Scully PMPS +7 170 AMPS 394!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Scully's PMPS last night was 317 and at +7 170. I was very encouraged by this number (at 2am no less) thinking that she was finally clearing her bounce. I was all ready to deal with a low AMPS number, but no such luck. 394 is the highest number we've had yet since starting Lantus! I am soooooo frustrated! Has she started another bounce already? The last 2 each took 5 cycles to clear. We will be at work all day and not able to get another reading until at least +10. I gave the usual .5 unit dose as I don't want to increase if she is bouncing again. Her liver just doesn't want to play nice!
 
Hi Tara and Scully,

Welcome to FDMB - I've been here for a weeks now and I'm so glad to have found the board. I really can't offer much advice because I'm too new at this but I did look at Scully's spreadsheet. So you switched from Humulin to Lantus on May 17th and I see that Scully surfed beautifully on May 25th in the blues and greens. Don't despair about Scully's numbers because I know that the wonderful, experienced FDMB people will be able to assist you.

Wishing you and Scully a great day and sending healing vines to Scully to help him surf lower numbers.

Anne
 
Anne,

Thanks so much for taking time to offer words of encouragement! Patience is NOT my greatest virtue, and because Scully also suffers from diabetic neuropathy (weakness in the hind legs), I am desperate to get her regulated as quickly as possible so that condition will begin to reverse. However, feline diabetes is not a disease for the impatient. I am off the next 3 days (after today) and am considering raising her dose .25 units as I will be home to monitor her. Thanks for the healing vines! Sending you some as well! Have a great day!

Tara
 
Hi Tara! So sorry that you are dealing with this bounce still. Sometimes it takes a few days for them to clear. Spot is also working on clearing his bounce. It seems it takes him 3-4 days to clear. Hang in there. I know it's frustrating, but you've got lots of support here! I haven't visited your condo's so I was wondering if you are giving the methyl B-12 for Scully's neuropathy. I give it to Spot and it really works.

Good luck for the rest of the day! Hope Scully clears that bounce soon.
 
Hello and welcome! Lantus can take awhile to get flattened out and the pre-shot numbers are the last to drop. Hang in there and keep testing. You're doing great!
 
Oh yes. Scully is getting methyl B-12 (Zobaline) twice a day crushed into her breakfast and dinner. I'm so glad to hear that it's working for Spot! That's encouraging! Scully's neuropathy doesn't seem to be improving yet, but on the bright side (always have to keep an eye out for those silver linings) it isn't getting worse, either.

If she is bouncing again, this is the third bounce in a row. I don't know if that's normal. The last two bounces took 5 cycles to clear, so she's spending the majority of her time in the 200s and 300s and only hitting the blues and greens once every 2.5 to 3 days.
 
Hi Tara and extra sweet Scully and welcome to Lantus Land!

One of the first phrases I had to learn to accept here was "Cats bounce until they don't"!

You're right in that this isn't a good disease for the impatient too! We all want our kitties to be cured yesterday, but here's another phrase you'll hear a lot.."This is a marathon, not a sprint"

Yes, I think Scully is probably bouncing off the blues from last night, and if you're looking for silver linings, at least you know his liver works good!! ;-)

Now for some words of encouragement...Scully's liver has to relearn that lower numbers are OK again since it's been used to living in the high ones for awhile, but it does get better! As Scully spends more time in better numbers, Mr. Liver will start to react less and less, and the bounces won't be as high, and won't last as long.

When we first started this dance, China would bounce into the 400's and take up to 72 hours to clear them....Now she usually only bounces into the mid 100's-low 200's and clears them in one cycle (12 hours)

Even after a year, and China's really quite "tightly regulated", she still bounces, so once again, I have to remember that first phrase "cats bounce until they don't"....LOL

Frustrating YES! But China's a totally different cat than she was a year ago, with a beautiful coat again, lots of energy, playing games I thought she was just too old to play anymore and has gained back all of the weight she'd lost (now she's a little uhhh...too fluffy...LOL)

Scully will get there too! You're in the best place you never wanted to be here in Lantus Land and with time, patience and the right routines, you'll get there too!!
 
Thanks so much for the positive encouragement! It really helps! So do you think we should continue to hold the dose? Since her numbers are climbing and I'm going to be home for the next 3 days, I'm so tempted to increase her dose from .5 to .75. I did read, however, that doses should not be increased if the cat is bouncing. I certainly don't want to overdose her. We started her at 1 unit when we switched from Humulin-N to Lantus, and she dropped into such nice low numbers, but I was too uncomfortable to give her the full unit for her PM shot, so we dropped her to .5 unit BID. Maybe .75 would be more effective?
 
mmmm, if you're off for the next 3 days, i think i would get a variety of spot checks tonight, tomorrow day cycle and tomorrow evening cycle, and if you don't catch a green number, then i would increase Saturday morning.

the reason i say that is that we base the dose changes off the nadirs, and without being able to see nadirs in the most recent 3 days, i'd be reluctant to say increase. I suspect you'll need to, but i think for safety's sake, i'd wait til saturday morning for the dose increase. that'll let you get a little more data so we can be more confident about it. She's also seeing some green numbers, and the guidelines suggest holding the dose for 10 cycles after you see greens (under 100), and she'll have 10 cycles after that lovely green night on the 25th by Saturday morning.

After the first week on Lantus, the protocol suggests re-evaluating the dose every 6-10 cycles. sometimes holding the dose too long if it's not getting the BGs into good numbers can backfire as the cat gets used to high numbers. If you increase Saturday morning, then count 6 cycles at that dose and let's look then to see if you should hold the dose longer, or increase. If she goes below 50, then you'd reduce.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Hope you're having a good evening!

edited to add - by the way, you can use the "? post icon" at the top of the screen when you're writing a post to let us know you've got a question. That way you won't get missed! Then when you're satisfied with the answer(s), if you remove it, we'll know if you put it back up again for a new question. When the forum gets busy we look for those question marks first to make sure people with questions get help!
 
I agree with Julie

I'd get more tests in tonight and during both of tomorrow's cycles to try to "fill in the blanks" where you don't have a lot of test data now. If after tomorrow night's cycle you still don't see any green nadir's, then I'd probably go up to .75 on Saturday morning. (tomorrow night's cycle being the 10th on .5 since he got into the greens on the PM cycle on 5/25
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top