The first thing I'd like to say is that you must stop using the True/result meter if you still use it. Make a long store short, I got a True/Result from CVS and it gave me the way too low numbers. I have been used it for almost two month, our vet thought my cat was borderlined diabetes, and maybe have some other issue to deal with her illness. Without treatment I have changed her diet around. Last week she stopped eating for two days, we ran to emergency hospital; her tested presentation of being in a ketoacidotic crisis. She stayed in hospital for three days, the cost was very very expensive. I brought her home yesterday, and tested her using Relion confirm & prime Meter(just bought) also the True/Result. Her BG was 246 with Relion, and 152 with the True one. I should have read more on this forum.
Anyway, when my cat Mao got home, she struggled and straining to pee; I had to bring her back to recheck. I give her one pill of Clavamox (antibiotics) twice a day, she seems OK now.
Today is second day that I give her the insulin. I give her 1 unit twice a day. I have listed her BG numbers below including the ones she had in the hospital. After I gave her last evening shot, she had all the high numbers, I don't know if I fed her too much or what. This afternoon I tested her 7 hours after the morning shot, her BG was only 72, the number dropped from 449 to 72, how come? Then she ate, now by 7:20pm her BG was 310. I support to give her insulin by 8:00pm.
My other question is how many times a day should I feed her? She cries for food frequently. Thank you.
12/1/13 (in hospital)
8pm-369 1Unit Lantus
12am-274
4am-182
12/2/13 (in hospital)
8am-164 1Unit
12pm-74
4pm-38 ( fed food)
7pm-82
8pm-skipped shot,The Vet let me skip the 8pm shot, the Vet wasn't sure if Mao needs one unit a day, or one unit twice a day.
10:40pm-283 (back home)
12/3/13 (home)
8am-485 1Unit (ran to hospital for struggling pee)
3:20pm-246 (back home and gave her antibiotics)
7:10pm-378 (Mao ate few meals between 3:20pm-10pm)
8pm-400 1unit
11:45pm-474
12/4/13 (home)
3:15am-495
7:55am-449 1unit ( the vet decide to give her twice a day)
2:56pm-72 ( fed her, why the number dropped so low)
7:10pm-310
Anyway, when my cat Mao got home, she struggled and straining to pee; I had to bring her back to recheck. I give her one pill of Clavamox (antibiotics) twice a day, she seems OK now.
Today is second day that I give her the insulin. I give her 1 unit twice a day. I have listed her BG numbers below including the ones she had in the hospital. After I gave her last evening shot, she had all the high numbers, I don't know if I fed her too much or what. This afternoon I tested her 7 hours after the morning shot, her BG was only 72, the number dropped from 449 to 72, how come? Then she ate, now by 7:20pm her BG was 310. I support to give her insulin by 8:00pm.
My other question is how many times a day should I feed her? She cries for food frequently. Thank you.
12/1/13 (in hospital)
8pm-369 1Unit Lantus
12am-274
4am-182
12/2/13 (in hospital)
8am-164 1Unit
12pm-74
4pm-38 ( fed food)
7pm-82
8pm-skipped shot,The Vet let me skip the 8pm shot, the Vet wasn't sure if Mao needs one unit a day, or one unit twice a day.
10:40pm-283 (back home)
12/3/13 (home)
8am-485 1Unit (ran to hospital for struggling pee)
3:20pm-246 (back home and gave her antibiotics)
7:10pm-378 (Mao ate few meals between 3:20pm-10pm)
8pm-400 1unit
11:45pm-474
12/4/13 (home)
3:15am-495
7:55am-449 1unit ( the vet decide to give her twice a day)
2:56pm-72 ( fed her, why the number dropped so low)
7:10pm-310