? Scooter not eating again

Jill & Scooter

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-31-scooter-amps-75.217554/#post-2417512

Scooter hasn’t really eaten since Thursday night. He took a couple licks yesterday morning and ate a few kibbles of dry today. I gave his shot yesterday morning and put Mirtz on his ear. I wound up taking him to work with me after taking an early lunch and he was at 52. I didn’t give him his shot last night. I was to afraid I couldn’t keep him safe with no food. I skipped his shot this morning too. I have offered him everything I can think of...all kinds of wet, kibble, Temptations, baby food. DH even got him fried chicken last night ( he sits in front of DH whenever he eats it and stares longingly). This morning I called the vet, Scooter’s vet is on vacation, but the other vet gave me some Cerenia. I gave him a dose as soon as got I home. I started syringe feeding him last night.
He seems nauseous. He sniffs at food, licks his lips and turns away. He’s not vomiting. He had normal poo yesterday morning and small soft poos last night and this morning. He doesn’t seem to be in pain, no meat loafing or hiding. He doesn’t even seem to feel that bad. He’s grooming and purring. He just won’t eat. I know I’ve got to get him back on insulin . I was hoping he’d eat at least a little by this afternoon.
He’s been having these spells every so often for a while. The last one was July 1. I took him to the vet and he did full blood work and said he was very healthy. Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this? Is there something that he needs to be tested for that’s not part of a normal blood work? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
The transdermal mirtz might not be as well absorbed as oral mirtz. As well, mirtz can make kitty nauseous. What about asking for pilled cyproheptadine instead?

Ondansetron is also a secondary anti-nausea medication you can ask for. How is Scooter's hydration?

Edit: I think it might be beneficial to do bloodwork for Scooter again because not eating that much can cause pancreatitis. Have you done a ketone test as well?
 
The transdermal mirtz might not be as well absorbed as oral mirtz. As well, mirtz can make kitty nauseous. What about asking for pilled cyproheptadine instead?

Ondansetron is also a secondary anti-nausea medication you can ask for. How is Scooter's hydration?

Edit: I think it might be beneficial to do bloodwork for Scooter again because not eating that much can cause pancreatitis. Have you done a ketone test as well?
I didn’t know the Mirtz could make him nauseous. Last time it seemed to help. If he’s not eating by Monday I’ll take him back to the vet. Maybe get the other meds you suggest and maybe more blood work. I hadn’t even thought about testing for ketones! He’s been regulated for so long. I will check next time he pees. He’s drinking water well and I think he’s well hydrated.
Thanks for your help!
 
I wouldn't wait as long as Monday if Scooter isn't eating. If you haven't given his mirtz today, try seeing if the vet will dispense cypro or tablet form of mirtz and try that today.

Mirtz can make some cats nauseas, especially when paired with bupenorphine.

When you do bloodwork, you maybe could cut on costs by just asking for the pancreatitis test (specFPL and/or snapFPL) since you did bloodwork on July.
 
I wouldn't wait as long as Monday if Scooter isn't eating. If you haven't given his mirtz today, try seeing if the vet will dispense cypro or tablet form of mirtz and try that today.

Mirtz can make some cats nauseas, especially when paired with bupenorphine.

When you do bloodwork, you maybe could cut on costs by just asking for the pancreatitis test (specFPL and/or snapFPL) since you did bloodwork on July.
I did give the Mirtz today, I may try not giving it tomorrow and see if it’s making him nauseous. The vet here is only open until noon on Saturdays so I can’t get anything else today. I live in a very rural area, we don’t have any emergency or 24 hr clinics. He just peed and I checked for ketones. It showed none.
 
I did give the Mirtz today, I may try not giving it tomorrow and see if it’s making him nauseous. The vet here is only open until noon on Saturdays so I can’t get anything else today. I live in a very rural area, we don’t have any emergency or 24 hr clinics. He just peed and I checked for ketones. It showed none.
Ah I see! I hope the mirtzs starts to work and it's good you're syringe feeding.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The transdermal mirtz might not be as well absorbed as oral mirtz. As well, mirtz can make kitty nauseous. What about asking for pilled cyproheptadine instead?

Ondansetron is also a secondary anti-nausea medication you can ask for. How is Scooter's hydration?

Edit: I think it might be beneficial to do bloodwork for Scooter again because not eating that much can cause pancreatitis. Have you done a ketone test as well?

Actually not eating is a symptom of pancreatitis but other things as well. Not eating won’t cause pancreatitis. Not eating enough can cause hepatic lipidosis however. Transdermal mirt has been shown too work well for many cats. No appetite stimulant will work if a cat is very nauseous. Ondansetron did really help Max but it needs to be given 3 times a day. I’d check in with the vet. I hope things improve.
 
Do you have any Mirtz pills? I have some left over if you want them.

Have you tried Ondan with the Cerenia?
I don’t have any Mirtz pills and yes I would love to have some.
I don’t have any Ondansetron either. The vets don’t seem very aware of these type meds. I asked for the Cerenia and the vet was reluctant but gave me two days worth.
 
Have you tried the Tiki stix? When nothing else works, Macka will still consider some Tiki Stix, then I add it on top of regular food and he licks it.
 
Actually not eating is a symptom of pancreatitis but other things as well. Not eating won’t cause pancreatitis. Not eating enough can cause hepatic lipidosis however. Transdermal mirt has been shown too work well for many cats. No appetite stimulant will work if a cat is very nauseous. Ondansetron did really help Max but it needs to be given 3 times a day. I’d check in with the vet. I hope things improve.

Thanks Elise. I will check on Ondansetron Monday if he’s not better. I wondered about pancreatitis being the cause, but he’s not vomiting or in pain, so I didn’t think that’s what it is, but???? I have been worried about the hepatic lipidosis, I’m hoping I’m getting enough in him with the syringe to prevent that. The vet didn’t seem very concerned about him not eating.
 
Like Elise, my first thought was ondansetron. It targets a different nausea receptor than does Cerenia, so can work better in some cases. At one point, Neko needed both. Vets often dose the nausea meds. How much Cerenia do you have and how much does Scooter weigh? Ondansetron is a human med, you get a script from the vet to get it filled at a human pharmacy.

If the bloodwork says nothing, you may want to consider an ultrasound of the GI system. Maybe add a B12 and folate test to the bloodwork.

Sending healing and feel better vines for Scooter. :bighug::bighug:
 
Like Elise, my first thought was ondansetron. It targets a different nausea receptor than does Cerenia, so can work better in some cases. At one point, Neko needed both. Vets often dose the nausea meds. How much Cerenia do you have and how much does Scooter weigh? Ondansetron is a human med, you get a script from the vet to get it filled at a human pharmacy.

If the bloodwork says nothing, you may want to consider an ultrasound of the GI system. Maybe add a B12 and folate test to the bloodwork.

Sending healing and feel better vines for Scooter. :bighug::bighug:

Scooter weighs 7.5 lbs. The vet said to give him half a 16 mg tablet twice a day. He gave me two tablets.

I really hope he’s eating by Monday, but if not we will be at the vets first thing. His vet will be back by then. These spells have never lasted this long before.
 
Thanks Elise. I will check on Ondansetron Monday if he’s not better. I wondered about pancreatitis being the cause, but he’s not vomiting or in pain, so I didn’t think that’s what it is, but???? I have been worried about the hepatic lipidosis, I’m hoping I’m getting enough in him with the syringe to prevent that. The vet didn’t seem very concerned about him not eating.
Max didn’t vomit or show signs of pain. He just became lethargic and inappetent. One of my three year olds was vomiting bile and I thought trying to throw up a hairball. I ended up at tge ER because my vet was on vacation. I went for a follow up last week to my vet and he felt it was likely pancreatitis but I didn’t. So symptoms vary a lot.
 
Dang it. I just got back from Petco and I sure would have grabbed some for you. I can run back tomorrow and put them in the same package with the pills. Let me know. PM me your address.
Thanks Lizzie! One of the joys of living in the country is limited choices of cat food and treats!
 
Max didn’t vomit or show signs of pain. He just became lethargic and inappetent. One of my three year olds was vomiting bile and I thought trying to throw up a hairball. I ended up at tge ER because my vet was on vacation. I went for a follow up last week to my vet and he felt it was likely pancreatitis but I didn’t. So symptoms vary a lot.

Sounds like I do need to get the test done for it. I don’t think it’s part of a regular blood panel.
 
Sounds like I do need to get the test done for it. I don’t think it’s part of a regular blood panel.
It will not be positive if pancreatitis is active they say so is Scooter improves I wouldn’t test. I personally don’t think the tests are so accurate but that’s just my opinion. Other diseases like CKD or diabetes can give a false positive. That part is fact. The original test is not on the regular panel unless IDEXX is used. Amtech has its own test, Orecision something that is in their panel. I got baseline labs for my two a year ago. They were totally healthy two year olds but one of theirs was slightly and the note was if not symptomatic to ignore. o_O
 
It will not be positive if pancreatitis is active they say so is Scooter improves I wouldn’t test. I personally don’t think the tests are so accurate but that’s just my opinion. Other diseases like CKD or diabetes can give a false positive. That part is fact. The original test is not on the regular panel unless IDEXX is used. Amtech has its own test, Orecision something that is in their panel. I got baseline labs for my two a year ago. They were totally healthy two year olds but one of theirs was slightly and the note was if not symptomatic to ignore. o_O

So, I need to wait until he’s over it to get that test?
 
I have not heard of dosing cerenia twice a day. I would say Scooter should only be getting 1/2 tab of the 16 mg of cerenia once a day.
 
Yes, I find it frustrating because Zoetis doesn't recommend oral cerenia for cats and doesn't have dosage info but we give oral cerenia to cats anyway. Even the box only has a dog on it and no cats. But I know cerenia inj. is 0.1 ml/kg and the only reasonable thing is to translate that to oral administration.

I often read this when I need to look up dosage info: https://www.zoetisus.com/products/pages/cerenia/cerenia_pi.pdf
 
Yes, I find it frustrating because Zoetis doesn't recommend oral cerenia for cats and doesn't have dosage info but we give oral cerenia to cats anyway. Even the box only has a dog on it and no cats. But I know cerenia inj. is 0.1 ml/kg and the only reasonable thing is to translate that to oral administration.

I often read this when I need to look up dosage info: https://www.zoetisus.com/products/pages/cerenia/cerenia_pi.pdf
I gave Gizmo 1/4 of 24mg (so 6mg/day). He weighed ~11-12#'s.

I just wasn't sure if there had been more info recently that I wasn't up to speed on. Thank you.
 
@LizzieInTexas , @Crista & Ming
Thanks for the Cerenia dosing info. It sounds like the dose the vet gave is correct, but it should be once a day instead of twice. I haven’t given Scooter his second dose today, so I guess I won’t. Sounds like for some the injection might be better. I think I’ve read that from others on here before. The vet did tell me the package just said dogs, but it is FDA approved for cats too. He also said Cerenia was more for vomiting than nausea, but I knew people on here had used it for nausea. So far it doesn’t seem to have helped Scooter, but I think I’ll give him another dose in the morning and not the Mirtz and see how that works.
 
Back
Top