Corey & Kitty
Member Since 2022
Kitty is now beginning her second week on insulin glargine. Her numbers are still quite high, although I expected that because I reduced her dose from when she was on Novolin in order to provide some room to alter her diet.
I wanted to get rid of the dry food and so she just completed her first 24 hours without dry food. Tonight is her 3rd cycle without dry food. I've been feeding her as follows:
AMPS/PMPS: 1 can FF
+4: 1/2 can FF
+8: 1/4 can FF (I read a recommendation on someone else's thread not to give too much food after nadir so that's why I'm only giving 1/4 can at this point)
And nothing after +10.
So this amounts to 3 & 1/2 cans of FF per day. Does this sound like a good schedule and enough food? She seems happy with this amount of food, in fact, today she didn't touch the 1/4 can that I gave her at +8 during the AM cycle, so I assume she's content with the amount of food she's receiving.
Now, I've read someone saying on other threads that removing dry food can drop a cat's BG as much as 100, and I think I read somewhere on Dr. Pierson's website that removing dry food can have an immediate effect on a cat's insulin needs. So I was expecting a bit more of a drop in her numbers but there doesn't seem to be much of a change in the first 24 hours.
I want to focus on getting her numbers under the renal threshold. According to the Merck Veterinary Manual:
"The renal threshold for glucose is ~180 mg/dL in dogs and ~280 mg/dL in cats."
Similarly, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine eClinpath states that:
"The renal threshold for glucose is species-dependent and is reported to be the following:
The only thing now is that I don't know if I have given the diet change enough time to see what is going to happen. I don't want to increase her insulin dose and then have the diet change drop the numbers as well. Has it been enough time since the diet change or should I wait a couple more days before adjusting the insulin dose?
I wanted to get rid of the dry food and so she just completed her first 24 hours without dry food. Tonight is her 3rd cycle without dry food. I've been feeding her as follows:
AMPS/PMPS: 1 can FF
+4: 1/2 can FF
+8: 1/4 can FF (I read a recommendation on someone else's thread not to give too much food after nadir so that's why I'm only giving 1/4 can at this point)
And nothing after +10.
So this amounts to 3 & 1/2 cans of FF per day. Does this sound like a good schedule and enough food? She seems happy with this amount of food, in fact, today she didn't touch the 1/4 can that I gave her at +8 during the AM cycle, so I assume she's content with the amount of food she's receiving.
Now, I've read someone saying on other threads that removing dry food can drop a cat's BG as much as 100, and I think I read somewhere on Dr. Pierson's website that removing dry food can have an immediate effect on a cat's insulin needs. So I was expecting a bit more of a drop in her numbers but there doesn't seem to be much of a change in the first 24 hours.
I want to focus on getting her numbers under the renal threshold. According to the Merck Veterinary Manual:
"The renal threshold for glucose is ~180 mg/dL in dogs and ~280 mg/dL in cats."
Similarly, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine eClinpath states that:
"The renal threshold for glucose is species-dependent and is reported to be the following:
- Cats: 280-290 mg/dL in cats (lower thresholds may occur in diabetic cats, around 200 mg/dL). Some, but not all cats, with a stress hyperglycemia may have glucosuria."
The only thing now is that I don't know if I have given the diet change enough time to see what is going to happen. I don't want to increase her insulin dose and then have the diet change drop the numbers as well. Has it been enough time since the diet change or should I wait a couple more days before adjusting the insulin dose?