Sebastian AMPS 359 +2 320 +4 322 +6 236 +8 229 +10 270 PMPS 363

Sebastian’s mom (Lauren)

Member Since 2023
Our vet wants us to increase Sebastian from 2.5 units Lantus to 3 units. I only feel comfortable increasing .25 units at a time. Do you think his numbers are ok to do so? I’m assuming the answer is yes, but I’m a nervous nervous cat mom so I need someone to tell me it will be okay.
His numbers are all over the place and even his nadir doesn’t seem to be around the same time daily. I just don’t know what to do anymore. I also don’t know of many cats on such large doses so this contributes to the already high level of anxiety.
Please help :)
 
Hi Lauren, good seeing you post, edit the title and put a question mark on it. It will help some of the experts out there to notice your question better. ;)
 
Yes, he does need an increase to 2.75U. With SLGS you do not hold a dose longer than 7 days if the numbers are not where you want them to be.

2.5-3U is not really a large dose. It looks like he is seeing some glucose toxicity which is a temporary form of insulin resistance. When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, its body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires more insulin to break through to lower numbers. Many cats race down the dosing ladder once they hit a good dose and break through the glucose toxicity.
 
Yes, he does need an increase to 2.75U. With SLGS you do not hold a dose longer than 7 days if the numbers are not where you want them to be.

2.5-3U is not really a large dose. It looks like he is seeing some glucose toxicity which is a temporary form of insulin resistance. When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, its body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires more insulin to break through to lower numbers. Many cats race down the dosing ladder once they hit a good dose and break through the glucose toxicity.

Thank you for explaining this! I just gave him 2.75 units.
Once he breaks through is it possible I’m going to see very sudden low numbers that are scary? He doesn’t always have someone to monitor him throughout the day.
Also since he’s had improvement with the neurological stuff the vet did clear him for a dental so I’m assuming I may see lower numbers after that as well.
 
Hey Laruen, :bighug: sorry, when I meant question mark on title, I meant the thread tag.

You edit your title from the thread tools on the upper right
upload_2024-1-5_21-20-13.png


Then from there, click on this question mark.
upload_2024-1-5_21-21-21.png


This will create a post that is more visable to the experts, sometimes it's hard for them to look at everyone's post and know who needs help. A lot of us are just posting daily photos of their cats tongues sticking out with their normal, daily posts.

Examples:
upload_2024-1-5_21-27-22.png

upload_2024-1-5_21-28-4.png




IMPORTANT: Take note of that 911 tag as well, just in case you need it in the future! That is way if you are in a desperate emergency!

"Please, this is for 911 situations ONLY such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Do not tag questions as 911 that are not."
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-5_21-20-13.png
    upload_2024-1-5_21-20-13.png
    22 KB · Views: 118
  • upload_2024-1-5_21-21-21.png
    upload_2024-1-5_21-21-21.png
    36.7 KB · Views: 115
  • upload_2024-1-5_21-27-22.png
    upload_2024-1-5_21-27-22.png
    8.3 KB · Views: 119
  • upload_2024-1-5_21-28-4.png
    upload_2024-1-5_21-28-4.png
    13.9 KB · Views: 119
Hey Laruen, :bighug: sorry, when I meant question mark on title, I meant the thread tag.

You edit your title from the thread tools on the upper right
View attachment 68680

Then from there, click on this question mark.
View attachment 68681

This will create a post that is more visable to the experts, sometimes it's hard for them to look at everyone's post and know who needs help. A lot of us are just posting daily photos of their cats tongues sticking out with their normal, daily posts.

Examples:
View attachment 68682
View attachment 68683



IMPORTANT: Take note of that 911 tag as well, just in case you need it in the future! That is way if you are in a desperate emergency!

"Please, this is for 911 situations ONLY such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Do not tag questions as 911 that are not."

Thank you very much! I was completely unaware of this feature.
 
Back
Top