Saturday weirdness

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Well with a subject like that one, you knew who’s post this was right away I bet :shock:

We had an amps today of 138. I was shocked. Happy but shocked. Yes, I know he’s done this twice before.
But today we overslept by an hour, didn’t test overnight, gave 2 units last night...so I expected him to be in the 300s

So, since we’re an hour late, I had to feed the cats. They were going nutz by the time we got downstairs.

I also did something else maybe I shouldn’t have. Since I was in disbelief about the 138, I dug out the AlphaTrak pet meter
just to see the diff in reading. We got a 193 on that. I know I am supposed to pick a meter and stick with it. But I just had to know.

So anyway, I did a lot of things wrong this morning, testing and feeding at +13, feeding when he’s low instead of waiting, using the pet meter again.

Anyone wanna touch this one? Think I can give 2 units again or am I insane? If anyone is new to the forum, don’t read this, look away!

Tom will be with Asher all day today, I’ll be here early part of the day then I have to work.

Sorry to be a pita on a Saturday morning guys :sad:
 
I tend to be conservative. With the food and the low number, I would be cautious. Since Tom will be there and can intervene if necessary, maybe 1.5?
 
Yeah, I feel the same way I guess. If the 138 is the more true number, we have little place to go down. But, he has not been going down recently.

I am just so bummed these meters are so different.

The vet is mad at me about using a human meter, now Tom is on me about maybe we have to go back to using the AlphaTrak.
I shouldn’t have dug it out this morning but getting a 138, you’d prob make a different decision than getting a 193.
The alpha is lousy, its huge and errors all the time and the strips take way more blood. And the strips are more than double the price of the freestyle ones.

But, price means nothing if it means we are not giving Asher the amount of insulin he needs.

I’m really tired...I know if we do the 1.5 he’s gonna be back above the 300s. But if we give the 2 I’ll wring my hands all day...
 
Sorry but I would be conservative too.

If you split the difference it's about 165, so even 1 unit would make me a little nervous, although I know he has done ok with bigger doses on lower bg's
 
I know you guys are right. I just feel so tired and stressed about the whole thing I am having trouble making a decision as to what exactly to shoot this morning. And the clock is ticking. I planned to get up and feed and shoot and go back to bed for a bit before work. No such luck today.
 
Thanks guys, really don’t mean to be a basket case every time I come asking for advise.

Tom and I discussed it again and I talked him down to 1.5. So I shot a skinny 1.5u.

Tom will watch Asher all day and get some tests in. I have a hypo kit on both floors just in case. Call me paranoid.

Does this ever get easier?
 
I feel for you. I think there are easier times and harder times (also easier cats and more complicated ones---much like kids). I have paws crossed for you that a dental may make things easier. I believe that was Robin's experience. My own experience was that once there were multiple health issues, it got much harder. Found that I could tolerate it better if I erred on the side of safety---although some days I still look back and wonder if I should have been more aggressive with the insulin. So there you go---I guess the problem is my need to second guess myself!
 
I think Judy is spot on. Some kids are easier than others; some cats are easier than others. It could be the teeth - if they hurt more some days than others, just that can raise the bg levels and be completely disconnected from the dose you carefully chose. :mrgreen:

It would be nice to just relax and be able to shoot the same amount for a few days in a row and get similar numbers. Here's wishing you get that some day soon.
 
Thanks guys. I appreciate it. More than I can describe.

The call about the dental will happen Monday.

I guess I am used to just a little more structure in things. I can wing it for awhile, but eventually I get pretty stressed about it.

But beggars can’t be choosy I guess :)
 
My bet is he’ll be high all day. It’s usually what he does when we back off a dose. But it’s too risky not to sometimes because you just never know with this dude.
Like I need another reason to drink ;)

drinking09
 
donnahc said:
My bet is he’ll be high all day. It’s usually what he does when we back off a dose. But it’s too risky not to sometimes because you just never know with this dude.
Like I need another reason to drink ;)

drinking09

I'll drink to that sistuh and raise you a Cosmo drinking24 or whatever your pleasure.
 
LOL you are WAY too hard on yourself. We've all overslept, and I don't think there's anything wrong with testing with the other meter. Yes you will stay saner if you pick one and stay with it, but no reason not to do dual tests if you want. Overall I think the human ones tend to run lower (BIG generalization there, sorry), so I don't think it's too surprising really. Really I think most people would be jealous of his #s. They may not be perfect, but they're really pretty good, and your only in what, your 2nd month? I mean some have rotten #s for months on end before they get anywhere. So give yourself a pat on the back! :mrgreen:

On the dose, 2u has looked potentially to be a hair too much before, I would probably be experimenting with something like 1.9, skinny 2u, etc. and see if you can get good results. Not on the AMPS of course, I agree with lowering a little for that, but if you get PSs over say 180 or whatever you feel comfortable with.

It might help you to write down what your "plan" is to give you some structure. I used to keep a chart - even if not shooting a true sliding scale, I liked to know what I felt safe with. So something like:

150 - 180 1.5
180 - 200 1.8
200+ 1.9

Then you shoot those doses and gather data, and refine the chart as you see what works and what doesn't. If you shoot 1.5 and it's not enough, then you might raise that one to 1.6 or 1.8 depending on how far off it was from good #s. Etc. Also you want to keep in mind the timing of the shot. A shot at +12 is different than one at +10 or +14. Roughly I used to vary it by about 0.1 per hour, so if you normally shoot 1.8 on a 180 PS and you have a 180 at +13, then you can either stick with 1.8 and not worry about it, or raise to 1.9 to compensate for the later shot (and then collect data to see how that did).

For me, it helped to put it down on paper as my game plan so I wasn't feeling like I had to make all the decisions at every shot time. It also helped me to have a plan for PSs lower than 150. I liked to wait and retest until I had a PS over 150, or a clear rising # headed that way. Others do it differently, but if you know what your preferences are ahead of time and have a game plan, it can take some of the hand-wringing out of it, at least that's what worked well for me.
 
Sending good vibes to you and Asher! It can be discouraging once you've made some progress to take what feels like a step back, but I ditto what Joanna said, you're doing great.
 
Hi guys. Just got in from work. And from head scratchins' demanded by the fur crew upon my return.

Tom took great care of the Asher dude today.
+3 was 309, +6 was 228, and pmps was 305

He shot 2 units tonight. He did that before I got the message that maybe 1.9 or something else might be good.
So we’ll see how tomorrow’s amps is, and adjust from there.

Thanks for being kind and saying we r doing good. I expect myself to be more perfect, but I am not, and sometimes that is discouraging to me.
Oversleeping can put a bad start on the day but I must say, it got better and turned out ok. Sorry I freaked out :( Too much working late, night testing and not enuf sleep.

I see the beauty in a chart Joanna. I like to have a plan and my brain turns to mush when the plan doesn’t work out and Asher is unexpectedly low or something. A chart might make it easier for me to to change gears.

Thanks for all the advise and encouragement, as always!!!

Right now I am goin’ to bed. ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz I-) “See" y’all in the a.m.
 
Good night and sweet dreams! I hope in your quest for the impossible---perfection---you are aware that many people never get up to test at night. Asher should tell you that not all beans are so dedidicated.
 
Asher is so lucky to have such a devoted mom and dad! \M/ I've been cat napping and grabbing overnight +6's myself but haven't been able to make any overnight curves.
 
For myself, I always considered nighttime testing (except when I was concerned about hypos) beyond the call of duty. It just took too much out of me.
 
If you do make a chart, just remember to view it in the "data collection" category, rather than hard and fast rules. Then when the results are different than what you expected, next step is to update the chart to reflect the new results, and then you try out your new chart, and adapt that too as you get new data. Of course that may defeat the purpose of having any structure :lol: the reality though is that if your PS is a lot higher or lower than what you expected, probably means you want to fine-tune the dose from there. Not always, sometimes you want to stick with the same dose (like if you got one odd-ball higher PS), but when you see a trend of #s creeping up for instance, then you probably want to raise the dose a hair.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top