? Saoirse Dental: Back Home! (Thread has pics 'n' vid of her recent recovery, too!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
SO, so happy to hear all went well!!!
dancing kittens.gif


(((Hugs))) for you and gentles scritches for Saoirse! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad your girls home!! Now you probably get the silent treatment for the rest of the day if shes anything like a few of my crew lol She'll be so much happier now without that nasty toof hurtin :) :bighug::bighug: Give her some gentle scritches from me
 
So glad your girls home!! Now you probably get the silent treatment for the rest of the day if shes anything like a few of my crew lol She'll be so much happier now without that nasty toof hurtin :) :bighug::bighug:

As was to be expected Saoirse was very quiet and groggy after getting home so I settled her on the sofa and laid her fleecy blankie over so that she would be nice and warm while she rested. She perked up a little about half an hour ago and (... cue drum roll ...) she ate a little bit for me! :D

Saoirse started wandering around about quarter of an hour ago but (anti-jinx) she didn't hide! She went and had a look out the window then she came over to me and gave me a serious dose of affectionate nuzzling!! She's sitting beside me now purring like a mad thing; bupe influenced, but I'll take it gladly. :D

Sarah, I think she'll be much happier without the sore tooty peg. I'm certainly much happier knowing that it's not going to hurt her any more.


Mogs
.
 
BTW, forgot to report that Saoirse also had what looks like a little skin tag removed while she was under. She had a few removed when she had the dental last year, and the lab report for those came back benign. Fingers and paws crossed the same will hold true this time.


Mogs
.
 
All sounds good! In my experience cats recover much quicker from anaesthetic and minor surgery than we do... I know they can't "tell" us in so many words but they seem to make a near-instant recovery. I've been undergoing dental work for the last few months (extractions 'n' all) and it's really not much fun... Playing at being a convalescent and having an excuse to eat nothing but custard and rice pudding for a few days palls quite quickly ;-)

I have a feeling l'il Saiorse is going to be extra - specially looked after for a little while :-)

Diana
 
Oh, Diana! :( That can't be fun. :bighug: Have you much more work to get done?

Thankfully Saoirse seems to be doing better coming round from this anaesthetic compared to the one in February. Mind you, considering what Saoirse had been through in the days before the surgery that's not exactly surprising.

I felt so sorry for Saoirse this morning. She had vomited early in the morning because of the long pre-anaesthetic fast but then she got sick again twice shortly after the pre-op sedative was administered. I'm very relieved she's already showing interest in food: she shows no interest in drinking these days so to keep her properly hydrated it's even more critical that she eat for me.

Saoirse's gonna get all the TLC she can handle. (And probably a bit more besides!)

(((Saoirse)))


Mogs
.
 
Bonjour, Sophie! Ça va?

I love Simon's Cat! :cat: Saoirse knows all those tricks bar one. Thankfully there's no baseball bat in the house. ;)

Saoirse has just had first brekkie. In spite of the post-extraction tenderness she seems to be more comfortable than before the dental and thus far she is eating fairly well! (Anti-jinx.)

How is Capoo doing?

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Bonjour Mogs,

I'm very happy for Saoirse!

Capoo is doing well: he's no more constipated, has recovered his appetite, and plays a lot since Wednesday!
During this episode, I have decreased the doses down to 0.75 IU BID, and he seems to appreciate it :)!
The only thing that he hates is the force feeding with a gel with gastric dressing properties. He should receive this twice a day, and each time, my kitchen and myself are covered with white spots:woot:.
 
Oh, Mogs... I'm so glad things are looking up for you and Saoirse! Your pictures and video are wonderful... keep posting them, please. Saoirse looks and acts great! So glad the dental went well, too. Sorry I've not been here to find your posts until now. Have had my attentions diverted by a sick husband. Things are a bit touch-n-go at our house, right now. Sending hugs for you and scritches for your beautiful and HEALTHY Saoirse.
 
Extra TLC always in order. Love that video. Tux woke me that way this morning (minus the bat). I love when he taps my face. He is so careful when he does. Now the little nips I can do without.
 
Capoo is doing well: he's no more constipated, has recovered his appetite, and plays a lot since Wednesday! During this episode, I have decreased the doses down to 0.75 IU BID, and he seems to appreciate it :)!
I'm so glad to hear that Capoo seems to be getting past the worst of the pancreatitis episode, Sophie! Sorry to hear about his attempts to redecorate your kitchen and redesign your wardrobe. :rolleyes:;)

I just had a look at Capoo's spreadsheet: it's great to see how well he's doing on his new food and the Lantus. :D


Mogs
.
 
Yeah! :D:D:D:D:D:D So happy to hear Saoirse did well, is safely home in the arms of her Mama Bean and being a little trooper! We have twin cats now! Menace lost her right upper canine at her dental in January too.:woot: By day two Menace was back eating her kibble (:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:) with the help of pain meds so I'm sure Saorise will continue to improve and be good as new in no time especially with all the spoiling and TLC she's getting!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: for you and
black-cat-smiley-emoticon.gif
for Saoirse!
 
@Blamethecats and Hannah -

Hi Carole,

As always I'm so glad to hear from you and I'm glad you enjoyed Saoirse's piccies. Thank you so much for helping me to get her this far. :)

I'm really sorry to hear about your hubby being poorly and that things are so tricky at the moment. I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers. Let me know how things are going as and when you can.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I'm sure Saorise will continue to improve
Have a gander at this:

BG Levels (Alphatrak - mmol/L)

Friday

AMPS - 9.0 (+24.75 after previous insulin dose of 0.25IU Lantus, and no proper depot in place - the week has been rather fraught here for various reasons.)
Afternoon: >20 (at vets)
PMPS: No test. Skipped dose again for safety - regulation quite good recently and too many new variables in the mix (plus an exhausted mama bean).

Saturday

AMPS: 6.8 ! ! ! ! (Down from 20+ mmol/L and +49.5 after 0.25IU Lantus) - Gave token dose of Lantus (midline zero on 0.3ml demi syringe).

AM+3: 5.5 ! ! ! !

AM+5: 5.7 ! ! ! !

Waaaaaaaaaaah!!! :woot: :woot: :woot:

Ladyship is not getting any insulin tonight. The last thing either of us need right now is a pyjama party. :nailbiting:

We have twin cats now! Menace lost her right upper canine at her dental in January too.:woot:
You could be onto something here, Linda: FDMB cat twinning! :cat:



Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I'm so glad to hear that Capoo seems to be getting past the worst of the pancreatitis episode, Sophie! Sorry to hear about his attempts to redecorate your kitchen and redesign your wardrobe. :rolleyes:;)

I just had a look at Capoo's spreadsheet: it's great to see how well he's doing on his new food and the Lantus. :D


Mogs
.

And for the new food, thanks a lot to you: he is completely crazy with Sheba, as you suggested to try!!!:bighug:
 
It was wonderful to see Saoirse looking so well post operative. And so very glad the dental went well is all behind you. :)
Hi Bobbie,

As always, lovely to hear from you! The recovery has been very much a roller coaster. The peaks have been wonderful but some of the troughs were really tough; not least of all the period where I was having difficulty trying to resolve Saoirse's constipation problem because it made her very lethargic and she felt absolutely lousy. (I think the constipation alongside the chronic pancreatitis makes the symptoms of the latter worse.) Thank you so much for being there for us. :bighug:

How's your pirate kitty doing?


Mogs
.
 
Hi Bobbie,

As always, lovely to hear from you! The recovery has been very much a roller coaster. The peaks have been wonderful but some of the troughs were really tough; not least of all the period where I was having difficulty trying to resolve Saoirse's constipation problem because it made her very lethargic and she felt absolutely lousy. (I think the constipation alongside the chronic pancreatitis makes the symptoms of the latter worse.) Thank you so much for being there for us.
How's your pirate kitty doing?


Mogs
.
We are on the same roller coaster. He was regulated and then lost it when we reduced his dose for the pet sitter when we had to go out of state. I am trying to reel him back in after 2 dose increases. He also had a bout with constipation prior to that that sent his BG's soaring. But he is doing okay otherwise and wants to have his outdoor privileges again but I did promise him if he goes OTJ he can go outside again to help with the mouse population outside.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-bubba-am-308-4-275-7-5-200-pm-93.157009/
 
I love that one when she was snuggled under her blankie; that's from when the tide started turning for us.

Can you see the video OK, Linda? (I've never uploaded a video before. :nailbiting: )


Mogs
.
I loved that photo too, so cute. Your video was good. I love that kitty hotel too, it's like a little tent lol.
 
Glad you like the visuals! :)

I love that kitty hotel too, it's like a little tent lol.
It is one of the best things I've ever bought! It made such a difference to have somewhere roomy and not prison-like for Saoirse to be while she was convalescing. In particular, once the Cone of Shame was removed but her eye was still in the process of healing it was great to know she was in a safe environment where she couldn't snag it on anything while I was trying to get some sleep. Our vets were very impressed with it, too, and they're going to recommend the playpens to other clients for their small convalescent pets. :)


Mogs
.
 
We are on the same roller coaster. He was regulated and then lost it when we reduced his dose for the pet sitter when we had to go out of state. I am trying to reel him back in after 2 dose increases. He also had a bout with constipation prior to that that sent his BG's soaring. But he is doing okay otherwise and wants to have his outdoor privileges again but I did promise him if he goes OTJ he can go outside again to help with the mouse population outside.

Oh dear, Bobbie: he has thrown you some wobblers! Sorry to hear about your car as well. :( I hope Bubba settles back into better numbers soon - and that you get a nice new motor. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Mogs! Just wanted to say I'm so glad to hear that Saoirse is doing well (anti jinx). As always, sending chin scritches for Saoirse and hugs for you!
 
Mogs! Just wanted to say I'm so glad to hear that Saoirse is doing well (anti jinx). As always, sending chin scritches for Saoirse and hugs for you!
Need dem hugs right now, Rachel. Her nibs has eaten very little this afternoon and evening. :( (Probably the antibiotics.) She therefore hasn't had much water and she's r-e-a-l-l-y cranky right now. :( I see a kitty burrito in our very near future. Hey, ho! :rolleyes:

How are you and yours doing?


Mogs
.
 
We're doing all right Mogs. I'm still the paranoid mama who follows the kitties to the litter box and then immediately scoops to see what kind of pee they had. I know the man of the house thinks I'm nuts but considering ALL the times we've had urinary issues...I feel justified. I'm hoping the food change we did from the crystals is going to end up being the key....and they'll stay healthy. Anti jinx anti jinx!!!

I'm sorry to hear that Saoirse is feeling a bit poorly! As you say...the ABs could be the culprit. I'm sure once she gets some rest and used to the ABs or doesn't need them anymore, she'll be fine (anti jinx!!!). I know Saoirse is a trooper! She keeps pulling through. As you said once..she has a lot of living left to do!

I know it's tough on mama though. Know that we're thinking of you always and you can have all the hugs you need! All 3 of my little ones are sending healing vines across the pond. They have made it through their own tough times, so their vines must be strong!

Keep us posted when you're feeling up to it. And don't forget to take care of yourself. Eat a little something when you can and drink something...tea maybe. You've gotta keep your strength up! (((MOGS AND SAOIRSE))))
 
(((Mogs)))

I'm sorry I haven't checked in lately but I am so thrilled to see your beauty in her video. She is gorgeous and full of light and life. She has the most incredible mum ever! I'm so happy she made it through her dental and she is doing so great.

Many dental healing vines and hugs for your girl. And also for her amazing mum!
 
Hi Mogs, just checking in to see how Saoirse is doing post dental. Hope she is eating well now and that she is recovering nicely! (((Hugs))) for Mama bean and gentle scritches for beautiful Saoirse! Oh, and scritches for Luna, too! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I've been in and out with (thankfully) not cat-related drama in my life. So happy to see THIS post from you and your dear kitty! No jinxing from me but I'm quite glad to read it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top