Sebastian PMPS 441 +4 307

Sebastian’s mom (Lauren)

Member Since 2023
I apologize if I’m not posting here right, I’m still new here.
Sebastian’s PMPS was 441 and his +4 is 307. His numbers have never dropped this much from his insulin. I usually see a 60-80 drop in his numbers. The vet just asked me to increase his dose from 2.25 units of Lantus to 3. I didn’t feel comfortable making that jump suddenly so I went to 2.5 units. Is this something I need to stay awake to monitor or just consistent with the new dose? Couldd it be the gabapentin or laxative he was prescribed? His numbers are very unreliable and he’s dealing with other things now so I’m a worried parent.
 
The vet just asked me to increase his dose from 2.25 units of Lantus to 3. I didn’t feel comfortable making that jump suddenly so I went to 2.5 units.
It's good you didn't increase to 3U. We take increases in multiples of 0.25U or 0.5U depending on the numbers and dosing protocol.

Is this something I need to stay awake to monitor or just consistent with the new dose? Couldd it be the gabapentin or laxative he was prescribed? His numbers are very unreliable and he’s dealing with other things now so I’m a worried parent.
It's probably just consistent with the new dose. You don't need to stay up 307 at+4 isn't low. You might want to give him a little food before going to bed. Any kind of inflammation/infection/pain can affect blood sugar - even constipation - and taking care of that could result in an improvement in BG.


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nt-know-whats-going-on-with-sebastian.285090/
 
It's good you didn't increase to 3U. We take increases in multiples of 0.25U or 0.5U depending on the numbers and dosing protocol.


It's probably just consistent with the new dose. You don't need to stay up 307 at+4 isn't low. You might want to give him a little food before going to bed. Any kind of inflammation/infection/pain can affect blood sugar - even constipation - and taking care of that could result in an improvement in BG.


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nt-know-whats-going-on-with-sebastian.285090/


That’s what I thought! I’m glad I didn’t take the vets advice. I’m to hold any new dose for a week, right?
Ok I will do that. Thank you very much!
Unfortunately the laxatives didn’t work yet. /:
 
I’m to hold any new dose for a week, right?
Yes, with SLGS you hold the dose a week (unless he drops below 90 and earns a reduction). If you can get some spot tests in addition to the preshot tests, that will be great, since only preshot tests might not give you an accurate idea of how he is doing on a dose. New diagnosed cats can be bouncy enough to start a cycle in the 300s or 400s and drop down to below 150 or even 100 and bounce back up to 300/400 by the end of the cycle. Since Lantus dosing is based on nadirs - how low a dose takes the cat - you want to try and figured that out with mid-cycle tests.

I hope the laxatives work soon - it will be a relief for him! Which laxative is he on?

Incidentally Bandit is also on Gaba thrice a day for seizures (every 8 hours). We've tried Phenobarbital and it didn't suit her.
 
Yeah with the big change I was worried he would keep going down, but he’s never reached the 100s since being diagnosed in February. I’ll probably test him once more before I go to sleep shortly. I’m going to be testing him more often now especially around +4 and +6 since that’s when his nadir seems to be. I do hope he can get better numbers soon here, but I’m also very nervous to manage low numbers.

He’s on lactulose. My vet told me he didn’t seem constipated, but he only uses one litter box that the other kitties avoid and I have a camera in that spot so I know he hasn’t pooped in days aside from some loose bits 2 days ago. I think he's about to run out of the medicine though.

Does the gabapentin work well? Have you noticed it affecting her numbers at all? Right now Sebastian is getting .5ml every 12 hours, but I may ask the vet about every 8 hours instead because it does seem to be helping! He’s actually not always sleeping as heavy anymore! Not quite back to normal, but at least now I can just talk to him and he will look at me (most times that is.)
 
He’s on lactulose. My vet told me he didn’t seem constipated, but he only uses one litter box that the other kitties avoid and I have a camera in that spot so I know he hasn’t pooped in days aside from some loose bits 2 days ago. I think he's about to run out of the medicine though.
What does of Lactulose is he on? You might have to increase it if it isn't working. Here's more info:
https://felinecrf.org/constipation.htm#treatments_chronic

Does the gabapentin work well? Have you noticed it affecting her numbers at all? Right now Sebastian is getting .5ml every 12 hours, but I may ask the vet about every 8 hours instead because it does seem to be helping! He’s actually not always sleeping as heavy anymore! Not quite back to normal, but at least now I can just talk to him and he will look at me (most times that is.)
I started out with 50mg twice a day but it looked like it was not enough so we increased it to 50mg every 8 hours. It does seem to help her with her seizures. She was out of it in the first week og Gaba - their bodies take a little time to get used to it but once it did, she was not sleepy/zoned-out.
 
@Lauren Elizabeth
Just dropping by to check on you and Sebastian. I've been thinking about you Sebastian wondering how he is feeling. Don't forget we are here to help you if you have questions.

Awhh thank you so much! We appreciate it! I always have a million questions out of fear of making a mistake. Sebastian has shown improvement! He’s not doing that scary sleep thing near as often as he was before! He went from doing it 100% of the time to about 15% of the time. I’m not sure if it’s the gabapentin or what, but I hope he keeps this up. Thank you for asking
 
You are welcome. I'm so glad to see you are testing more. Excellent job.

I saw this message yesterday and thought I'd share regarding gabapentin. Scroll to the bottom. From Angel's mom (2nd message from bottom)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ter-hypoglycemia-episode.285268/#post-3139642

I'm glad to hear Sebastian isn't sleeping so soundly for such long period any longer. What you described sounded terrifying.

Make sure you are asking us questions. That is why we are here.

Enjoy your weekend.
 
Last edited:
You are welcome. I'm so glad to see you are testing more. Excellent job.

I saw this message yesterday and thought I'd share regarding gabapentin. Scroll to the bottom. From Angel's mom (2nd message from bottom)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ter-hypoglycemia-episode.285268/#post-3139642

I'm glad to hear Sebastian isn't sleeping so soundly for such long period any longer. What you described sounded terrifying.

Make sure you are asking us questions. That is why we are here.

Enjoy your weekend.

I spoke too soon. I just witnessed another episode where I literally thought he may have been comatose. I am freaking out.
 
You are welcome. I'm so glad to see you are testing more. Excellent job.

I saw this message yesterday and thought I'd share regarding gabapentin. Scroll to the bottom. From Angel's mom (2nd message from bottom)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ter-hypoglycemia-episode.285268/#post-3139642

I'm glad to hear Sebastian isn't sleeping so soundly for such long period any longer. What you described sounded terrifying.

Make sure you are asking us questions. That is why we are here.

Enjoy your weekend.

also regarding the post you shared, Sebastian got on gabapentin AFTER the sleep issues started. I thought it was actually helping it until just now.
 
I was sharing that with you for you to be aware of what can happen and how the body breaks it down. I didn't see any labs listed and wasn't sure if he had any issues with his kidneys.

I should have been more clear on why I was sharing it with you.

I'm sorry he just had another episode. Did they ever find out what was causing this with him?
 
I was sharing that with you for you to be aware of what can happen and how the body breaks it down. I didn't see any labs listed and wasn't sure if he had any issues with his kidneys.

I should have been more clear on why I was sharing it with you.

I'm sorry he just had another episode. Did they ever find out what was causing this with him?


Oh I didn’t even see that part of it.
I think his kidneys were okay. I shared his Labs somewhere on here. Still no idea how to use this.
No they wanted him to see a neurologist for a very hefty price
 
On your spreadsheet, at the bottom, there is a tab for labs. We fill the information in as we get the results back. You probably put the results in a post somewhere, which is fine. If anyone wants to see them, they have to scroll through post (which some may not have time for). That's why most of us use the lab tab.

If nothing showed up in his labs or other testing that's been done, I would have to lean towards something possibly neurological also.

I know the cost of a sick cat can be very high and for that, I'm sorry. Please keep us posted on how you are both doing.
 
On your spreadsheet, at the bottom, there is a tab for labs. We fill the information in as we get the results back. You probably put the results in a post somewhere, which is fine. If anyone wants to see them, they have to scroll through post (which some may not have time for). That's why most of us use the lab tab.

If nothing showed up in his labs or other testing that's been done, I would have to lean towards something possibly neurological also.

I know the cost of a sick cat can be very high and for that, I'm sorry. Please keep us posted on how you are both doing.

okay I went through and added everything to the spreadsheet!

I just don’t understand how he can develop something neurological/ seizure like within the span of a few hours. He was a perfectly normal kitty one hour laying next to me and looking up every time I moved and then the next he just wasn’t.

Thank you I definitely will! I can use all the support I can get through this scary time.
 
I think neurological problems can come on suddenly. Also, if we know anything about cats, it is that they can mask better than a spy.

I can't remember if he was tested for poisons because of the possible exposure to the flowers and the uncertainty of the type.

I'm not sure what the others have said about your labs. I'll look through your messages in a bit. I don't know enough about labs to help you read them. I have to Google what each abbreviations means on the labs still.

You are welcome.
 
I think neurological problems can come on suddenly. Also, if we know anything about cats, it is that they can mask better than a spy.

I can't remember if he was tested for poisons because of the possible exposure to the flowers and the uncertainty of the type.

I'm not sure what the others have said about your labs. I'll look through your messages in a bit. I don't know enough about labs to help you read them. I have to Google what each abbreviations means on the labs still.

You are welcome.


The vet said if the leaf he got into was from a poisonous flower that it would have been reflective in his kidney function and it was not. Thankfully.
However I still really really need to get to the bottom of this. I’ve spent so much time researching and I can’t find anyone who has seen this exact thing EXCEPT cat’s that are hypo. It makes no sense to me.

Nobody has really said anything. Yeah me too!
 
I am hopeful they are able to figure this out for you and Thomas.

People may not know you've added your labs now. You may want to tag someone to have a look. Just use the @ and start typing the name.
 
Anyone that has the word moderator after their name in green (they are the mods for the forum) is who I would tag for helping decipher labs. I would tag any that commented on your post previously. As they may be a little more familiar with Sebastian's story. I am sure there are other qualified people here that could also read them, but I've only been here a few months. I don't know anyone well.
 
Last edited:
Anyone that has the word moderator after their name in green (they are the mods for the forum) is who I would tag for helping decipher labs. I would tag any that commented on your post previously. As they may be a little more familiar with Sebastian's story. I am sure there are other qualified people here that could also read them, but I've only been here a few months. I don't know anyone well.

Turns out I don’t even know how to tag. I may have made an account last year, but I only JUST figured out how to post.
 
You use this symbol @ and starting typing the names.

I don't know who all looked at your labs previously, if anyone did. Can you go back to that post (that you included that labs on) and reread the comments. If no one discussed his labs, let me know and I'll tag people for you.

If you aren't sure how to find your previous posts, go to Alerts in the right hand corner, when the window opens, click Show All. Scroll through those until you locate your post.

When is his next appointment? I can't remember. I'm sorry.
 
Last edited:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-going-on-with-sebastian.285090/#post-3137971

He’s supposed to have a dental the 16th, but I just spoke with the vet who would be doing the procedure today and while he says he’s comfortable moving forward even with this new issue, he also admitted they’re not properly equipped. They have no anesthesiologist or anyone to monitor them in the recovery room. That’s not something I feel comfortable moving forward with now. I’m lost because I know how urgent and important this dental is, but I can’t believe they wouldn’t have that. I called other places that do and it’s double the price. So now it’s a matter of fundraising and possibly seeing if someone else could get accepted for care credit and let me pay them back.
 
Back
Top