Scully - Question about Dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Today is our second day on Lantus. Scully switched from Humulin-N. The vet recommended 1 unit BID, but in the evening I'm getting low preshot numbers, and I'm afraid to give her a full unit. Last night I delayed her dose 2 hours and gave .5 unit. By delaying last night, we gave her injection 2 hours early this morning to get her back to her original injection time, which I know is not ideal. I will not delay her injection again. Her AMPS was 287, so I was comfortable giving her injection early. Good numbers today, but the PMPS of 115 made me too nervous to give 1 unit, so again I gave .5, but did not delay this time. Can anyone give some advice on what dosage I should have given tonight or last night? I realize I don't have alot of data yet since this is only our second day on Lantus. Should the dose be reduced to .75 morning and night? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Tara (& Scully)
 
Hi Tara.

Most of the folks here are using either Lantus or Levemir. They are very different types of insulin than Humulin N. I used N briefly. My suggestion would be to lower Scully's overall dose to either 0.5 or 0.75u twice a day. If you're finding that you either can't shoot or you have to shoot a reduced dose routinely, it may make sense to lower the dose for both shots so you are able to shoot twice a day.
 
Thanks for the advice! I think I will start at .5 for the next few days because I won't be home much during the day due to my work schedule and I feel more comfortable with a conservative dose. I'll be able to get AMPS and PMPS and maybe a +4 or +5 reading at night. Thank you again!
 
Hi Tara and Scully,

To add onto what Sienne said, Lantus and levemir are depot insulins where the shot you give builds upon the previous ones. So consistent dosing is important for these insulins to perform as they were designed. Thus a smart idea to drop the dose to a dose you can shoot consistently twice a day.

We are all here to help so let us know when you have questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top