Savannah day 3, amps 365 weird pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
Good Morning~

[url viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21156/url]

Thanks Ronnie and Luna... here's my feeble attempt at trying to link from my previous post.I hope it works.

When I tested her pmps last night she was only 200 and it was actually 12.5 hours since I was a little late. I didn't give her any insulin b/c normally on Hum N I would not have, plus I knew I would have to wake up every hour to test her b/c I would have been worried and I really needed to get some rest. Do people shoot at 200? She's just starting out so I'd rather wait before I get into the tricky stuff.
 
good morning! I don't have any dosing advice, just wanted to stop in and say hi cause I don't think we have yet .. I'm sure someone will be here soon with great advice for you guys ... have a great day!
 
Hi good morning! Feeble attempt looks good! :lol:

Yes we shoot 200's, however, you'll need to build up your data collecting with Lantus. Once you have more data it does get easier and comfortable to shoot lower than usual numbers.

Was hoping for an update last nite, .. you know you can post anytime you are not sure - especially around your shot times - lots of people here to guide you along.

Have you been checking for ketones? If not, you might want to, just to be safe and to keep an eye on that with the high numbers.
 
morning D!

Yes, we shoot 200 here easily. I would say that anyone can shoot 180 with or without data. Lower than that, post for advice any time and we'll walk you through it. Eventually you'll be shooting green and not thinking twice about it.

Lantus likes to stay flat, so our saying is "shoot low to stay low" but you do want to work your way toward shooting low, not just blindly shoot anything.
 
Thanks Ronnie & Libby, I will def. post if I have a question next time (which will probably be tonight :-D ). I will test for ketones today too.

In the meantime I think I successfully uploaded her picture! Yay!

Talk soon,
Dianne
 
Once you have data, you can shoot considerable lower than 200 (or 180). Gabby's AMPS was 60 and she got her full dose. This is one of the differences between Lantus and other insulin. The curve, especially once you start seeing lower numbers, is a lot flatter.

Also, for linking your condo: you can either cut and paste the location or you can fancy it up. If you want to do the latter, you need the url code -- what you want to call your condo from yesterday. What you inserted in your post is a combination of the two and it's not a 'clickable' link.
 
Re: Savannah day 3, pmps 332

Hi all,

I tested Savannah around +11 and she was 332 so I gave her .5. I needed to step out so I decided early was better than later with her recent high numbers.

What's weird is that she was 409 at +8 (probably b/c I gave her boiled chicken earlier) usually she stays in that area or goes up a bit.

Also, should I try not to feed her any treats (chicken) and just stick with her daily wet food?

Thanks and hope everyone has a nice Sunday evening!
 
Re: Savannah day 3, pmps 332

ddechellis said:
Hi all,

I tested Savannah around +11 and she was 332 so I gave her .5. I needed to step out so I decided early was better than later with her recent high numbers.

What's weird is that she was 409 at +8 (probably b/c I gave her boiled chicken earlier) usually she stays in that area or goes up a bit.

Also, should I try not to feed her any treats (chicken) and just stick with her daily wet food?

Thanks and hope everyone has a nice Sunday evening!


Hi,

let us know if you need to shoot early or later next time - just so you know, when we shoot early, it can act as a dose increase.
Will you be around this evening? Hopefully you can catch some checks in tonight. Or at least a before bed time number.

treats like chicken are fine. a lot of us offer those! they help too with testing.

around the +8/+9 hour wet food snack will help tie her over til preshot a little better.
try that out and see if it works for her.


From the dosing protocol stickie:

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
 
Boiled chicken is fine as a treat. Unless you fed Savannah an entire chicken at +8, it shouldn't have had an effect on her PMPS. Just to be safe, please get a +2 or an early test given that the early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
Just dropped by to say hello, and welcome to Lantus Land! What a sweet picture of your kitty!

Looks like you're off to a great start. You're in good hands, and in the right place to take care of Savannah.
 
Hi again
I did test her after 2.5 hours and she was 237. During the night I was able to test her around +7 and she was 219.
Because I've given her Hum in the past, it's a little more flexible to dose. Thanks for the reminder about Lantus, it's a lot of info to absorb.
I am going to check her amps now and will post.
Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top