3.00 and he was pink most of the night after that. I'd rather see blues and test him every two hours tonight till 1:30 or so if I must. Plus we are rapidly approaching a half hour after PMPS which would have been 7pm EST.
 
I can live with 3.00 - I'd risk a 3.25/.50 after looking at some of his AMPS numbers but 3.00 is probably more reasonable - as much as I could stay up with the hypo kit handy I don't really want to.
 
No matter what you shoot, you may see flat tonight. It depends on what Robbie feels after the blues today. Sometimes you see high and flat the following cycle rather than the steep climb at the end of the cycle that had blues in it. Either can be attributed to a "bounce". That's what makes this so much fun!

Carl
 
thanks Carl I had been trying to put my finger on what made this FUN... haha_smiley haha_smiley

One thing that is really different is he isn't food crazed tonight - he was sleeping when I tested him at PMPS and I always give him a small amt of food when I give the shot so he's distracted - as soon as he saw that was happening he lept out of bed and gave a big MEOW and jumped to his food bowl but before that - nothing - and after that little big (a large soup spoonful of FF with water) he curled right up and went back to sleep.
 

Attachments

  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    111.3 KB · Views: 659
Wow
just realized I was posting at the same time you posted that 266. I hadn't seen it till now. Here I am thinking "has she tested yet?"
I based my 3.0 figuring he'd be high yellow. I must be psychic!
So yeah, I am good with 3.0
Carl
 
I'm still trying to catch up after being off for a while.

Good luck with the dose, the results will be another piece of the puzzle.

It's all fun, except for the parts that make us crazy @-) .
 
PMPS +2 (with dinner at PMPS and a small snack) and we have 266 (again) - seems to be holding his own sort of. He's starting to want food again - which up till about 45 minutes ago was not the case. Hoping he settles down again - in more ways than one
 
Wow, I just saw the pic you added above. I want to hug and squeeze him! What a beautiful kitty.

Good, no big boost from eating. Now let's see what the juice does for him. I'm thinking a good cycle. :smile:

Carl
 
Well, seconds before I took the photo he was sleeping Carl so it matched with the post - but he looked up as I approached the "food area" (ever on alert) I posted anyway just showing that after flashing some blue today he's my big, baby boy!

233 at PMPS +4 and he got another spoonful of what I now call "slury" (food + water) not sure where I got that from (here? the army? the orphanage? LOL) I really want a +7 check so I'm going to sleep on the couch and set the alarm - hubby has to get up at 4:30am (which is +9) so I don't want to disturb him.

thanks all for keeping on eye on us. I'll be looking for some input probably tomorrow for what to shoot depending on where he lands number wise - so in about 6.5 hours if anyone is around give us a look
 
PMPS +7 237 and he's looking for a snack - if I'd let him sleep thru and not woke him to check he might have gone till his normal 4:30am (+9) to wake me for food but I'm giving it to him now and hoping it holds him till breakfast time so I can sleep and than test and shoot without food interference
 
Just saw the picture you shared...wow he is a very pretty cat.

Here's hoping you get to sleep through +9 & get a good amps.
 
Sadly gang the yellow surfing didn't last @ +10 325 and got some food (1/2 can) and an hour later at +11 he's 398 I'm thinking of jumping in here early (since his AMPS has ranged from 6:30 to 7:30am) and shooting 4.25 again as we had been doing. Thoughts?

Thanks Jenn - he's a handsome guy but the best part is he's such a sweetie and FULL of purrsonality! (brag, brag)
 
Sadly gang the yellow surfing didn't last @ +10 325 and got some food (1/2 can) and an hour later at +11 he's 398 I'm thinking of jumping in here early (since his AMPS has ranged from 6:30 to 7:30am) and shooting 4.25 again as we had been doing. Thoughts?
 
Thanks Carl I had the syringe locked and loaded and just looked here as I walked thru - I can tell he's not happy - he was acting so much more like my regular boy last night - he woke me screaming again but this is now becoming the norm (and was a semi frequent occurrence even when he was OTJ) however I can tell how he just won't settle down the same way that he's uncomfortable in his skin - this happens most in the high 300's and 400's and was so clearly gone yesterday completely for the first time in so long. I just ache for him and what his poor body is going thru and really NEED to get this right for him - as I know everyone here feels. Thanks again for your input - he got 4.25/.50 (I really do make a mental distinction between where I feel those two numbers lie) and he got it at basically PMPS 11.5 or half an hour prior to the actual 12 hour AMPS. I will adjust and shoot in 12 hours tonight and hope for good numbers in between.
 
Yesterday is looking like a big old fluke or he threw up his food and the dog ate it... +6 today 259..... :sad:
 
You might try shooting the 4.5 at a pink and 3.75/4.0 at a yellow if you get another one, Last night looks like not enough insulin (though he did hold some good numbers for a while there.
 
I think what you got last night and today is after effects of him seeing blues yesterday. He hadn't seen numbers that low in a long time. I'd stick with the dose until the high/flats clear. You can experiment with what to shoot on yellows, but I still think 3.0 was appropriate last night. Especially given that you had to stall and wait to shoot last night. So he had a long cycle on the morning dose and a short cycle on the nighttime dose...

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top