Chult
Member Since 2014
Hi all,
My cat Vegas has been on Lantus at varying doses and low carb wet food (Weruva first and now Tiki) since his diagnosis in Feb. By May, he was at 1 unit every 12 hours with normal blood sugar (50-200 range). Then something went wrong and since August, we've been getting high readings. We've increased his dose to 2 units and I just did a mini-curve yesterday that has numbers I don't understand at all (normally his curves are usually +/-200 from first reading).) How can a cat go from 166 to 500 in a few hours? Is this what some veterans here refer to as "bounce" or some kind of negative reaction to insulin? Has anybody seen numbers like this on the same day and if so, what might it mean?
In terms of the usual suspects: We checked our Alphatrak 2 twice to ensure it was calibrated using control solution and it says it's calibrated. Also, our Lantus and test strips are NOT expired etc. And my husband and I don't think we gave a fur shot in the AM. I don't think Vegas got into any high carb food because we don't have any of that around and clean up human food quickly. . .
I will get some more readings to see if the pattern repeats, of course (and try to get one between the hours where it seems to increase rapidly). I have been looking at spreadsheets of various kitties on Lantus to see if these types of swings happen to anybody else but not sure I've looked at enough to find a kindred sugarcat. Any thoughts on what might be going on here? Would be grateful . . .
Will likely set up a spreadsheet longer term and maybe join the Lantus relaxed group . . . through this message board I'm realizing the value of consistent testing and adjustment.
Thanks for any advice-- am learning a lot from the folks here and realizing we haven't been sufficiently vigilant.
Caroline
Sugarcat: Vegas
Lantus, unregulated
Alphatrak 2
Diagnosed February 2014
My cat Vegas has been on Lantus at varying doses and low carb wet food (Weruva first and now Tiki) since his diagnosis in Feb. By May, he was at 1 unit every 12 hours with normal blood sugar (50-200 range). Then something went wrong and since August, we've been getting high readings. We've increased his dose to 2 units and I just did a mini-curve yesterday that has numbers I don't understand at all (normally his curves are usually +/-200 from first reading).) How can a cat go from 166 to 500 in a few hours? Is this what some veterans here refer to as "bounce" or some kind of negative reaction to insulin? Has anybody seen numbers like this on the same day and if so, what might it mean?
- AMPS (and actually 14 hours since prior shot because we slept in) = 261
+2.5 hrs = 166 (haven’t seen a number this low for months)
+8 hrs = 500
*checked calibration of Alphatrak 2 at this point. Appears calibrated.
PMPS = 589 (his highest reading ever since diagnosis)
In terms of the usual suspects: We checked our Alphatrak 2 twice to ensure it was calibrated using control solution and it says it's calibrated. Also, our Lantus and test strips are NOT expired etc. And my husband and I don't think we gave a fur shot in the AM. I don't think Vegas got into any high carb food because we don't have any of that around and clean up human food quickly. . .
I will get some more readings to see if the pattern repeats, of course (and try to get one between the hours where it seems to increase rapidly). I have been looking at spreadsheets of various kitties on Lantus to see if these types of swings happen to anybody else but not sure I've looked at enough to find a kindred sugarcat. Any thoughts on what might be going on here? Would be grateful . . .
Will likely set up a spreadsheet longer term and maybe join the Lantus relaxed group . . . through this message board I'm realizing the value of consistent testing and adjustment.
Thanks for any advice-- am learning a lot from the folks here and realizing we haven't been sufficiently vigilant.
Caroline
Sugarcat: Vegas
Lantus, unregulated
Alphatrak 2
Diagnosed February 2014